We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two nights in key west-good choice”
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is the place to stay for casual comfort. good location - stable staff - nice little extras - evening drinks and appetizers along with generous breakfast all included.
The rooms are well "redone" - it is a renovated motel. But the bathrooms and beds were great. it was actually a bit retro which was fun. We walked everywhere and plenty to see and eat and drink all around. Not a cheap stay but worth it for the location and casual atmosphere and friendly front desk staff.

Room Tip: our room was near the pool and perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,046 - 1,052 of 2,200 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Ahhh! What a wonderful place to stay. We were welcomed by Kim at check in and felt right at home. The rooms are tastefully decorated and so comfortable. I loved the big shower! Breakfast in the mornings is fresh and filling. The courtyard around the pool is peaceful and a wonderful place to sit and chat. I loved discovering the orchids and little sitting areas tucked away in the landscape. Afternoon wine and snacks were a nice respite before we ventured out to dinner. Amy in the bar mixed some great and interesting drinks. We also got to experience the painting of the mural in the courtyard. When the hustle and bustle of Duval Street become too much, you know you have your own oasis awaiting at the Orchid Inn. What a joy it was staying there.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights after driving down from Miami, we arrived at 11.30 didn't think we would be able to check in so early but thought we would ask, a lovely girl at the desk checked us in and gave us our keys, no problems!!
Our room was beautiful, small but compact, fridge, microwave, coffee machine, lovely bathroom
comfy bed with crisp white sheets.
The staff are a credit to the place so friendly and helpful.
A lovely breakfast was included and served in the Orchid Bar.
Another plus you can park the car outside your door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaile100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I chose to stay here for our trip down for a destination wedding based on the raving trip advisor reviews. The location (like everyone else says) is ideal. We basically walked to everything and took rickshaws when we felt like it. The room was perfect sized for what we needed, updated, nice bathroom, comfortable bed and super dark drapes! We seriously didn't realize how late we slept because it was so dark in the room which was amazing after late nights out on Duval. The continental breakfast was really nice, great coffee and while we didn't have a private balcony (we were in room 102) there was a seating area outside of our room we could enjoy the fresh air, coffee and breakfast.

The only cons I can report to ownership/management were:

*the shower water pressure isn't ideal
*the toilet doesn't flush well
*while we were there, there was a massive pool deck painting project going on. We were basically unable to use the pool area at all and had to tiptoe around wet paint and cardboard walkways to get to the office and breakfast. While I'm sure it is going to be amazing for future guests to enjoy, the guests that paid a premium spring break rate were pretty inconvenienced. Sure, we were handed a few extra drink coupons, but it really didn't make up for not being able to enjoy the relaxing oasis we viewed on online photos. We were basically cut out of a major amenity and I'm sorry - a drink coupon didn't compensate for it. I'm a pretty patient person, but we had to go to our friends hotel to relax at their pool. Just pretty disappointed this information wasn't told to us before and our rate reduced.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We can only echo all the other reviewers is exclaiming how great this awesome hotel is. So clean and friendly. Check in was a breeze with Cindy at the front desk. Within minutes we were checked in, our dinner reservation was made and a tour was arranged....while we sipped an excellent hand built cocktail in the Orchid Bar.
Also, Kim gave us great ideas on what to do, where to go and what to see. That's not to say that every staff member wasn't always quick with a smile and so courteous.
It's easy to understand how Orchid Key Inn is rated the best in KW.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WineGuyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Key West and our second time at the Orchid Key Inn. Our previous time was such a success that we had to choose it for our 2014 visit. We spent three nights there prior to our regular trip to Miami.

The staff are exceptional, and particular mention must go to Brandon, who greeted us on arrival and managed to get us into one of our favourite restaurants (Nine One Five) on a busy night. He was also on hand to help with choosing a hairdresser.

The location is perfect - just the right end of Duval street (away from hustle) but close enough to everything for easy strolls to bars, sights and restaurants. The rooms are clean and very well-designed and appointed. This time we had a slightly smaller room (queen) than our first visit, but it was fine for 3 nights.

The pool area is great for relaxing after a day of sightseeing and activities, and there are two great bonuses - a fantastic breakfast buffet and an amazing cocktail bar, which provides free house drinks for guests for each day of the stay, and does creative cocktails at good prices.

Finally, the design and layout of the hotel is an old school motor inn, but totally updated in a classic and clean art deco style.

We love Key West - this is truly a beautiful property and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We've stayed in a queen size room which was a bit smaller, but still comfortable and clean (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheChris_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We just loved everything about this quaint, cozy little hotel tucked right into Duvall Street!! Just 25 rooms makes this feel so comfy and personal, like you're right at home. Access your room right from the street in the heart of all the shops, bars and eateries. Convenient, yet feels private once you step into their court yard area where the rooms circle around the pool and bar area. Enjoy a nice little breakfast in the morning with plenty of nice patio furniture and loungers to relax.
I couldn't have asked for more out of the rooms... Small but big where it counts, big bed with two big fluffy duvets, big shower and sink area in bathroom, nice big counter top under the tv for all your stuff... Keurig, refrigerator, microwave, iron and board, hair dryer, good soaps and shampoo, everything! Plus, this room was VERY clean, linens pristine (big fluffy towels and robes) and NO carpet is a plus.
The staff? Wonderful. Loved Brandon, chit chatting with him just a few minutes here and there and I felt we could be friends for a lifetime, he couldn't be more of a sweetheart.
Orchid Key is rated #1 for a reason, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 1schwachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,724 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $303 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing