We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
North Andover, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

There is not much that I can say that hasn't already been said in other reviews. This hotel is in a great location. The area was not noisy at all and just a short walk to all of the action.

The rooms,although small, were VERY clean and well appointed. I loved the white duvet covers that always looked so crisp and clean.The fridg, micro ,kuerig coffee maker, bathrobes,safe, wifi and hdtv flat screen tv were a nice addition to the room. The bed was very very comfortable and the linnens were soft.

Continental Breakfast was served every morning in the little bar area to be eaten outside at tables by the pool area. The first 2 mornings that we were there the weather was chilly so they set up outdoor heaters around the tables. That worked out great.
The selection of treats changed daily but there was always fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs,cereal,peanut butter, nutella, jams and jellies. The staff kept the buffet well stocked,whether you walked through the door as early as 7 or as late as 10 everything looked great. Amber, who over saw the replentishing, did a great job and was always very friendly.

Every evening by the pool they served wine, beer (1st glass free with coupon)and 1/2 price drinks. They also have a platter g complimantary cheese and crackers as well as crudite.
People also seemed to gather here later in the evening after dinner for a drink and a little conversation.

The pool area was always very clean, with the staff constantly replacing the towels. The pool furniture was very comfotable and attractive...not that cheap white plastic stuff. We only went in the pool one day because of the weather but found it to be warm water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    258
    52
    5
    1
See reviews for
195
1,478
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the Orchid Key for 4 nights in mid February. The first few days were quite cool for the southernmost point in the USA but the good people at OKI helped us work through that.

Location: At Truman and Duval, just as you are getting into the busier part of Duval Street. You will not hear any street noise from Duvall at this hotel and it is an easy walk to just about every part of Old Town.

the Staff: front desk people always had time for us and were helpful in selecting restaurants, things to do, don't be afraid to ask for recommendations, Brandon and KIm connected us with some great restaurants and drink specials. They include a continental breakfast which was excellent - coffe, juice, cereals, pastries, breads, bagels, fruit. The three ladies that run the breakfast provided outstanding service and I have to say unlike a lot of places a 10:00 end to the breakfast doesn't necessarily mean the end to the breakfast, if people are there they keep going until everybody is fully looked after. There is also a two hour cocktail time from 5 to 7, the first drink is on the OKI, after that discounted prices of 50% on wine and beer.

The rooms: we had a two room suite, very well appointed with a fold out couch that was in very good condition in the living room, very comfortable setup. the only complaint was an intermittent humming noise that came off and on, they narrowed it down to the pool pump from the property next door, you might need a room change if you were really bothered by that sort of thing which they did offer to us after the first night.

All told, I would highly recommend this property.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff is exceptional - warm, friendly, helpful and caring. Feels like family - very homey touches.
The hotel is absolutely lovely - clean, pretty, great location - quieter part of Duval Street but able to walk anywhere and everywhere.
Really great feature - microwave, fridge, wifi and tv in the room.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The regular rooms are on the small side but they also have 4 suites that feature a sitting area. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Me wife! Debra, and I stayed 5 days and loved every minute. The hotel is exceptionally clean, neat, as evidenced every day by staff always attending to dentils to include sweeping the parking lot. Our room, a suite, was lovely with excellent amenities...well made glass enclosed shower, lots of water pressure - nice!

The room has a bedroom and outer sitting area, both rooms had a large flat screen TV. Sitting area has coffee, large counter, refrigerator and all expected amenities. Bedroom has nice sized closet, custom lighting, and the best bed! The bedding was cozy and a nice surprise! Towels are thick,no expense spared!

Pool and hot tub are wonderful, no searching for towels, they're placed on the lounge chairs every morning and you can have as many towels as you want.

Breakfast spread of fruits, assortment of wonderful breads, yogurt, cereal and much more was lavish, fresh and bountiful. Free daily papers a nice touch also.

Best of all the staff are terrific and go out of the way to accommodate guests. Kim and Brandon were always friendly, helpful and just fun to talk to. Kim set us up with a great sunset cruise and Brandon recommended a wonder seafood dinner site.

Wish I had their names but the two ladies taking care of breakfast were equally a pleasure, As were the maids and maintenance guys.

If you want loud and obnoxious don't come here. While on Duvall St. The Orchid is tucked in a corner and always quiet during our stay. Romantic, charming, exceptional vacation site at an exceptional value.

Thank you Orchid for such a great stay! Dan & Deb. Chicago. See you again!

Room Tip: Suite recommended for extended stay. Note: fitness facility not on site, a discount coupon was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for our long weekend getaway early in February. This place is a 1950's motor lodge that has a new life as a recently remodeled small hotel on the quiet section of Duval Street. The staff was outstanding, helpful in every way. The front desk person, Kim, went out of her way to help on with anything we needed. The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. Key West is not home to many bargains in the lodging department but I thought our rate was reasonable as it was under $300 per day. When booking here one should remember that you are in the center of town, close to all the main attractions you might want to visit, but you are not on the ocean. That water is only a few blocks away but if you've come to lay out on the beach you're picking the wrong place. In general the beaches of Key West are not what people come here for anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norske007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot - it has a clean, modern feel without being too cute or in your face about it. The pool looked nice, although we never actually went in it since the weather was a little cool during our stay; there's also an adjacent whirlpool/hot tub, which we dangled our feet in a couple of times. As others have mentioned the bar is very nice - a hidden gem of sorts, and guests receive one free beer or glass of wine during Happy Hour. The bar filled right up shortly after 5pm, when Happy Hour starts, and there seemed to be a number of folks who weren't hotel guests as well.

The desk staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly Brendan when we arrived. The room was clean and functional, and the bathroom was exceptionally nice. The only downside to the room was its size - the king-size bed didn't leave a lot of space for other furnishings, and it was a little bit of a challenge trying to figure out where to store the suitcases during our stay. Of course, you're not expected to spend a lot of time in your room while visiting someplace like Key West, and I don't want to give the impression that the room was spartan. It was nicely decorated and very comfortable, but it is a bedroom and not much else.

The Orchid Key Inn is not cheap. The location has a lot to do with that - it really is ideal, within easy walking distance of anything on Duval Street or a few blocks on either side, but with a quiet and peaceful feel to it despite the central location. Some will say it's overpriced; my feeling is that you really can't compare the rates here with what you'd find in most other locations. You're paying a premium right off the bat to be in a place like Key West; it reminded me of looking for a place to stay on Cape Cod during the peak summer season. A mid-range two-star motel that might seem like a stretch at $75 or $80 in a mid-sized US city or suburban area goes for $130-150, and you're happy to find one with a room available. You definitely pay a premium for this location (Key West in general, and the corner of Truman and Duval in particular), especially at this time of year, and as I said it's a clean, updated and well-maintained property, so that counts for a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efd927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Orchid Key Inn is very well located and the staff is very friendly. The free breakfast is a great time saver. The pool area is gorgeous and all rooms have a great view of the pool. All of the rooms are newly updated and have the modern conveniences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Property: Orchid Key Inn
Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing