We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing out of the crazy KW bar scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“relaxing out of the crazy KW bar scene”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice clean hotel just far enough away from the main entertainment area but close enough to walk. Nice breakfast setup. Staff is friendly and quite helpful.This was the first time that I stayed east of US 1(Truman) and I really enjoyed the less hectic crazy style. This stay opened my eyes to the other things Key West has to offer. In the future I will probably stay even further east of US 1.

Although I knew going into this stay that the hotel lacked a fitness center, you should be aware that a workout space is not an option. The bar is small but has a certain coolness to it. There is not a on site restaurant but many options within blocks.The pool area is quite small but very clean and quiet.

The honesty of the staff is amazing. We arrived before the 3pm check in time and were told to explore KW and they would call us upon our room being ready. They apparently forgot to call and when we mentioned that upon re-check in they offered us a $10 per day discount for the wait. $40 savings payed for our drinks so it was a really fair exchange.

Room Tip: Small clean friendly hotel. It does not have a restaurant or fitness area if thats what you are look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerCurtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,756
    258
    52
    5
    1
See reviews for
196
1,495
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Was visiting Key West with the girlfriend and was lucky enough to score a 4-night stay at Trip Advisor's #1 Key West hotel. Pricing was fair, relative to the standard high costs of lodging in KW. Brandon and Kim (manager and front desk clerk) were not only overly amicable but very helpful also. They were quick to point out great places to dine and drink. Brandon was not shy with his reviews of the various KW watering holes and restaurants, which was nice. The location of the hotel is ideal and it's small enough so that the service is impeccable and very attentative.

The bedding was very, very comfortable...like sleeping in a cotton candy cloud. Oddly enough, I never slept well while in KW.

The continental breakfast every morning ran up until 10 a.m., which allows you to sleep in if you wish and still get something to eat in the morning. Every day it was a lavish spread of pastries, cereals, juices, fruit, french toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs on ice and more. It was one of the finest "continental" breakfasts I've encountered in all of my hotel stays.

Overall, I really don't have anything negative to focus on at the Orchid Key. I will say, however, that although the cocktails that they offer at their bar are very fresh tasting and potent (we visited once for happy hour), the bartender there is rather ornery and standoff-ish. That was a little surprising- contrary to the pleasant nature of everyone else who works there- but the bountiful happy hour spread they laid out more than made up for his dry personality that night.

I'd highly recommend this hotel if visiting KW. I'd stay away from the big resort type of places on the island- the smaller boutique hotels is where it's at in KW...and the Orchid Key is #1 in that category.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKIREDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff at the Orchid Key Inn were amazing. They were always happy and helpful. Our room was right next to the pool and the bar. The bar has the most amazing pineapple infused vodka/rum....either way it was great. The room was very modern and the bed was VERY comfortable. We did not miss our king bed at all. It is in a great quiet location on Duval street. This is the perfect place for adults that are looking for easy access to Duval street and that want there own oasis away from the party.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgeeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The staff at Orchid Key was delightful and extremely attentive. Highly encourage others to forego the larger hotels and try this gem. It is extremely clean and was very quiet. Their Attention to detail was noted. Brandon thank you for the great advice about where to eat. The location was excellent. Thank you Orchid Key for a fabulous stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great experience! Great Location! Great Staff!

Our room was great! Large flat screen tv, mini fridge, comfortable bed, beautiful shower. The pool area is spectacular and relaxing. Nice on site bar for a happy hour drink or late night cocktail (we did both!) Morning breakfast was great - staff was always helpful

Location is on Duval but it's a little south of the main action so it is a little quieter. Close walk to the Southernmost beach/Southernmost point.

If we go back to Key West we plan on staying at the Orchid Key Inn!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street (Duval) - I did hear people say if you were close to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

It's a 1950's hotel thoughtfully and lovely renovated. A very cool retro feel. Beautiful bathrooms and furnishings.

Because the rooms are not exactly what families are looking for the vibe is mature and quiet. The pool is surrounded on three sides by the guest rooms number 108 to 120. They are quiet, the rooms 100 to 107 are more exposed to the noise from Duval St. Parking can be a problem, the spaces are tiny and they charge $8 a day. A family pulled in with a SUV and couldn't fit.

The staff was very nice. The hotel's small cozy feeling made me feel at home.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 100 to 108. There's a Dennys across the street and a CVS down the block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hi3655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very clean moderm room, immaculate, a few steps from the pool. Front desk very helpful and friendly. Very nice breakfast buffet, Great little place. Pricey but everything in Key West is. Very responsive staff and owner on premisses

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Property: Orchid Key Inn
Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing