We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Orchid Key Inn Highly Recommend. Our First Time to Key West.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Lake, MI USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Orchid Key Inn Highly Recommend. Our First Time to Key West.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I visited Key West for the first time. Before we arrived we made our reservation with Kim. She was very helpful in recommending activities we were interested in. She also set up our bike rentals ahead of time for us. Brandon who also works at the front desk gave us some great recommendations for restaurants and a quiet sunset location at the state park. Kim & Brandon were both A+! Location is good. It is on Duval but it is down from all the night time rowdiness. No swimming in the pool after dusk is kind of a bummer, but most of the rooms the rooms are surrounding this area.....noise I guess could be an issue. Always chairs available around the pool area. While we were there crowding was never an issue. Continental breakfast was decent. It is only available until 10am though. Room was very nice & clean. We stayed int the King room. We were pretty close to Duval but never had a noise problem. Coffee maker & fridge in room were convenient. Bed was comfortable & I am very picky about beds. I would not bring our children to Key West. More of an adult vacation area in my opinion. We loved the tour through the Little White House and Hemingway's home. The Eco Museum was educational & interesting. Watch the movie...all free, but leave a donation. We very much enjoyed and we plan to visit again. We would definitely stay at the Orchid Key again.

Room Tip: We had a king room. I was pretty close to Duval St but noise was never an issue. Most of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluvaycay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,596
    240
    51
    4
    1
See reviews for
171
1,365
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I LOVED this place! The rooms were comfy and very up to date! Brandon and Kim offered suggestions of places to eat and visit and made reservations for everything without being asked! They are super friendly and down to earth! And the woman tending bar was so helpful too (her name escapes me as I type this - I want to say her name was Christine, but I'm not positive! :/) She made a great Hurricane - it was perfect! The happy hour specials and drinks were the perfect beginning to our nights out on the town and the cold, cucumber water they had out every morning was a great start to our day! I loved this place because they are personal - they make you feel like you're VIP all the time. STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Run, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Kim, Brandon, and Betty were very accommodating for our short term stay in Key West. Very knowledgable and offered restaurants and bars we would enjoy...all the hot spots to hit. Location is great, right off Duval, but feels more secluded as the rooms are set back. With the limited amount of rooms, the service is directly catered to each guest. We ferried in and flew home, and the location was perfect for both. See you this winter!

Room Tip: We booked early enough to have a room set back in the pool area. I recommend this as these are the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittanyFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Brandon and Kim make Orchid Key Inn the best hotel in Key West to stay PERIOD!

Upon our arrival, Brandon greeted us and is the most friendly person imaginable. He got us checked in promptly and offered answers to the questions we had upon check-in.

The hotel only has I think 24 rooms and the service there is very personal and anything you need they will go out of their to get setup for you. We were in the pool the second day of our 6 night stay and didn't know what to do for activities. Kim offered some suggestions and went in and made us reservations while we stayed in the pool and drank with our friends. I thought she was just going to get some information for us but she came back out and had booked our reservations for a few different things we had brought up to her in the dates/times we had specified. This goes beyond service with a smile!

Brandon was just as good in making reservations for us one night at a fabulous restaurant that is a 1 minute walk from the hotel and getting us bikes another day. I told him we needed 4 bikes to cruise around the island and get to a few places that were a little too far to go by foot and within 20 minutes, the guy was there with bikes for us. We hung out at the pool for at least 1 hour everyday while we were there and always saw and chatted with either Brandon or Kim. They made sure we got the most out of our stay and it was reflected by the great business they do.

The little bar they have on site is great too. They have a little happy hour everyday for a couple hours with complimentary snacks and discounted drinks.

The hotel is perfectly situated on Duval Street and you can get to 90% of the things you want to do by walking. The rooms were outstanding and very up to date. The inside of the room looked amazing upon our arrival. We stayed in room 109 and it was one of the bigger rooms they have. Free Wi-Fi is always a plus and was very fast as I hate going to larger hotels and being charged $10/day for internet.

All in all, next time we are in Key West, there is only one place we will be staying at, ORCHID KEY INN!

Room Tip: Room 109 has a jacuzzi tub even though we never got a chance to use it because we were always out an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great place to stay. Brandon Bruce & Betty rock. Great water features and hot tub for a 1950s motor lodge Cool room decor located right near all Key West action. No car rental needed from this hotel at all......

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tbuckshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a great find in Key West. Perfect for our needs. Just far enough from the crazies on Duval.

First and foremost, Kim at the front desk is the best. Not only friendly, but extremely knowledgeable about the area. Specifically, restaurants and activities. I've seen concierges at major hotels do more harm than good. Kim directed us to the "local" spots. Not one bad meal.

The rooms were beautiful. Bathrooms emmaculate. Pull the blinds and the sun goes away.

The pool was perfect. Just the right size. We had room 117 and it was steps away from the pool. Refrigerator stocked with beer and a pool nearby. Heaven!

We will be back again next year. Don't change a thing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a cute, small hotel off of one of the main streets in Key West. I liked the location and the front desk employee, Brandon, was very helpful. It was our first time in KW and he gave us some great pointers on where to go and what to see. The room was very nice. We got a queen size room. It wasn't crmaped at all and was very clean. The pool, spa and small bar were excellent as well. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#1 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#4 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Property: Orchid Key Inn
Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing