We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid Key Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchid Key Inn
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place was awesome! It was clean, and well kept. The staff was friendly. They were always smiling and quick to offer assistance. We stayed for four nights. The breakfast is the standard continental fare. The pool was cozy and clean. The room that we had was close to DuvaI but the Inn is a little more towards the southeastern end of Duval st. It was not as noisy as I expected. It seemed that the Hotel owners made some effort to make the rooms a little more "sound proof"(thick windows etc). Prior to this we have stayed in 2 other hotels. This one was the best so far.

Room Tip: Get a room by the pool if you want it to be a little more "quiet"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottrm612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,625
    245
    52
    4
    1
See reviews for
176
1,391
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just got back from a truly amazing trip from Key West, and the Orchid Key was part of the reason it was so awesome! This is a small, 24 room hotel - I like that. You don't have to walk down long hallways to get to the elevator, lobby, or pool. Everything is just steps away, saving your feet for walking down Duval! The room and grounds are immaculate. Everyone is in a good mood, very personable, and on top of things. Betty the bartender is a delight, and so are her concoctions! She stayed well after closing time serving us one night. The next night, we came back late (again after closing time), but the bar had closed on schedule. Then seemingly out of nowhere, Brandon popped up to let us know that Betty wasn't feeling well, so that's why the bar was closed. No biggie for us (we had already had enough to drink!), but I was impressed with Brandon's attentiveness to his guests! BTW, hope you're okay now, Betty! And if you want a cab, just call Brandon, and he'll have one for you in less than ten. Front desk Kim was equally awesome, friendly, and on the ball. She was helpful in printing our boarding passes quickly for our trip home (sniff).

Our room was small, but again, very clean, modern, and housekeeping was proficient. The AC kicked butt (very important to me, especially since our previous hotel was HOT), and was nice and quiet. Shower was an oasis - big and with a place to sit and shave your legs! I've read other reviews about the scent of the cleaning supplies, and yes, we did smell them when we first entered the room, but, I didn't smell them anymore after that, and I was glad for the added assurance that my room was indeed clean!

Complimentary breakfast - I couldn't have asked for more. Bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, toast (French and regular), fresh fruit, yogurt with granola, juice, coffee, and unlimited supply. It is just so nice to roll out of bed and walk a few steps to the breakfast area, load up a tray, and bring back to your room to eat.

Pool - perfect size, surrounded by lush, tropical landscaping, quiet and relaxing, with music piped in for extra fun!

Location - on Duval, near quaint little shops, restaurants, and friendly, upscale bars. Beach just a few blocks away, if that's where you want to be.

If what I described above sounds like your kind of place, then look no further. The Orchid Key is for you. Book it!

Denise and Ray

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank djeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Brandon, Kim & Betty are wonderful! They made everything easy - offering suggestions about sights to see, arranging bike rentals, kayaking trips, and restaurants. Our room was perfect, the bar at the Inn is a fun place to unwind at the end of the day and the pool is a lovely way to cool off any time. We just got back and are already looking forward to our next stay at Orchid Key.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAFAYETTE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

While planning my first visit to Key West, I was torn between choosing the one bedroom suite at The Orchid Key and a Poolside King room at the Southernmost Hotel. Let me tell you how happy I was that I went with The Orchid Key Suite! I read that you don't visit Key West for the beaches and boy I am happy I really took that into consideration. After seeing the private "beach" at the Southernmost, I would have been really disappointed. To get in some beach time, we took a short walk to Zachary Taylor beach and it was very nice. We rented chairs had our own space unlike the private beach at The Southernmost where everyone was on top of one another. The location of the Orchid Key was great for us! The staff was great! The bar is sooo cute and has a very nice wine selection and makes great specialty drinks. Each day there was a Happy Hour with free cheese and crackers and veggies. The music selection played by the pool every afternoon was very relaxing. The rooms were clean, although the smell of the rooms take some getting used to. Its not a bad smell just hard to pinpoint...maybe their choice of cleaning supplies?? The bed was really comfortable and the room stayed dark!!! The shower was big with lots of hot water and good pressure. I would stay here again in a second and I recommend it to anyone looking a a convenient little boutique hotel in the middle of Duval Street but just far enough away from the craziness. My husband kept telling me what a great job I had done choosing this place. Definitely a place for couples. WE LOVED IT!!!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if your stay is longer than 2-3 nights. We stayed 5 nights and it was nice to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KELBELLFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Another fabulous vacation at the Orchid Key. Brandon, Betty and staff are Awesome!
Thanks again!

Joanne & Jacob

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjvandenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just got back from our 2nd stay at the Orchid key Inn and it did not disappoint. Our room was again very clean and the air conditioning worked GREAT! We really like the Location of this property. It's on Duval and you can walk to the "action" within a Matter of minutes but then escape the noise, tourists, etc and head back to the Orchid and disappear into the quiet of the little almost island oasis of the pool. The Staff was very friendly and attentive and the morning complimentary breakfast is a great way to start off the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sznwds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

First time staying at the Orchid Key Inn. Very pleasantly surprised! Located towards the end of Duval Street but still a great location. Renting bikes was perfect for getting around and Kim arranged for them to be delivered right to Orchid Key and picked up when were leaving. The room was decorated very nicely, it was clean and everything worked, especially the A.C. The secluded pool was very relaxing and needed on hot afternoons to cool off before getting ready to go out at night. It was also nice to sit by in the early morning and evenings after a fun night out.
Most of all a great staff! Kim was awesome! She was as nice as can be, helpful, honest and gave us lots of coupons for local libations!
We would definetely go back. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twomartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#3 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Key Inn

Property: Orchid Key Inn
Address: 1004 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchid Key Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Key Inn ranked in top 10 "Best Small Hotels in the United States"- Miami Herald.... The luxury Orchid Key is located on Duval Street and Truman; the very crossroads of Historic Old Town. Lush tropical landscapes surround our elegant amenity filled guest rooms and suites which surround our tranquil waterfalls, peaceful sun deck, heated pool, and spa. Everything the island is famous for is just foot steps outside our gates. Come experience the five orchid treatment. "Travelers Choice Award Top 10 Small Hotel as well as the Top 10 for Romantic in the USA 2013, 2014,and 2015". #1 For Highest guest satisfaction in Key West. The perfect location in Old Town Historic Key West surrounded by some of the finest dinning on Duval Street. Offering award-winning service and amenities of a luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Orchid Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Key Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing