We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Nice Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island City House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Location and Nice Room”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed here for three days upstairs in the Carriage House. No surprises and all was outstanding.

I really appreciate the effort these folks have made to provide breakfast in light of the changes by the state government regarding commercial kitchens. Coupons were provided for free pastries at a local shop a couple of blocks down, and they proved to be top-notch.

The location is superb and facilitates an easy walk to the major attractions in Key West. An added plus that we did not take advantage of was the proximity of an Eaton Bikes shop. Of course, the hotel has bikes for rent as well.

This hotel is also within a block or two of Eaton Street Fish Market (killer sandwiches!) and BO's Fish Wagon (more killer sandwiches!).

This is not the Ritz Carlton, but it is more than adequate, restful, and beautiful. Whole-heartedly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwolf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    185
    31
    17
    13
See reviews for
198
481
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We just returned from an overnight stay at this delightful hotel, and we're ready to go back! I am so happy that I spent so much time online searching for a hotel that would meet our budget and travel expectations. Island City House exceeded our expectations!!. We arrived on the Key West Express from Ft. Myers Beach and only had to walk a couple of blocks to reach the hotel, which is on the corner of Eaton and William Streets. When we arrived we discovered the hotel is made up of three distinct buildings, all with furnished porches including hammocks. Lush gardens fill the interior area and surround the pool. The friendly and gracious staff quickly checked us in. Our studio suite was upstairs in The Arch House and overlooked the garden. The suite was furnished with a living room, dining nook, a kitchenette with coffee and breakfast goodies. The queen bed sat in the alcove, which created a narrow space to get to the bathroom. Everything was clean and bright and delightful!! What a quiet, restful hotel. The staff allowed us to leave our luggage the next morning after we checked out and walked around the city. All the main restaurants, shops, and sights are nearby. We returned a couple of hours before the boat departed, so we lounged by the pool; a convenient shower and bathroom were located just off the pool. We found our paradise!!

Room Tip: There are only two two-bedroom units out of 24 units. The rest are one bedroom or studios. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful Hotel. Everything was clean, comfortable, it was just great. Gardens relaxing. Owners very pleasant. Would definitely stay there again. We could walk to the restaurants, the shops, and Mallory Square and watch the sunset. It was such a lovely place to stay you hated to leave.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

family with 2 kids (8 and 10), we stayed for 3 night in this hotel for our 1st stay in Key West. Ok, it is expensive but totally worth it ! We loved everything. The appartment was very clean, big (2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen) and a privat porch (no 2 - street side). The garden is so nice, with palms and a lot of plants, an oasis - very calm. Pool was great too, the kids loved it. Staff is very helpfull and nice !
The hotel is close to the pier (departure of the ferry for Tortugas), to Douglas street and the different points to see! Bike rental available at the hotel. Thanks ! We will come back one day :-)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NatBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A warm welcome and useful local information from Gaines when we arrived. Provided us with a voucher for coffee and croissants from the local "Old Town Bakery" a few minutes down the road - an excellent place with amazing food. Gaines upgraded us to a bigger suite with a private porch with outside seating area. Room very clean and housekeeping came every morning to replenish shower gel / shampoo etc, some breakfast items e.g cereal, pop tarts etc and coffee etc. A small kitchen including fridge / freezer, cooker, toaster etc is a useful touch.
Very quiet and peaceful surroundings with authentic Key West atmosphere. Pool area was private and well maintained with sun loungers and pool towels provided. Would definitely stay again for location and customer service. Free parking was found easily enough on local surrounding streets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceBogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We come here every year to escape real life. We vegetate in the beautiful gardens and float in the heated pool in the midst of the greenery. Enjoy spacious quarters in the Cigar House next to the pool. Usually quiet because of mostly adult clientele. Close to everything in Old Town--Don't rent a car. Wonderful fresh fish market across the street is source of fresh fish sandwiches and lobster rolls--delicious! So only decision for the day is where to go for dinner. Oh, so many nearby choices--just two blocks from the Gulf piers. This is the way to enjoy Key West--avoiding big impersonal hotels and experiencing the friendly, first-rate atmosphere of Island City.

Room Tip: Cigar House has big rooms next to the pool. Avoid third floor unless you are in great shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardBonekemper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our first stay at the Island City House and we totally enjoyed it. We stayed in the Arch house on the street side. A bit noisy, but we loved just sitting on the porch swing and people watching from our balcony. We loved spending our days soaking up the sun by the awesome pool. The grounds are so tropical and beautiful. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WisconsinLorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island City House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island City House Hotel

Property: Island City House Hotel
Address: 411 William St, Key West, FL 33040-6853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island City House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Key West suite accommodations at The Island City House Hotel are comprised of three buildings, each with its own style and unique character. The Arch House features six suites furnished in a casual Caribbean Style. The two suites on the first floor are two-bedroom suites. These suites have two separate bedrooms each with one queen-sized bed, a living/dining room with a kitchen, one bathroom, and a small porch. The studio-suites on the second floor of the Arch House have one queen-sized bed in an alcove, a sitting area with a kitchenette, and either a street-side balcony with a porch swing or a garden view balcony with a hammock. The Island City House is the main building on our property housing twelve parlor suites, ten one-bedroom suites, and two two-bedroom suites. These suites are furnished in an island Victorian style with lace curtains and many antique pieces. The two bedroom suites have two separate bedrooms, one with a king bed, the other with a queen bed, a living/dining room with a full kitchen, one bathroom and a large porch. The ten parlor suites have one queen-size bed and a separate sitting area with a kitchen. Many of these suites also have a sleeper sofa (for children or a third adult) or a porch overlooking the gardens. The Cigar House, our poolside building, is the home of our six largest one-bedroom suites. All of these suites are decorated in a tropical plantation style. The first and second floor suites have a king-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and a hammock on the poolside porch or balcony. The two suites tucked away on the third floor have a queen-size bed in the bedroom, a separate living room with a full kitchen, and an open balcony overlooking the pool and Infrared Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Island City House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing