We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No go area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No go area”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

A really horrible place, shabby rooms. One of the worst price performance ratios I ever had. Unfriendly staff. I booked by telephone a room for two adults and a child. Surprisingly during the check in nobody could remember. Clear no go area for me in future.

Room Tip: Better take another motel. Whichever motel you take - it would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeBoBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    71
    75
    52
    81
See reviews for
35
65
72
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Came for a bachelor party so we weren't in the room too long. Hard to sleep with the leaky faucet and shower dripping all night. The bed was lumpy/hard and just all around awful. The bathroom floor was sticky and rather gross. The only up side was the close proximity to the bars and Duval street.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Towens7240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My friends and I stayed here recently and it was a pretty bare bones place. I wasn't expecting a lot, but it was pretty tiny. We had two double beds, which were sufficient, but the problem was the shower. The shower had no water pressure and it was pretty useless to try and get clean. Other than that, the accommodations were fine. We didn't spend much time in our room anyways, as you shouldn't on vacation, so it was okay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flarengitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Park
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in the hotel part @ the culmination of our "bicycle thru the keys" trip. Very clean, comfortable room with hot shower. We never spend much time in our motel room because there is always so much to do! So hotel amenities are not a priority for us, but cleanliness is! Great location, close to everything!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deaner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was concerned about the negative reviews but thought I'd give it a try. Found my room to be very clean and bug free. Mattress was in good shape. It was as clean as a dated motel can be. My only concern was how weak the door latch situation was. It looked like a credit card could open the door. I didn't try it tho. Owner should consider this small upgrade. Other than that, no one should have complaints. This ain't no Hilton, so don't expect one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GHouston007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

What an excellent choice! We will definitely return here. New paint. Great mattress' and bedding. Shower had good pressure and NO mold. They got us extra towels. Decorated really nice with a great court yard where the TV was on all night so my hubby didnt need to disturb us when he woke early. Peter up front was very helpful and pleasant. Thanks Seashell.

Room Tip: Room five was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Inga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Sure this is probably the most basic hostel I've ever stayed in. Don't come here thinking of cosy common areas and a well equipped kitchen. It is a place to shower and sleep, and nothing more. The 10 bed female dorm is split over two rooms - 6 beds in one, 4 in the other. The rooms are a good size. There is one shared bathroom, which would be a nightmare if there were 10 girls in there. Other reviews had commented on it being overpriced. And at $50 a night, it is expensive. However, considering the $200 plus price tag on most hotels in the area, the Seashell enables budget travellers to be able to visit Key West, for which I am quite grateful - Key West is awesome! Clean linens, a decent location, and good wi fi in the common area (no good in the dorm though), all made for an adequate stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Property: Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Address: 718 South St, Key West, FL 33040-4770
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing