We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Motel for the Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Motel for the Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Ended up paying roughly $35 p/n for a three bed motel room. For the price, the room was very decent. Two double beds, own bathroom and communal kitchen to use. Good location - five minutes walk away from the beach. Only downside was the location to the airport/grey hound bus station. Buses don't really operate in Key West so we had to get a taxi. Staff weren't very helpful either and rarely seemed to be in the office.
Would make sure to keep your door locked and take your valuables with you as the area was debatable - but apart from that, I would recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank fblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    64
    69
    48
    79
See reviews for
32
57
68
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am a frequent hosteller so I have a tolerance for the differences between hotels and hostel accommodations. That said, my hopes were high for Seashell - amazing location blocks from Duval St. and the Southernmost marker. At check-in, I was surprised when my total for a one-night stay came to $122.83! The posted room rate was $89.00. I didn't protest, after a seven hour drive - my three children and I were too exhausted to put up much fight.

The room smelled like a port-a-potty, the shower was filthy and mildewed, the ac unit leaked inside and was duct taped together. The beds were painful, two of my kids slept on the ceramic floor instead of the bed and said it was more comfortable that way.

I helped the kids find the bright side of things by taking them down to Duval St. for people watching and gallery browsing.

We survived the night, but are holding out hope that a new owner and new management will save this place and spend a few dollars improving and cleaning things up. Shame.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IJourneyMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

BRIEF: DO NOT GO HERE - WORST MISTAKE YOU CAN MAKE IN KEY WEST!

I have been across the world in many forms of luxury in hostels and hotels. This is one of the worst places i have seen in a while. The mixed dorm has bunk beds of a type that i assume are found in prisons. They are old and rickety, in one room some shelves are used as make shift beds. Top bunks have no ladders, or barrier, you can and will likely fall off the top if you are unfortunate to have one.

Windows are broken, and the women in our group who had a bed next to a window were very afraid due to the fact anyone can put their hand in from the outside.

The mattresses has been so worn that they have no more support in them, they are covered in a terribly uncomfortable material that the whole sleeping experience is an "experience". To add to this experience will be a cast of bed bugs, that will follow you through your trip as you leave this terrible place.

The lady that seems to run the place is incredibly patronizing and rude.

The WIFI does not work.

We were in a group of 4, and we met another 3 in the place, of which everyone shared the same thoughts as this review.

This place is also over priced, if there are a group of you or a couple, consider a hotel - this place provides none of the perks of a hostel, and none of the comforts of a hotel. You will most likely find a hotel for the same combined costs, and actually enjoy your stay!

BE WARNED - AVOID!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank salmosri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice hostel. It has clean rooms with enough space, a beautiful patio with an open kitchen with barbecue and tables, chairs, parasols. It's right at the beach, there is free parking space. Just a little dust from the airco...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I spent one night in this hostel in Nov 2011 with my girlfriend. In a nutshell, rooms are very basic but quite clean, bathrooms as well. Prices are quite cheap too. Staff is friendly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salvo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Don't expect much luxury, this is simply a honest little motel. I have not encountered any bed bugs, and the host was quite eager to make his guests enjoy the stay. And for the rather expensive key west, the pricing was alright.

Room Tip: Book this as a motel, not as a hostel. The price is the same but you don't have to make the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Friend and I stayed one Friday night and got a private room.
Parking was good.
I brought my bike and my friend rented a bike from the hostel.
All in all, the place is a nice place to stay if there are no other options.
The a/c in our room never really cooled.
The mattresses were worn and bowed in the center.
Large water bugs in the bathroom.
Shower didn't drain properly.. Stood in standing water.
Kitchen didn't have any coffee available for it's guests.
Couldn't make coffee because there was none.
I don't believe I've ever stayed in a hostel that didn't have coffee available for it's guests.

I would stay here again if I didn't have any other options.

Room Tip: Make this your last option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneDear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 49 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#18 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Property: Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Address: 718 South St, Key West, FL 33040-4770
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing