We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the worst hostel i've ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel to your Saves list
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Probably the worst hostel i've ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

BRIEF: DO NOT GO HERE - WORST MISTAKE YOU CAN MAKE IN KEY WEST!

I have been across the world in many forms of luxury in hostels and hotels. This is one of the worst places i have seen in a while. The mixed dorm has bunk beds of a type that i assume are found in prisons. They are old and rickety, in one room some shelves are used as make shift beds. Top bunks have no ladders, or barrier, you can and will likely fall off the top if you are unfortunate to have one.

Windows are broken, and the women in our group who had a bed next to a window were very afraid due to the fact anyone can put their hand in from the outside.

The mattresses has been so worn that they have no more support in them, they are covered in a terribly uncomfortable material that the whole sleeping experience is an "experience". To add to this experience will be a cast of bed bugs, that will follow you through your trip as you leave this terrible place.

The lady that seems to run the place is incredibly patronizing and rude.

The WIFI does not work.

We were in a group of 4, and we met another 3 in the place, of which everyone shared the same thoughts as this review.

This place is also over priced, if there are a group of you or a couple, consider a hotel - this place provides none of the perks of a hostel, and none of the comforts of a hotel. You will most likely find a hotel for the same combined costs, and actually enjoy your stay!

BE WARNED - AVOID!

Room Tip: Find somewhere else.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank salmosri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    57
    62
    48
    77
See reviews for
28
54
64
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Very nice hostel. It has clean rooms with enough space, a beautiful patio with an open kitchen with barbecue and tables, chairs, parasols. It's right at the beach, there is free parking space. Just a little dust from the airco...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I spent one night in this hostel in Nov 2011 with my girlfriend. In a nutshell, rooms are very basic but quite clean, bathrooms as well. Prices are quite cheap too. Staff is friendly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salvo1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Don't expect much luxury, this is simply a honest little motel. I have not encountered any bed bugs, and the host was quite eager to make his guests enjoy the stay. And for the rather expensive key west, the pricing was alright.

Room Tip: Book this as a motel, not as a hostel. The price is the same but you don't have to make the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Friend and I stayed one Friday night and got a private room.
Parking was good.
I brought my bike and my friend rented a bike from the hostel.
All in all, the place is a nice place to stay if there are no other options.
The a/c in our room never really cooled.
The mattresses were worn and bowed in the center.
Large water bugs in the bathroom.
Shower didn't drain properly.. Stood in standing water.
Kitchen didn't have any coffee available for it's guests.
Couldn't make coffee because there was none.
I don't believe I've ever stayed in a hostel that didn't have coffee available for it's guests.

I would stay here again if I didn't have any other options.

Room Tip: Make this your last option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneDear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stay here if you want to wake up and realise that your pillow is covered with disgusting BED BUGS that were biting you during the night! And there was a LOT of bed bugs! We were bited in our legs and arms, blood was on the sheets and we got our bags and clothes infested even after we leave the motel!! Was the worse nightmare to get rid of them!

The owners of this horrible motel, infested, with noisy/old AC and terrible/old beds and furniture should get sued for turning people's vacations in nightmares!

Stay away from this motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Atlanta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I traveled with 3 friends to the motel March 14-18th for a bachelor party. We are all in our upper 20's and extensive travelers. We found the rooms to be plain but functional, the beds were uncomfortable but that was expected and reported on the forum. The outdoor kitchen and common areas were perfect, what a nice extra. The kitchen was well stocked with basic utensils and all appliances worked well. The location was about a mile from the bar scene end of duval but not a bad walk at all. A public beach is literally 3, blocks away. You get what you pay for but for our money it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#34 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#24 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#19 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Patio Motel
El Patio Motel
#65 of 86 in Key West
3.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel

Property: Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel
Address: 718 South Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key West Youth Hostel And Seashell Motel
Key West Youth Hostel & Seashell Hotel Key West
Key West Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing