We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good efficiency suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Galleon Resort And Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
chocowinity
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good efficiency suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed in the Galleon efficiency suite building room G21. June 29-July 3, 2009
Nice efficiency right on Front street looking directly at the A&B Lobster house sign.
Room cleaners never did leave three bath towels for us even after we requested this at desk.

parking was a problem with a midsize car dodge avenger. got lucky that we found a parking spot a couple times.

Two seperate occasions passenegers had to get out of veheicle and help driver to back into tight parking space.

No ice machine on premises.

Costs $2 in quarters to wash clothes. another $2 dollars to dry clothes.

Pool walkway was being rebuilt with new wood decking while we were there.

Rooftop observation deck was open on western part of hotel above front desk part of building. eastern observation near front street was closed. elevator in building F was out of order.

have to pay to get on internet $5 minimum usage.

tiki bar was open.

Plenty of restaurants within short walking distnace to eat at.

Can rent bycycles and scooters and electric cars right bellow efficiency. very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hcole3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    137
    44
    30
    38
See reviews for
116
178
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We were traveling with our best friends. We were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversaries!!! We had HIGH expectations of course. The place well over exceeded our expectations! We had a two bedroom suite that overlooked the pool and marina. What an amazing view. What a huge unit also!!! The beds were very comfortable and the location was perfect! Go next door to A & B restaraunt for a very excellent meal. We went for our anniversaries so we were prepared to drop $$$! Good Food, Great Service. Key West was very amazing. Rent Bikes and go to different beaches. Go to Mallory Square at night. Do the snorkling tour with Sebago! They were so fun!!! I can't say enough about the Galleon though. We were very impressed!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RelaxEnjoyLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

We have rented a time share for 2 consecutive years at the Galleon and loved it..
Everything was perfect.. Right down town,,,, great private fishing pier,, fantastic
sun-bathing deck for the wife that was gigantic.. We only had a lock-out but
it was always cleaned and the linens always changed and all of the help at
the Galleon were very nice and friendly.. If you haven't stayed at the Galleon
in Key West,,, you owe it to yourself..

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runabout333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

The walls are thin, and there is a lot of noise at night. The noise comes from other rooms where drunk people reside as well as from the Harbor Walk (boardwalk), which is close to the hotel where drunk people walk around at night. It was hard to sleep as a result. In particular, if you plan to sleep past 7 a.m., forget about it. Other residents, especially those with children, will make sure you are up bright and early every morning.
I was very disappointed with the resort's "private beach." Yes, they have one--if you consider a twenty foot by 20 foot swath of sand to be a private beach. In addition, the area of water you can then swim in is also very small. It is sectioned off about 50 feet from shore. I would guesstimate you can swim in the ocean for about a total of 100 square feet. It is very shallow in this area, however, so you can't really swim. I should have more properly said you can WADE in the ocean for about a total of 100 feet. Plus, every morning, there is a ton of seaweed washed up on the private beach. It takes maintenance about 2 hours to clean all of it. So, you can't really use the "private beach" until about 11 a.m. Then, it is populated mainly by small children who make a lot of noise. So, if you are an adult who just wants to lay out there and relax, forget about it.
The rooms were of average cleanliness. I found 2 hairs while I was there (that were not my own)! This is a condominium complex, not a hotel. Therefore, maid service is very limited. All they did for us was exchange towels and put new sheets on the bed every day. They did not clean the shower or anything else. And, when they dumped out our trash, they didn't even change the bag. So, all the stickiness from the trash stayed in the bag, and by the end of our week's stay, the trash really stunk.
Furthermore, they charged me for a pool towel I never used. I tried to explain that there was a mistake, but the staff was unwavering.
Speaking of the pool, however, I will say that the highlight of my week at the resort was pool-side bingo (yes--that was the highlight at that resort if that tells you anything). Everyday, there is bingo that starts at 2 pm and which is played by the pool. It is $5 for five games, and you win $30 for the first 4 games and about $150 for the final black-out game. I won once all week, but it was fun.
This resort has a good location insofar as it is right on the marina. It is a "good" location if you like looking at boats in the water, but not if you want to swim or snorkel. For those things, you will inevitably have to find a public beach or pay a private charter to take you out to the reef. There were other resorts that had much larger private beaches that would have allowed us to do those activities on resort property. This resort, unfortunately, did not.
The resort has a concierge who will make reservations for you for any activities you want to do on the island. However, there is just one of her and many guests who want her attention. Therefore, you have to wait a long time if you want to talk to her. If you have a busy day planned and expect to be in-and-out to see her and then get on with your day, forget about it. Allocate at least half an hour for every time you want to talk to her. And, the discounts she can provide are not that substantial. Furthermore, she will pressure you to buy a time-share there. Even if you tell her you are not interested, expect to be told about it all week, every time you see her.
There are lounge chairs on a private boardwalk belonging to the resort that you can relax on and look at boats in the water. Unfortunately, most of this boardwalk is right in front of their "Tiki Bar." So, you have drunk men staring at you for most of the day if you sit out there, and it is loud. The Tiki Bar's patrons tend to be over the age of 60 and, especially at night, it tends to be frequented just by men who seem like heavy drinkers. It was not an amenable place to socialize.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford, mi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

The Galleon is the best place to stay in Key West, though if you are going to stay there, I recommend the Marina side. You get to see and hear it all. They have everything in walking distance that you could ever want to do.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vedgington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay at the Galleon Resort. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Any minor problem was taken care of immediately. We were well advised as to what areas of the island to enjoy.

Our unit was spacious, clean and fulfilled our every need. The location made our vacation even more enjoyable as we were close to all activities and restaurants and able to enjoy a beautiful sunset from our rooftop.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pairagators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

Myself and family came to Key West Florida for the first time this month. We stayed at the galleon. Excellent staffing, the people who worked here were so friendly.
We spent one day on the jet ski's and took a rental boat out for a day. We have never been on such nice boats before. Make sure to talk to Keith or Alesh they are the best.
Happy Travels James Stuart

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forestsinkum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.2 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#10 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#15 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Resort And Marina

Property: The Galleon Resort And Marina
Address: 617 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6620
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galleon Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing