We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The visit to the Galleon is an annual must to enjoy Key West. Great pool and views from the decks. The location is fantastic and you really do not need a car as you can walk all over the old town and more. We rent bikes that allow you to cover the entire town; favorite ride is through Truman Annex on to Zachary Park.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 491 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a time share resort and a nice place and good location. The only problem was that for the expensive price we paid our room was on the street above a couple of stores! Our room smelled of mold, the bed was hard and the room was so light from being on a public street it was like sleeping with the lights on! I would not recomend these noisy rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very nice place to stay! Most are recently redone. Walking distance to all of downtown! Easy to rent bikes nearby to tour the island. Concierge was on site and helped a lot! The rooms were spacious. Ours overlooked the pool and water which made us want to spend time at home. Cooking was easy in the new kitchen.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank JustHavingFun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Galleon Resort in a beautiful penthouse apartment overlooking the pool and the Gulf. The resort is in a prime spot overlooking on the edge of the island overlooking the Gulf.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool, gulf or marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It took two weeks of deposits from my time-share to get one week at the Galleon, New Years week, and well worth it. Place is in great condition, newly remodeled. Kithcen was fully equiped, flat screens in all the rooms were great, furniture and baths were great, and loved the larger balcony with pool view. All festive. Nice service and folks. New Tiki bar has a great subset cocktail. Highly recommend if you can get it.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. We liked the music from the bar, some folks might prefer a quieter marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffBinNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I drove from New Jersey to Key West, and we left earlier than expected due to the winter storm. So, we arrived a day earlier than we planned and needed a room. We usually stay at the Southernmost Hotel, but they were sold out and we were referred to this gem of a place!
When we arrived, we were greeted by two introverted front desk agents; they weren't unfriendly, but only after complimenting the resort did they open up, smile and create dialogue. Maybe they weren't as friendly because we are not owners of a timeshare?
After finalizing the details of check-in, we put the private parking pass in our car in the enclosed parking lot/garage (we loved that!). We then walked to our efficiency room and were pleasantly surprised! My husband was very happy that you can heat the shower, and I liked that everything was so clean! Between the bathroom and the bedroom was a kitchenette that had a microwave, mini refrigerator and glassware. If we were staying for more than one night, the kitchenette would have come very handy! The bed was comfortable and my husband loved the really long pillow on the bed! The weird air conditioning didn't keep us up (probably because we were so tired from the 24 hour drive)---but it was odd.
My only complaint is that the water pressure in the shower is very low---but that just meant I stayed in the shower longer! I wish we were staying for more than one night to explore all of the amenities like the heated pool, sauna, private beach, bar and cafe.
My husband wanted to inquire about owning a timeshare here, but we had to get to the place we actually rented for a week and meet up with family who had just flown in. I'm very glad neighboring hotels referred us here as it's a very nice place in a great location!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The RCI "Hotel Room" assigned to us was terrible. If you can't get a one or two bedroom suite assigned to you don't accept this bottom of the barrel room. Make reservations on your own instead. Small, cramped, dark and shabby. No view except for elevator and outside wall. Could not open drapes as people stood outside of room waiting for elevator and couldn't help themselves from looking into room. The AC rattled and kicked-in every 15 minutes throughout the night making sleeping nearly impossible. The kitchenette was located between the bathroom and bedroom. It consisted of a microwave, under-cabinet refrigerator on one side of the 3 foot hall and a sink, coffee maker and cabinets on the other side. Dishes, glassware, utensils, a dishcloth and dish washing liquid were provided. However, no salt/pepper or napkins were provided. You will need to do some shopping if you wish to make breakfast. We purchased items from the Galleon Tiki Bar deli (on the marina side of the hotel) and CVS a few blocks away the corner of Duval.

We were not provided any help from the front desk in regard to upgrading our room as we were "RCI" members. RCI did not provide any help to us as they said no other rooms were available. We had upgraded our membership to Platinum hoping for an automatic upgrade, but that did not happen and we were very disappointed.

Now for the good part - the Galleon pool, hot tub and beach are wonderful. We spent many hours a day lounging by the pool and dipping into the hot tub. Sean, one of the pool guys played great music and provided a fun time hosting Bingo during the day. We would get lunch from the Galleon Tiki Bar (on the Marina side). Great burgers, onion rings, fries, etc. Live music at the Tiki bar near the pool starts around11:00 am and continues throughout the day.
Every performer was terrific. This Tiki bar is brand new. They re-opened it the first night of our stay. There were about 700 people there that night due to the Christmas Parade of Boats that started right at the marina next door to the resort. A wonderful event.

The resort is very clean. The hot tub is very hot and the pool is wonderfully heated. A family member had reserved a one-bedroom suite directly through the hotel while we were there and it was gorgeous (F43A) with an incredible view. It was completely updated with a brand new kitchen, king bed and fabulous bathroom, not to mention a large balcony you could access from both the living room and bedroom - absolutely dreamy!

The location is so convenient it simply can't be beat. For discounts go to the welcome center at the Galleon Cortez Room - near the Tiki Bar, they will give you two-for-one drink cards - these save a lot of money as drinks are quite expensive. We brought our own rum/coke and beer down to the pool in a collapsible cooler inside a large tote bag. We got all our ice from the ice machine (to the left in the driveway before you get to the reception doors - across from F bldg.). Wifi was very spotty. It only worked well one day. Beware of the phone scam they warn you about when you check in. Someone pretends to be from the front desk and claims the computer system is down and asks for your personal information - they called us and tried very hard to get our information. We simply hung up on them and reported the call to the real front desk.

Getting to/from the airport is a breeze. Stand outside the airport doors and grab a cab. It's a $8 per person fare. The Galleon is a great place and you are sure to have a wonderful time.

Suggestion: Purchase the Key West Bar Card and Key West Gold Card before your trip. These saved us a lot of money.

Attractions: Citiview Bus Tour leaves you right in front of Butterfly place - go, it's great. The Hemmingway House was enjoyable and the Little White House Tour was really interesting. The Mel Fisher Museum was also a cool place to explore.

Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: Do not use RCI unless they give you a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChampagnePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.3 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#17 of 51 in Key West
2,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Resort And Marina

Address: 617 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6620
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $300 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galleon Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing