We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Galleon sucked !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Galleon sucked !!”
Reviewed May 30, 2008

The room in the G building was filthy. There was mold in the bathroom.The rug was dirty. I had to call for maintenance twice to come and kill the ants. The final crowning glory was the fact that I ended up with about a dozen bed-bug bites. Out of the six days of my stay the maid service (?) came only three times. The explanation - if they come once and you are in the room they don't come back!
The pool area was OK, but the 'hot' tub/spa jacuzzi or whatever it is called was never hot because the heater didn't work, and fixing it didn't seem to be an option.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shoddy quality of room and service.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PghBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    137
    44
    30
    38
See reviews for
117
178
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2008

This is a great place to stay in Key West. You can walk to everything. The folks that talk about the G Building - well that is the economy building- CHECK WHAT YOU ARE GETTING. There are other building such as C, B, A and F that have tremenous units and views. The average price for a unit for night hovers around $500. If you are not paying that much, I would find out what you are getting. If you pay bargain basement, you are going to get the G Building.

The Galleon was wonderful facilities. A great pool, hot tub and a small beach built on the Gulf Waters. What a treat to get away and enjoy yourselves.

We have stayed at the Galleon for the past 10 years and would never stay anyplace else.

  • Liked — Great view, facilities and staff
  • Disliked — Tight parking
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RockvilleMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

I was soo excited to be returning back to Key West, FL for a celebration of my engagement. I was treated HORRIBLY to say the least. The concierge was rude and sneared in my face to pay up maitenance charges for the time share owner. He would not release room keys until the whole matter was cleared up. The whole time we stayed there expecting a quiet and relaxing stay we got quite the opposite. Loud banging construction, saws buzzing at the crack of dawn, doing construction on all of the rooms around me. One the third day, I was notified they would be doing construction in my room all day and I needed to leave and they would not reimburse me for the day I couldnt stay in the room and refused to move me to another room. When I went down to complain to the assistant manager he started screaming beligierent in my face threatening to call the cops and kick me out if i didnt like it. I left three messages for the manager to call me back and he surprisingly never did. The Galleon ruined what was supposed to be a peaceful, relaxing, celebratory trip. Due to all the stress and were totally unapologetic due to all the noise and aggrivation. I have never been treated so poorly in my life. I would never wish this kind of degrading and embarassing treatment on anyone. I even wrote a letter bc of how upset I was and to this day no one ever responded with an apology. The rooms were filthy, dusty and dirty! The maids never came to clean once during my week stay. This place is a filth hole with nasty hotel staff who degrade their guests. Steer clear of this dump.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the rude staff and filthy rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiki12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We got stuck in G-23 with no other rooms available during the boat show weekend and it absolutely ruined our trip. The floors were so dirty they turned my feet black, the room smelled like mold or must, the noise of the scooter rental below our room was ridiculous, as was the sound of the person in the unit above us. The shower was almost too small to use and the water pressure was ridiculous. On the last day, there were even ants in the room. The beach is very small and was in the shade after 2pm. The bar service was very slow and they don't let you charge to the room so you have to bring cash or a credit card while you are swimming and sunning!

Worst of all, the service was horrible. They told us it was a wonderful room before we made the reservations and when I asked if there were any bad things about the room, they never told us it overlooked the scooter shop or the garbage bin, nor did they tell us about the super-small bathroom. On the last day of the trip, a friend dropped off a little present for me at the front desk. They never told me about the package and let me check out without giving it to me. What's worse, when my friend contacted me the next day and I told them what happened, they told the friend they had no record of my staying there, nor did they have the package!

They ruined my trip to Key West!!!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — see comments
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We exchanged into the Galleon thru RCI and stayed in a 2 BR suite with another couple. They put us in the "worst view" 2 br suite (garden view 2nd floor) but it still had a nice view of the ocean from our patio. Here are THE PROS: the location was unbeatable. We were a few blocks from Mallory Square (see the Cat Man show!) and had water on 2 sides of the property. The Galleon has a marina which is part of a larger marina with restaurants, cruises, and fishing excursions right at our fingertips. The grounds are also well maintained with lots of decking and lounge chairs along the water. There was tiki bar, an adequate pool, and a rooftop platform for viewing amazing sunsets that was awesome. THE CONS: the unit was built on the 70s. Many updates had been done but the whirlpool tub was clean but in bad shape. The furniture was nice and clean and the unit was clean when we got there except the floors were dirty (walking barefoot got your feet black). The staff is not overly helpful and they have a lot of rules that are in place because a few people ruined it for the rest of us. And the workout room was horrible - broken equipment and a strong smell of mold.
Overall - if you want a nice clean place to stay in a perfect location, go to the Galleon and have the time of your life.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Age
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gt_linz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2007

The Galleon is a gem! We stayed there before and will definately come back. The location is great. The pool and tiki bar is the best. You can't beat it!

  • Liked — location, decor, pool, beach, tiki bar, service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FlashOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We loved the resort with the small beach, pool, marina, and bar. There could be some small updates with the units, but overall we were pleased. The big problem was the night before we left. We came in around 11:30 and the airconditioner was not working, and by this time there wasn't anyone at the front desk. I called security which was listed for emergency. He basically told me that no one would come that late to fix the airconditioner. It was 80 degrees in the room and climbing. It was miserable. We didn't sleep, and my 3 year old coughed all night because he was so hot. I kept calling and finally somerone came an hour before check out time the next morning, and looked at it and left. We were sweating trying to pack our bags, and then they had the nerve to call and rudely tell us that it was ten minutes after ten and we needed to get out. This was the final straw.
It is a nice palce to stay with a great location, but beware if you have an issue or problem; don't expect it to be addressed in a timely manner.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ABSKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.2 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#19 of 51 in Key West
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Galleon Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galleon Resort And Marina

Property: The Galleon Resort And Marina
Address: 617 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6620
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Galleon Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Galleon Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleon Resort And Marina Hotel Key West
Galleon Hotel Key West
Galleon Key West
Key West Galleon Resort
Galleon Marina Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing