We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed in Eden house with my girlfriend for a weekend away, The location is perfect as its in the center of Key west on a quiet side street. The design of the hotel and its garden / pool area is something spectacular! You honestly feel like your in a tropical rainforest with hammocks beside the pool and an adult deck area for those more dedicated sunbathers! I am based in Toronto and work in Hospitality so I know guest service and customer satisfaction when I experience it. This place is the best of the best.

All guests are welcome, young travelers, families, and singles of course! Maybe its not the place for young children <16 due to the flamboyant array of clientele but its truly spectacular and I made some great contacts and friends throughout my stay. If your there during the Halloween weekend make sure to ask the Owner's wife about Zombie bike ride. A must for all ages!

I can't wait to go back - definitely within the next 12 months.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool. It's perfect for those late night swims! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jibba19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    324
    85
    37
    18
See reviews for
169
955
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for my husband's 50th birthday. This place really does everything right. Its within a 5 minute walk of the Key West Express dock and maybe a 10 minute walk to Duval St. The rooms were adequate, the grounds were lush, tropical, shady and beautiful. The pool is small, the spa is great and everywhere is a hammock for a shady nap! The restaurant next door is a bit pricing but they do deliver poolside. The hotel staff is very friendly. This is by far the most perfect island accommodation in Key West. Kudos to the owners!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanabedutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Eden House on our first trip to the Florida Keys from our home in Fort Myers. Stayed two nights, loved every minute. The hotel, although renamed, is the original Key West hotel from the 1920s. It is located on a quiet street in one of the older parts of Key West which has many buildings dating from this era, and a distinctly upscale feel to the area. Worth saying at this point that our expectations of Key West were modest following varied comments by British and American friends in Fort Myers, but we absolutely loved our stay, and the Eden House played no small part in that. We would not hesitate to return to both.

We love walking, and did everything on foot. If you want the lively Duval St it was about 15 minutes walk for us, and a similar time to the nearest ocean by the harbour and boardwalk. Mallory Square and the Hemingway House were a little further but no more than 30 minutes if you are reasonably mobile.

The front entrance to the hotel is straight off the street, opening out into a spacious area with a sofa and TV off to one side, and reception on the other, with a staircase rising up the centre of the area. Coffee and iced tea are permanently on tap, and we were offered (and accepted!) a beer to cool us down on arrival after a two hour drive. The young woman on reception gave us a very friendly welcome.

Our room was called a Deluxe on the floor above reception, containing a Queen bed, a flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, ceiling fan (really good), open shelving, and with daily housekeeping. There was a spacious and well organised bathroom with large walk in rainshower to one side. The water temperature in the shower was quickly on target and good pressure. Three washing / moisturising products were on tap.

The bed was very comfortable, and we were always at ease in the room. Once there was some brief guest noise at night as people returned from the many bars and restaurants in Duval St and elsewhere, but the air conditioning unit helped mask this and we slept well both nights.

We did not use the pool and poolside bar, so cannot comment other than they both looked very attractive places, with nice landscaping around.

There is an excellent upscale restaurant on the site, the Azur, which is independently owned and managed, offering 20% discounts to Eden House guests at breakfast and lunch but not at dinner. Having said that, the dinner we had there was excellent with a nice fusion of flavours, menu themes and ambience. Service at dinner was both friendly and efficient, with the waiting on staff very knowledgeable about the food and attentive.

Service at reception varied a bit, possibly because there were system issues that slowed things down, or maybe new staff at times, not sure. Nothing serious.

Very happy we ended up at the Eden House via Expedia. It was originally our second choice, but ended up first because it offered two night minimum stays at the price on the website rather than three. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you are a couple, don't hesitate to book here!! You are very near to everything - the water as well as the bars/restaurants on Duvall - but you will think your on an island when you swim or enjoy the hot tub in the hidden garden!! Hammocks in quiet areas of the garden invite you to take the nap you need and deserve! Don't forget daily happy-hours and the wonderful staff! Every good thing you read about them here is absolutely true. Loved it. Many, many thanks.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms with a loft - you'll luv it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiberIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

First things first. This is an amazing place to stay. The lady on the front desk was really polite and gave us a tour around the hotel. There is a swimming pool with floating chairs, a sun lounging deck, a hammock area and a hot tub all surrounded by lovely decor. We got a free drink on arrival and drinks (alcoholic or soft) were only $1 after that, which is the best price I have ever seen at a hotel.

The hotel has gone to great lengths to be as green as possible and unlike other 'claims of green' I believe they are genuinely doing all they can to minimize their impact on the environment. They prepared a review of the best places in Key West to visit, all of which were personal recommendations which had been tried and tested.

Our room was small but had everything we needed and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately our nights sleep was so bad I can't give this hotel the 5* i wanted to. We had one of the cheaper rooms but were told we were upgraded on arrival. The door of our room opened right into the shared lounge and reception and from 11pm until 4am all we could hear was a loud conversion going on in the lounge by other guests. We had to leave at 7am to drive to Miami airport so 2 hours sleep really made that difficult.

I fully recommend this hotel but if you get the room we had ask to move or you will probably regret it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We got a warm welcome and a small guided tour across the property upon check-in and were offered complimentary ice-tea, coffee and even insect repellent during our stay.
We had an apartment with a balcony, a seperate patio and an outdoor shower, which was really nice.
All of the staff were very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay in the Eden House.

Room Tip: Apartment 403 has an outdoor shower and a seperate patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leitstrahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at Eden House for 5 nights in May 2014. This was my first time there. I got the feeling that many of the people who were there at the same time had been there before. The location is several blocks away from the hype of Duval street but close enough that you can rent a bike or walk and get there in a few minutes. I welcomed the idea of being a little away from Duval. Parking is a little difficult at the Eden House. There are only maybe 15-20 spots (and a few scooter spots) for the entire complex. We ended up having to park in a public garage one night because there were no spot by the time we got back to the hotel around 8 pm one night. Spaces always opened up early in the AM and very late at night (2AM).
The rooms are located in several different buildings on the property and they have every type of room from a shared hostel type of situation to a private house. I stayed in a small deluxe room. The "deluxe" gets you a TV (didn't turn it on once), queen bed (nice), and a mini fridge (also worth it). The room was in the main house but we did not face the pool. We were in room 112 and while convenient to get to right off the lobby area it would have been nice to have some type of view out our window other than the fence dividing this property from the adjacent property. Wasn't a huge issue though since we didn't really spend too much time in the room other than to sleep. A note about sleeping... although we were right off the lobby we had no trouble sleeping in until noon. ;-) Their website does not lie - the rooms were small BUT certainly adequate for our needs (just two small adults). The only thing I think that could improve the room was to have more hooks on the wall since there really is limited shelf and floor space.
The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful. Right when we arrived we were welcomed with a nice cold beer and shown to our room. We dropped our bags and were provided a quick tour of the property. The pool is small but nice (no lap swimming here). There were only about 10 - 12 lounge chairs available and two umbrella tables with 4 chairs each surrounding the pool. There were other tables, chairs, hammocks and places to sit a little further away. The grounds surrounding the pool and the hotel and very lush and green. Lots of nice shade. Really quite comfortable and relaxing. All in all it was a great stay and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: When you book they say that they can't guarantee you a specific room until you check in but I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaltmoreHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,663 reviews
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing