We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and cute hotel!”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Very friendly staff and cute hotel!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Staying at the Eden House was perfect for our 2 night stay. Great location, clean and extremely friendly staff. Willing to call cabs, make reservations for you anywhere, and honestly do anything to make your stay perfect. We had a a semi-private room, so we just shared a bathroom but ran into no problems! I personally hate staying in chain hotels so the quaint and gorgeous Eden House was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    327
    85
    38
    18
See reviews for
176
963
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This has become my refuge. I love the relaxing ambience and laid back vibe. Mike Eden and staff you have a wonderful thing going. I plan to return as soon as possible. Thank you!! If you haven't been here before be sure to check out the web site for room descriptions. They are all very unique

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I loved the quirks, the property, the pool and my loft room. I chose the hotel blindly, on short notice and could not have felt luckier. The shaded common areas, happy hour drink cart, and communal suntan lotion were just plain fun. If you want chain hotel treatment, stay at a chain hotel. Eden House is a different kind of experience. I plan to return very soon.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I chose this hotel based on the number of good reviews.I also e mailed saying I wanted a bath ( not shower) and a car parking space.On arrival we were shown to the tiniest bedroom I have stayed in for a long time with a shower.We parked on the road because the car park was full.No one helped with our luggage until I asked.( i noticed 2 ladies checked in after us and they also hauled their own cases upstairs.I then went to reception and said I had asked specifically for a bath and was told they only had one room and that was occupied.I reminded them of my e mails but they said they couldnt find them ( this despite a number of e mails to laura reference eden house inability to take american express.)No breakfast is included.there is a leaflet from mike eden the owner explaining that he provides value for money.At the 300 dollars plus that we paid I dont agree with him.In its favour the location and general ambience are very nice but I cant recommend it in comparison with the other places we stayed on our 14 day tour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear patbrownbennet,

I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment with the Eden House. First of all, your email only requested a bath and unfortunately Laura thought that you meant a private bathroom - a request we hear daily since some rooms share a bathroom. She did not realize that you meant a bath tub until you complained at the front desk, an honest mistake for which we apologized. Secondly, you booked your room through a third party booking engine that clearly states the square footage of the room. Therefore, you knew the size of the room you booked beforehand - so no fair complaining about it now on a public forum. Thirdly, we never guarantee parking (this ain't our first time at the rodeo). You were advised by email that our parking lot (which is also free by the way) has limited spaces and they are first come, first serve. I don't think we can be more clear on that subject.

We are a small boutique hotel with a small staff. We help out whenever we can but we do not have a valet service to carry bags for our guests. Obviously if someone asks we are happy to assist you with luggage and we often do, but there are busy moments when it can slip our minds. People often decline help with bags also so I do not think you can speak for the other ladies. If you are looking for that kind of treatment, I would suggest a larger hotel chain that can afford a staff of bellhops in tiny hats. On that note, we also do not offer breakfast nor do we claim to be a bed and breakfast so I am not sure why you would even bring that up. We do offer complimentary coffee and tea 24 hours a day in the lobby and we put out fruit seasonally in the mornings.

All in all, it looks to me like you didn't really research the place you chose to stay as all of your issues were addressed either by email or in general public information easily found on multiple websites (3rd party booking sites, our own website and even Tripadvisor reviews). If I was going to spend a few bucks on a hotel I'd never been to, you can bet I'm going to read everything I can find (or what the hotel sends me) on what to expect and we as a business put it all out there to avoid this kind of confusion. No good deed, right?

Better luck next time,
Mike Eden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We have booked one nite but extended our stay thanks to the lovely hotel and staff that we experienced. One of the most charming hoteli have ever visited. Some of the rooms (ours) was very small. But the rest.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at Eden House for 2 nights as part of a surprise birthday trip for my husband to Key West. I truly loved this place! The pool, hot tub, and sundeck area is wonderful. Lush foliage, fountains, bridges, hammocks, a gazebo swing for two... they've really put a lot of attention into the details! The standard rooms aren't large, but are very clean, well appointed, and they made good use of the smaller spaces. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and provided a tour of the property upon check in. The lobby has free coffee and water, and $1 cans of beer upon request. They also provide free sunscreen and other essentials in the lobby. The hotel is several blocks from the water and Duval Street, but within easy walking distance for able-bodied people. I would definitely stay at Eden House in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-Amerika77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, IL
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Loved the hotel, the pool and gardens are awesome, staff was great, helped us with everything we asked about - stayed valentine day week x4 nights - pool was like bathwater, nice hot tub - good happy hour - close enough to walk everywhere, got a bike rental right there at the hotel - however we did not like our room - small deluxe with a queen bed - so small there was barely room to walk around the bed once we got all our stuff in there - room 108 - would not recommend it for a couple - the toilet and shower was like a closet - if you were on the toilet it's about 3 feet to the bed! talk about intimacy - and the a/c is a window unit right above the bed - bed was very comfortable, it was very quiet - so bottom line is I will stay here again but definitely not in a small deluxe - we did get some recommendations from the staff about future rooms to ask for - we didn't ask to change this time because we already had everything unpacked and to be honest we weren't in the room all that much

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptnp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,681 reviews
0.8 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing