We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An eclectic gem hidden in plain sight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eden House
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An eclectic gem hidden in plain sight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

First visit decision was a last minute stab in the dark, made from what in 2005, was their quirky web presence, (and I must admit, a $99/night special). Flew into KW from Marco Island on a 6 seater with friends from Chicago. Room was not available until 3 so we snagged a hack to Duval Street where we bar hopped our way to the "hotel"....(I haven't found quite the word to describe Eden House yet). The four of us were, let's say, underwhelmed and hesitant to go in as we stood in front of the white-washed nondescript main building. Ok, what the hell, we strode in...to a small lobby with a small window and a large bearded guy behind the half wall. He looked up, "checkin' in?" I looked at the rest of our group who were trying to muster the grit to stay and not flee to the comfort and familiarity of of the big hotels 7 blocks away. "Yup" I said.

"OK", reservation names, and ya wanna beer or soda", (he reached under the counter to a cooler full of cans), which caused us all to laugh and broke the ice. "Follow me", the big guy says, and we exit the "lobby?", stage left down a dark wooden walkway bordered by lush tropical foliage into ........Eden. Wow! Utterly beautiful tropical garden setting, gorgeous pool, generous hot tub spa, and an enclave of varying size and style buildings in the background. We were stunned and now smiling as the stresses melted away. "This way" our guide says, as he leads us through the garden to one of the buildings. Here ya go folks, out key on a bottle opener chain, and we open the door to a modest and, I must say small but immaculate room that "uses every inch of available space". Tiny? yes. Uncomfortably so? No. Great bed, great shower, TV and microwave room are optional, but...hey! You're in Key West, waddaya need? Been back 4 times since, already booked for our 6th visit. Don't miss this uber cool hidden gem!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Servicebyjordon,
You should be writing my newsletters! I couldn't have said it any better myself. A pleasantly surprised guest is just what we are looking for, though I think we had you with the cold beer at check-in. An afternoon at the local watering holes is a great way to start the Key West/Eden House experience. Set 'em up bartender... make mine a double double. I only have a long weekend.

See ya soon,
Mike and the gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    302
    81
    36
    18
See reviews for
152
879
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just completed our first trip to Key West and upon the advice of friencs we chose the Eden House as our place to stay. Indeed it was a great choice. From the time we checked in to the time we left we could not have experienced a better time. The staff was excellent in answering questions and pointing us as to places to eat, drink and enjoy.
The room we were given was ten paces from the pool and beautifully appointed. It was also as clean as can be. Probably the nicest lodgings I have ever had.

Room Tip: Can only speak for myself but am sure ALL rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Howdy John A,
Glad you enjoyed yourself with us on your first visit to Key West. A recommendation from a friend is what it's all about at the Eden House - 38 years and counting. Please thank your friend for us and we will continue to keep our eye on the ball. For us it is hospitality and when we enjoy what we do, it ain't a problem.

Happy hour starts at 4pm sharp so don't be late!
Mike and the gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Truly a GREAT trip. Outstanding location. Close enough to the action but far enough away. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the facility is very clean & well kept. We stayed for 9 days/8 nights and witnessed first hand the upkeep of the property... repairs, clean up, painting and the like. The pool and hot tub were wonderful especially after hours (when the kiddies were absent). They offer diverse accommodations (deluxe, lofts, apartments, etc.). We stayed in both a loft and an apartment. The rate was the same and both units were nice. The staff (namely Laura, Ryan, & Liz) are very friendly & helpful well beyond the immediate facility including but not limited to activities and tips on visiting Key West. Their helpfulness made ALL the difference!

Don't miss the free coffee by the front desk nor the complimentary Happy Hour. They've got bike rentals and FREE WiFi too (though the bike rentals are a bit rough). Planning to visit Eden House again whenever possible! The sooner the better!

Room Tip: Ask about the provided amenities in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea_Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWFL
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff is great and entire facility is very clean and well kept. This was our first time at Eden House and we had room 202. Checking in I was a little concern that the room faced the main room and would have to put up with traffic noise; not one problem. i could not believe how quite the room turned out. Eden House is just far enough away from Duval; yet close enough to walk there and other areas without a problem. The room was clean and the bed was "killer" soft; just like our bed at home.

Thanks to the entire staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 202 gave us the room size we desired, private bath and great bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pan513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Only stayed one night, but sure to return. Easy Check-In with a Great Staff that offered a welcome drink. I was upgraded to a beautiful porch deluxe room without asking. Property is immaculate. I am a very meticulous individual and have not one negative thing to say. Beautiful Pool with Hot Tub in a tropical setting, and a nice sundeck..Great to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during our holiday around Florida. The hotel was well kept, clean and oozed the key west vibe. There is a nice pool with a variety of seating and every day a complimentary bar hour with wine and spirits. This made a great start to the evening jollities. The staff a very helpful and they helped us book a snorkel tour whilst we were there. It is also in a great location - quite and not in the middle of the Key West bars etc. There is also a lovely bakery round the corner and when we checked in we got a voucher for a free croissant. The hotel also provides tea/coffee in the reception 24hrs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MissGeorgeLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights(Monday-Tuesday) in August 2week 2013 and had booked a Private room for ~170$.Upon our checkin we were generously upgraded to a porch deluxe room(may be due to availability) which was very thoughtful and nice :) Check the room details on their website, it was perfect to description and we were more than happy with the free upgrade.

They offered us free beer upon checkin.They had a 24 hit water got tea and coffee available at the reception + they had a nice water cooler for water :) I loved their swimming pool and jacuzzi..Very clean, great lights at night for some quiet time at the pool.How could I forget the wonderful hammocks al over the area...Its a great relaxer with a book in the hand..

This place is very convenient to Duval Street.We did not have to get our car out even once during our 2day period as everything was a couple of blocks away but surely walkable.

The staff was very friendly and gave us good advice on who to pick for snorkeling(as there are a bunch of groups there), good dining places, suggestions on things to do etc...

I loved the stay and will definitely opt for Eden house again on my return to key west.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 50 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing