We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant Wait to Return!”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 11, 2004

I have stayed at the Eden House more times than I can remember. (Late nites on Duval St. will do that to ya!) I must say that I am very surprised at any negative comments made about that staff at the hotel.
They have been some of the most pleaseant characters I have met. I have stayed in almost every room in the hotel, and have a recommendation for the folks complaining about a room thats to small. Spend the money for an upgraded room! (Can you people in Canada hear me??). As for a bike thats uncomfortable, comon its a bike not caddilac, stop at the beach or a bar and rest your butt. Remember the Eden house isnt for everyone, But I love the fact that everything is so clean, there is no noise after 10:00pm and the comfort of the pool and hot tub. Cant wait for my next trip down there this May!!!

1  Thank JimFtMyersFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,762)
There are newer reviews for Eden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,552 - 1,558 of 1,762 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
217
Reviewed February 9, 2004

Spent two night at Eden House over the Christmas holidays. While the grounds are gorgeous, and the pool is very nice, the rooms are very unappealing. We stayed in a ground floor "deluxe" room. The bed was crammed against the window and door, which meant we heard EVERYONE coming in at night and going out in the morning. It was impossible to sleep soundly. We couldn't keep the blinds open because we were ground level, so the room was dark all the time. The design is cinder block, and the size of a jailcell, which isn't very holiday-like. The shower has bad water pressure, and we kept tripping over our luggage and clothes as there was literally nowhere to put anything. To be fair the grounds were very nice and the staff were friendly, but when you're in Key West to relax, you don't want to stay in a bad room where you can't get any sleep!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Saint Paul, MN
12
Reviewed February 7, 2004

TripAdvisor is 2 for 2 with us now! For winter getaways, we did all the research (Foder's, Brommer's, AAA), and have been most successful with the recommendations from this site. Personal opinions continue to be very individual, and as long as you read a variety of the reviews, the flavor of the destination comes through. This was definitely true with Eden House. We were expecting personal attention and cozy comfort with a laid-back, friendly attitude, good location and helpful staff. Last month, during the 6 days we spent there, we enjoyed all this and couldn't have been more pleased. We could walk to everything, the staff was super-friendly and helpful with recommendations, and Mike is one-of-a-kind! Thanks to everyone there for making our vacation perfect. If you are looking for a place to stay when visiting Key West, go to the Eden House website and look around. If you like what you see, give them a try! We stayed in a terrific second floor room overlooking the pool, noise was never a problem, fellow guests were great, happy hour was a blast, the pool was spotless, the towels were big and fluffy, the rooms were clean, the bed was comfy... HIGHLY recommended!!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2004

We stayed in Room 203 in the main building this past weekend. The entire vacation was FLAWLESS! We will never stay anywhere other than the Eden House. The room was exceptionally clean. The staff (particularly Carlos) went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure our stay was perfect. We were able to meet Mike Eden poolside during happy hour on Saturday. This man is the BEST!! He is so friendly and eager to make sure you enjoy yourself. We definitely got very penny's worth and cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
315
Reviewed January 22, 2004

We've stayed from Motel6 to Marriott, and they are both bests at different things. Eden House seems to be the best at wanting to make your whole Key West experience enjoyable. (not just your stay in their hotel!!) Our room selection was a Small Deluxe in one of the outer buildings for 8 nights.

After reading some reviews here on small rooms, I was begining to wonder how small our small deluxe would be. We were pleasantly surprised. It was located next to the Hammock area with a very tropical ambience. The sleeping area (approx 13'X15') was more than adequate for our stay, with a very nice decor, good/firm comfortable mattress, TV & fridge. The washroom was quite large for what we had expected as well.
(approx 6X13 feet) and out our front door was a screened off porch (approx 5X20') with table/chairs making for a nice relaxing area next to the tropical plants/trees.

All the staff (including cleaning staff) were exceptionally pleasant to chat with and were always checking to make sure all was fine & always trying to see if there's something extra they can do to enhance our stay.

Although we didn't partake in too many happy hours as we were busy exploring the Island and often didn't arrive back in time, it was a good *social* event. (Make sure to at least go to one & ask Mike [owner] for a restaurant list, that alone made our trip better not having to guess what places are good, as we prefer not to eat at chains and like trying the local flavour of restaurants.)

The pool and hot-tub were clean and the hot-tub was especially enjoyable after hiking/exploring the town for most of the day.

Overall my wife and I had a wonderful week staying here. Would we stay at Eden House again? Definitely!!!

I would rate Eden House as a 4.5/5.0 based on our stay there and the exceptional staff. I'll round this up to a 5.0 (rather than the 4.0) because of their wonderful policy of providing a shower facility for those that check out but don't fly until days end. You can enjoy the facility for the last few hours & freshen up before the flight home!!!

  • Stayed: January 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2004

16  Thank Robert0567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2004

Thank rbshaw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,162 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $192 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing