We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Fantastic staff, exotic grounds, pool, hammocks and hot tub. Free happy hour.
I am allergic to fabric softener ( the smell) we arrived at 5:00pm and by 6:00pm they had all the linens changed and towels as well. We rebooked already. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vs009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,250
    315
    84
    37
    18
See reviews for
166
931
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honeoye Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Eden House for 4 nights and it was excellent. We actually extended our visit a day since we were enjoying it so much. All areas of the hotel were super clean. Staff was excellent-professional, courteous and accommodating. It was easy to have privacy and quiet as well as interact with the other guests if you wanted to. There was also a great balance of shade and sun in the patio/poolside area. Loved that the pool was heated so we could enjoy it anytime. We had a porch swing which was very relaxing. We will definitely revisit and plan on taking our teenager daughters next time. This hotel seemed to cater to a mature group, not a spring break hang out or place for families with young children. Totally appreciated that the staff was dedicated to maintaining a certain standard. (Brought girl in pool with a bottle of beer a plastic cup! Gave drunk couple in the hot tub/pool area a warning in the wee hours of the night that disturbing the other guests would not be tolerated!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneR536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a delightful find - the most efficient staff I encountered for decades. Everything just works and is clean - no mysteries or waiting. They have the top 5 coffees I have enjoyed at hotels, including the 4 star competitors - by gosh, their coffee is better than most restaurants. A small setback is the noisy window mounted ac unit - an unfortunate fact of life in the era piece architecture. I will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryK868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Howdy HenryK868,

Glad you enjoyed the coffee. My staff's heads are so puffed up they may never get a cap to fit again. i've heard if you enjoy your job... then its not like work. I hope that is what's responsible for my staff's efficiency. Since you live just up the road, I hope we see you again soon.

Mike Eden and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Andrews, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Eden House is appears as an oasis in Key West. Rooms and apartments are scattered among palm trees providing shadows over the many hammocks that are placed around the outside area. There is a great pool and jacuzzi for the guests to use, as well as a daily happy hour in the bar. The apartments (I can only speak for the one I stayed in) are equipped with airconditioning and fans, and are beautifully decorated. There are patios/verandas for that late night (or early morning if you prefer) drink, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the moment you step inside you instantly feel that Key West laidbackness hitting you.

Very much recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Norhh,
Being from Michigan, the Eden House is how I feel the tropics should be. You can never have too many hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls and little shady spots to slip away and read a good book or catch 40 winks. Our philosophy remains - clean accommodations, a comfortable bed (and pillow), a reasonable rate, a staff that cares and a mutual respect between our guests and staff. Add a warm tropical breeze, ceiling fans and maybe a drink or two... and the clock stops.

Come back and see us againm soon and I promise, we won't change a thing.

Mike Eden (37 years and counting...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Eden House is a great find. The hotel does not look like much from the front - but just step inside and you can feel the history and the charm this place holds. Close to the marina with great shops and resturants. The staff is friendly and helpful with your every need. Rooms are very clean some of them are a little on the small side. All rooms are a little differant most with decks overlooking the common pool area. Happy hour every night of the week at the pool area. Pool and hot tub area are very clean. An older setting makes the place a real gem. Small fridg and microwave in the rooms. Bathrooms all updated. The only complaint I have is that the beds were pretty firm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

You will not be disappointed with the accomodations or the entire property. The site is very well kept and the staff is superior! Great location, plan on walking or riding a bike. Parking is VERY limited. Parking was the only problem found with the hotel. It seems like some guests had 3 or 4 cars leaving others to fend for themselves with no parking. Pool is small, but warm! Try Eden House!

Room Tip: Look at the property map prior to booking! So many rooms to choose from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We picked one of the busiest weeks possible to go to Key West with St. Patrick's day and spring break all rolled into one!! Although the island was noisy and busy, Eden House was a welcome oasis of calm in amongst it all.

Check in was quick and easy and the free beer on arrival went down well!! Although parking in the lot next to the hotel is free, be careful as there isn't an awful lot of spaces available. Our room was right next to the pool and was a little smaller than I expected although I gather bigger rooms are available. Although I thought it would be quite noisy being on the ground floor was pleasantly surprised that it wasn't bad at all. The pool, jacuzzi and surrounding sunbeds were good though there weren't that many available and we sometimes had to use the sun/smoking terrace instead...

This is a great hotel with plenty of character and we didn't want to leave on our last day... If we go back to Key West we'll be staying here!! Tip: check out the Azur restaurant next door if you want a really nice though not cheap dinner with plenty of local fish!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holeedayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Best Value Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing