We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West retreat.”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
LaSalle, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Key West retreat.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We, too, had a deluxe room for our first night in K.W. ,yes it was small, but the bed was comfortable and bathroom good, had we been staying for longer we would have probably asked for a different room. Friendly staff, lovely pool ,sun decks and landscaping, very tropical. Happy hour was amazing , no restrictions, really gets you into the "Key West " mood. We then transferred to another Hotel for 5 nights as the Eden was full. Wanting to stay for another night we contacted the Eden and they had a Deluxe suite available, which we took. What a difference, quite a spacious room and bathroom, large patio with swing and seating, made such a difference, and again , chance to enjoy Happy Hour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EuropeLaSalle_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    324
    85
    37
    18
See reviews for
167
955
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We rented two smallish rooms joined by a bathroom on the second floor. Free happy hour drinks, free fresh coffee 24/7, even free fresh brewed ice tea and sunscreen! Beautiful pool and hot tub/pool, many hammocks and waterfalls. Very private feeling though being in the heart of Key West. Terrific staff!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoanneBelknap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Many people seem to really like this hotel. We can only comment on our experience in one of their "small deluxe" rooms. We thought we were prepared for a small room but the room we had was incredibly small. The bathroom had a shower which was about 2 1/2 feet square and the toilet was across from it in a space so small that they had to hang the toilet paper dispenser over your head to fit it. The sink couldn't fit in the bathroom so you had to leave the bathroom and walk in the narrow passway along the bed to get to the sink which was in the corner. The other side of the bed had an even narrower space to walk (perhaps a foot wide). The room had thin linens, and flat pathetic pillows, no nightstands, and no drawers. You had to either hang your clothes on a couple of hooks on the wall or try to find room for them in the cubby at the end of the bed. The tv was positioned so that it was almost touching the ceiling. You had to lie in bed to see it and heads were cut off due to distortion from its positioning. There was a luggage rack but there was no floor room available to use it. A light outside the room stayed on all night and shined into the room through blinds which did not block out the light-it felt like a prison block. Ohhh..then there was the air conditioner which rattled all night so loud that we were unable to sleep. A deluxe room should be inspected and ready to provide a comfortable environment for their guests.This was obviously not done and there was no offer to have it swapped out. I don't know how the term "deluxe" creeped into the description of this room--perhaps because of the price which is charged for renting this miserable space.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank loves2go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Loves2go2,

Well, we knew this was coming as you indicated in your personal email to me when I refused to give you any additional money back. According to the front desk, you entered the lobby claiming that you didn't get us - the Eden House and Key West in general just weren't your thing. After making exhaustive attempts to please you including additional pillows, offering to split an upgrade to a Large Deluxe (there's that darn word again, deluxe) and offering you a full refund, you chose to stay the night in the Small Deluxe and move on up the keys the next day. We gave you a refund save for the night that you chose to stay in the room you knowingly reserved. Like I always say, you can't eat the steak and then ask for a refund.

I would take the time to address each issue you mention in your review but they are so absurd it would be a waste of energy (FYI the toilet tissue holder is not above your head, there is a nightstand and our pillows are all new and delightfully fluffy!) So you were unhappy with the room, we understand that not everyone is used to the way we do things, especially when you are accustomed to staying in chain hotels. That is why we have our Unhappy Guest Policy that clearly states you may leave at any time and get a refund for the remainder of your stay. You seemed quite happy with that policy when you left the next morning... or so we thought until we got your email. You claimed that due to the noisy air conditioner, which by the way has not recieved another single complaint before or after your stay, you deserved more money back and then implied that you would use social media to influence lodging choices. Well done. These review mechanisms can be so uplifting and empowering, can't they? We here at the Eden House have never and will never offer anyone any kind of compensation for a good review or to prevent a bad review from posting. Everyone is entiltled to their opinion of us, good or bad.

This is my 37th year with the Eden House and it's still fun coming to work. I think a lot of that is the fact that I am in Key West. I hope you find your Key West.

Many thanks for taking the time to write me and tell me how you really feel.
Mike Eden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Every comfort is considered: great bed (even the convertible sofa), beautiful grounds, perfect location well off the well-trodden Duval, bikes for rent, great pool with beach towels galore, just perfect. Stayed in one of the apartments: spacious, quiet, just perfect. Hate to share....but they deserve the kudos!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

They have all bases covered! Pool,tub, towels, coffee, wine and of course great people. Love the at home feel Mike encourages.Extra food or suntan lotion always shared. Stories and fun around the pool day or night invite you to sit or lounge when you have done the tourist and need to be at ease. Didn't hang out in the room at all as there was the porch in the morning to watch people and the pool in the afternoon to chat and compare notes on everyone's activites of the day.I'm sure to be back!

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank louobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I went to Key West for 2 nights as a little side trip. We had read on trip advisor about this hotel & we wanted to try it out. It was absolutely beyond our expectations!!!!
Everything you read about it is so true. The service & staff @ the hotel were wonderful! They go above & beyond ensuring that you are welcome. The happy hour from 4-5 everyday @ the pool is fun! You definitely want to check it out. We stayed in room 301. It was a nice size room with a big bathroom, and a microwave & mini fridge. The bonus surprise was that we got a room with a porch & swing. The porch is covered with a screen so you can sit out @ night with a cocktail. We were extremely happy! The complimentary water & other beverages (iced tea & coffee) provided were a nice touch when sitting @ the pool. They provide towels for the pool (no need to bring your own). Wifi throughout the hotel (strongest @ the pool, library & lobby). We met the owner of the hotel Mike Eden our last day. He's such a hospitable guy & he makes you feel very welcome! Such a nice touch.
We're definitely planning our next trip next year @ this hotel. Thanks again to all of the staff of the Eden House.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank canadiantraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I can't say enough good things about The Eden House. We have been coming to KW for nearly 24 years. We have stayed at the Casa Marina and the Hilton and other very pricey hotels. But we always end up returning to the Eden House. There is no pretense - it is what it is. A gem!! Mike and his staff treat everyone of their guests as if they were their own family. They are there to help make your stay one you will not forget. You forget that you are just minutes from the busy, noisy Duval St crowd. The Eden House property is very private and relaxing with its hammocks conveniently hanging amongst the lush and lovely foliage. The waterfalls near the beautiful heated pool and around the property make you feel like your in some secluded island. But - then the Open Bar starts at 4pm and you say to yourself, "Ah, yes, it's The Eden House, I'll get the limes!"

Room Tip: We were in #303, they sometimes call the "tree house", very secluded with it's own pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahKoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,663 reviews
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing