We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We love Eden House!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love Eden House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We've stayed at Eden many times and recently just this week. It has such a great Key West vibe from the swaying palm trees, hammock,s to the happy hour cart wheeled out religiously at 4pm each day. One of the best places to stay in Key West. Pool is perfect temp and so is hot tub. The staff are super helpful and will fix anything with just an ask.

Room Tip: Grab one of the deluxe rooms with a porch swing or the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiakim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    292
    80
    36
    18
See reviews for
143
848
69
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had a very calm and good time in Eden House. I first had planned to stay there only 3 nights and ended up extending my staying. It was a very good idea. The Eden House was perfect. The house is beautiful and the amenities very well kept and clean. But the best was the Eden house workers! They were polite, very helpful, easy and agreeable to interact. I would stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have been to Key West several times, the last two visits at the Eden House.

The location is terrific - in a quiet part of old town just a few blocks from Duval. Great food choices a few steps away - Azur, Old Town Bakery, Paseo and the Five Brothers.

Although this isn't the newest nor largest hotel in Key West, the attention to detail is second to none. Friendly, helpful desk staff, and the place is immaculate. The maintenance and custodial staff quietly work incessantly to keep the hotel in pristine condition.

The complimentary check-in beer or soft drink, and happy hour by the pool from 4 to 5 is a great touch also - I'm already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anreimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

a step back in time in old fashioned key west lodging, but only in feel. everything else is very modern and very comfortable. its its own little commune totally enclosed in palm trees, wooden walkways, hammock nests with a pool and jacuzzi. the restroom in the pool area is cleaner then most hotel rooms on the island. this is the second time i've stayed here and its as good as i remember. totally friendly front desk staff and relaxed vibe. we stay in the two story old fashioned house that's part of the hotel and we house 7 adults comfortably. there's a private jacuzzi as part of the house and three balcony/decks. two spacious bathrooms a full kitchen, living room, air conditioning etc. this place is totally worth it and if you split it amongst 7 people its not a bad price at all. also, the hotel has bikes for rent $10 a day which is reasonable, although they should be complimentary with a credit card on file in case you lose it or destroy it. and finally, i'm sure this place is kid friendly but in two weeks of staying there i have never seen one child. and i have never seen one person or couple there that looks as though they would want one around so if your traveling with children i would reconsider staying here. the people that stay here, including me, do not want 5 kids running around the pool with foam noodles hitting them and mom sitting nearby obliviously sipping on a drink......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beachbum393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This would be a five-star rating except for the hotel's non-password protected Web access. After staying for a week my E-mail account on my ISP's site was hacked, and it was used for a massive spam mailing before I caught it and changed my password. I told the hotel upon arrival that password protection should be added, but they didn't seem to understand the importance of my concern.
Now, the good part: The staff is excellent, the service great, the hotel is what a visiting relative called "Old Florida", and we had a wonderful time. They are located in the old town residential area, and there are many excellent local restaurants, including one on-site. The hotel is about five blocks from Duval Street and maybe eight from Mallory Square. There is a very good, albeit expensive store (Fausto's) four blocks toward Duval on Fleming Street (think Whole Foods prices), and we shopped there several times since we had one of the hotel's apartment units. Publix has two stores within a couple of miles, as the crow flies, but there is currently a lot of construction creating havoc on car travel to the Publix locations. We did it once, parked the car and did not drive again for a week. Walking is easy in Key West since it's extremely flat. For a solid week we wore shorts and tee-shirts and walked every day, every where we went. One day we did over ten miles. I'm proud of that since I turned 70 on this trip, and my wife is 67. Oh, don't forget the free drinks around the pool daily from 4-5 PM. Finally, there is one caveat: if you want a beach experience this is NOT your place. Try the new hotels on the Atlantic end of Duval. They don't have the charm, but they do have the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AtlantaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perugia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is the best solution in key west - friendly, not cheap but also not expensive, with differents possibility of choise .
You can have a private room , clean and essencial, or a luxury room with your own jacuzzi.
I think there are not other place to stay in key west - nice pool, a big happy hour, a big solarium and a great atmosphear.

Room Tip: If you have a whellchair you need a room at ground level, there are no elevator in the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've stayed in the Ritz Carlton, the Mark Hopkins down to the motel 6 and Eden House was hands down the best! Cozy, comfortable, lush grounds with so much attention to detail and an incredible staff!

We were looking for a place for Fantasy Fest that was close to Duval and didn't cost an arm and a leg and I found them. I first booked a small deluxe then upgraded to a deluxe. After going through the "mystery tour" on the website I called to see what rooms were available and picked 115 from my choices. It was a great room and 114 or 116 would be even better as they have more windows but I am not complaining! IIf you haven't been you need to look at the website to see what the different rooms have. Oyster.com has a lot of pictures of rooms also. The smaller rooms do have sinks in the sleeping area and no TV but all you have to do is call to see what you're getting - they aren't keeping these things a secret to the complainers out there - just ask!

Saw some complaints about loud AC units. I haven't met a quiet one yet! Crank it up, get the room cold then turn it off and crank up the ceiling fan when you go to bed. Works like a charm!

We had the pleasure of a lengthy conversation with Mike Eden and he was a delight! He cares about his hotel, staff and customers.

The Azur Restaurant on the property is amazing as well! We had 3 dinners and breakfast and have to say that we loved Rob and Ray! They took great care of us!

You can't go wrong with this place. To the bad reviews I say "Some people just aren't happy unless they think they have something to be unhappy about!"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiffany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#4 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden House 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing