We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for a good time in Key West call the Eden House!”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Had a chance to enjoy one of the apartment rooms at Eden House this past weekend. This place is absolutely incredible. The location is perfect, right in the heart of 'old town'. You can easily walk to Duval street or rent a bike from the hotel and explore all over the island. Eden House offers nice beach cruiser style bikes for rent and is one of the cheapest rentals on the island. The staff is super helpful. Ryan, Everett, Elizabeth- all top notch. Everett really helped us in a pinch during his graveyard shift (they even have someone at the front desk 24x7, which isn't always the case in a Key West hotel). Eden House is really quirky, eccentric and just plain cool. The grounds of the hotel are spectacular with tons of decks of multiple levels, hammocks for lounging, swings, chairs, a gazebo, hot tub, heated pool, sun deck, all surrounded by lush tropical shrubbery. Ooh and there's free happy hour everyday and they even give you an ice cold beer when you check in. Eden House truly embodies the spirit of Key West.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank noripcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

We spent two nights during a weekend break at this little Oasis. Having read the earlier reviews we knew basically what to expect. The room was small basic but clean and tidy. You are living at very close quartes to the other guests and I was worried about noise but apprat from the rather loud wall mounted air conditioner the Hotel was very quiet and peaceful. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful. No breakfast in the Hotel but the restaurant next door is owned by the same people. Careful it is rather expensive for beakfast, orange juice $4 for a small glass, Cappicino $4.50 and the drinks prices are not on the menu! so it can add up fast. Food was good though. The hotel also rents bicycles which for us was the best way to get around town, as parking is a nightmare. All in all we really enjoyed our stay. It is expensive for the size and quality of the room. But the location, peace and quite of the grounds pool area makes up for that. One litte tip to the hotel: turn off the piped music that is playing everywhere, it ruins the peace!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fastbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

my friend had stay there numerous times I had always stayed at the corporate places
please do yourself a favor at stay at the Eden House and support the locals, what a great and friendly place to stay, take your time and review your room selection on the website, there are pictures and May 2 the rates drop to off season. We stayed in 504 upfront upstairs in a loft
because we had three people ,but with the lofts if your older you have to go up and down a spiral staircase and no bathroom upstairs!!!But we had a great street view with a swing.
Some of the older rooms are in the back, ask the square footage some rooms are very small
they have a two bedroom apt the larger rooms go fast. This place is what Key West is all about.
Great pool and hot tub remember there is a live webcam so LADIES KEEP YOUR LEGS CLOSED!! The staff is awesome!!
Everyone is friendly that is staying there, there is a grill to cook on, quiet areas for relaxing in a hammock. Get to happy hour get early if you want a seat by the pool, most rooms
have a refrigerator and a microwave and plates and silverware,cups, coffee and tea is served downstairs and maybe fruit , there is a restaurant on property we did not get to try it but around the corner is a great bakery and sandwich shop Old Town Bakery they open early so you can wake walk down and get a delicious muffin, croissant, fresh baked bread and bring it back to your room and sit out by the pool and relax. Look for the coupon on the Key West website for the free bike rental, we had a great time on the bikes it was much easier that walking and taking a cab is great and cheaper than the bicycle cabs. Have a Great time and enjoy Key West, go off the beaten path and see what Key West is all a bout there is so much more to see and eat and do then Duval Street. Don't forget to eat at Blue Heaven make a reservation to get a good seat out side, the best food. Willie T's is fun with the music and the food is not bad right next door to the coach store.Once you stay at the Eden House it will be the only place you will ever want to stay at in Key West. Enjoy happy traveling. People of all ages stay here it is nice and quiet if you want rowdy go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Review the website the rooms in the back are quieter,there are so many to choose from use the webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expedition2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

found this place on key west visitor site, and decided to try it out. It was worth the risk of not knowing what we were getting into. Location is off the main touristy area, and within walking distance to whatever you'll want to see. Was wondering how I'd do with no tv and a little room but honestly, I never missed it or felt like I was lacking. It was perfect! Pool area was great, and we were able to sit poolside reading, and not worry about time or space. No little kids running around (probaby timing of stay more then anything) very quiet and respectful overall. They make you feel free to roam around and make the space your own. Happy hour is a great bonus, and 24 hr coffee is nice too! Right around the corner is a great bakery so breakfast is easy as walking downstairs in a chain hotel (only 100x better!) Friendly staff makes for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cass20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our recent visit was our second stay at Eden House, and we were quite pleased and satisfied once again. The location, the lush greenery and trickling waterfalls, the comfy room were all terrific, as promised by the video and other reviews. The proximity to a wide variety of places to eat wonderful food in a wide price range was terrific. What the video doesn't cover is the sense of community we experienced both times. The staff are fantastic and seem more like partners than "staff" in the quest for a relaxing, interesting and fun vacation. As Art said in his post, it seems to attract wonderful people and we feel enriched by the friendships we made during the course of our stay.

Comparatively speaking, the price is right, too. We plan to continue to make Eden House our winter get-away destination.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dottie37242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights at Eden House for our two year anniversary. This was our favorite place we have ever stayed. The hotel has a wonderul world class, pool, hot tub and sun deck. More importantly it has wonderful people and a great location. The eden house relishes the laidback party atmosphere that Key West is known for. The complimentary happy hour is a relaxing treat, and the staff will go out of its way to please you. The accomodations are basic, no tv, no alarm clock, but this just adds to the laidback fun atmosphere of the hotel and the city. Lastly the location is great. Eden house has it's own parking lot and it's a beautiful 15 minute walk to duvall street. All the best we will be back soon. Nate you were the best.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I planned on staying here one night, and after four, I wanted to stay longer. The location is a pleasant 5or 6 block walk from the heart of town, in a quiet neighborhood. Close enough to the action but not right on top of it. The staff is sincerely friendly, helpful, and down to earth. It seems to attract wonderful people, many of them regulars. Pool and hot tub are available all day and night, there's a terridfic bakery a block away, and these guys simply know how to add the small touches that made my stay memorable. The only way I could leave was by booking my next visit before I walked out the door.

Considering that Key West is not a place to stay on the cheap, this a a very good value in comparison to comparable locations

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank art0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,170 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
700 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
#5 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $201 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing