We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Reservations”
Review of Eden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eden House
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No Reservations”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

As in "I have no reservations about recommending Eden House to you." If you have never been to Key West, please bear in mind that Key West is not Beverly Hills, though the room rates may make you think so. Rooms are not cheap. Rooms are not particularly fancy. Rooms are not . . . roomy. It's Key West, for crying out loud. Enjoy! Get out and walk around. BTW, if you drive into Key West and you're staying in Old Town, and if you see a free parking spot, park! Do not move your vehicle until you are ready to leave. Parking in Old Town is a challenge in itself, so if you are presented the gift of a parking spot, take it.

As to Eden House, I've stayed at several properties in Key West, including B&Bs, hotels, and condos. I'll go back to Eden House, and I can't say that about the others. My room was ready when it was promised, it was clean, it was comfortable, and it was kept that way. The property itself is quite pleasant, and the Eden House has a nice porch on which I sat drinking Mike's designer coffee, watching the wacky, wonderful weirdness that is Key West walk, ride, run, trot, or crawl down the street.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr-Nuke-to-You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    327
    85
    38
    18
See reviews for
176
963
72
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The staff are great and so welcoming; especially Nate and Ryan. All the little extras like the 24 hour coffee, water cooler, free daily Happy Hour, etc. make you feel pampered. The entire place is comfortably furnished and immaculately maintained. The only thing we'll do different when we go back is to stay in different room. Our small room was in the main walkway of the hotel and not very private.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the first floor and on the second floor are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Work2Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I was totally impressed.....the free beer at check-in started my wonderful experience, followed by the fact there is a self serve happy hour! Pool is awesome and open all night. There is even a suncare products table for all guests--I mean really! This place is peaceful, clean, neat, great service, just Awesome. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambar418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I visited Key West for two days with four children, and despite that, I really was able to experience the mystic tranquillity of the lower Keys, thanks to where we stayed. It was the Eden House. From the moment we were greeted at the front desk and offered a cold soda or beverage, the hospitality was over the top. No matter what our need, the staff accomodated. The kindness of people like Ryan ( the evening hotel clerk and all around guy Friday) was only surpassed by the incredible natural beauty of the property. Artistic porches, gazebos, tree-house like apartments, and hammocks were all nestled among the flowering trees and Queen/King Palms. Our room was spacious, with a darling loft with a spiral staircase for access where the children escaped away from the rest of the world. I found my own solace on the porch swing just outside the living room area (visible through the many windows that let natural light in).

There were several stained glass windows throughout, and it was hard to believe I was actually staying in such luxurious surroundings. The Air Conditioning worked to perfection. The pool was a work of art (literally), and Happy Hour at the hot tub was delightful. We also were treated to a free barbecue complete with home-made deviled eggs and potato salad for the July 4th holiday. A treat was breakfast at the cafe next door, Azul, where we had Portugues French toast (hint; it has pears and sugared pecans). You could also order Eggs Benedict with just about any type of seafood that you could think of.

The Eden House staff were able to recommend additional best tasting, most colorful, and most fun places to eat in town. Incidentally, the hotel is in the historic district, and we were able to walk to everywhere, including Mallory Square for the sunsets

The only drawback was that the pool towels seemed to be in short supply; the laundry was always running. That is a complement to the hotel, however, as the guests really enjoyed the amazing pool. By the time we left, we felt like we were saying good-bye to friends, and we hope to come stay there every time we are in the Keys.

One other note; although there were plenty of couples staying there, we were not the only family staying there as well. It was particularly meaningful to my 22 year old niece (who found your hotel online), who is still searching a bit for the "meaning of life", and the week-end helped her to realize she was special, and had family. The atmosphere and aura of the hotel really helped her to open her heart, as well as mine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaBocaRaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear LisaBocaRaton,

Thanks so much for your kind words. I have always said that is is a simple formula. The Eden House is a very special property, our staff is top notch and they really care about our guest who are the absolute best. Folks like yourself (thank your daughter for me) have sought us out over the years and this makes our job a lot easier and more enjoyable. You came to Key West because it is special and so did we. When you relax and enjoy yourself we get to relax and enjoy ourselves. We all have to work but we here at the Eden House feel blessed that we get to do it here.

Thanks again and we will continue to adhere to KISS - keep it simple stupid.

Since you live just up the road I expect we will see ya again soon. Mike Eden and the gang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The staff is exceptional - Nate, Ryan and Richard were all great! Every hotel should hope for such amenable representatives All of our questions and needs were met with a smile and insight. When there was a small issue, it was quickly addressed and resolved immediately. Everywhere you looked at the Eden House was immaculate, clean, and uncluttered. The 24 hour coffe/tea station is a nice touch, featuring the delicious "Baby's Coffee" and a nice selection of creamers and teas. The computer/printer and Wi-Fi were also handy. The pool/jaccuzzi area has plenty of lounge chairs - perfect for catching rays while reading your favorite book, as well as tables and chairs and swings in the shade. We were a party of 4, and had 2 rooms. The rooms were clean, cool (air conditioned and had a ceiling fan), and the beds were comfortable. There were plenty of places around the hotel to relax (swings, tables and chairs on balconies, and hammocks). I also highly recommend the Azur restaurant next door - amazing menu and wonderful service (mention you are a guest at the Eden house and your bill will be reduced by 20%). We were told you can even order items/meals off the Azur menu and have them delivered poolside, or to your room. Parking is limited, so arrive around 1:00PM to try for a good spot. Even though check in isn't until 3:00PM, if your room is ready you can get in early, and if it isn't, they have lockers to put your luggage in while you relax by the pool. We were hard pressed to leave the Eden House even to venture forth to explore the rest of Key West, we were so comfortable and relaxed in the environment there. Even when we did venture forth, it was only a 10 minute stroll to reach Duval Street. We will definately return in all of our future visits to Key West - no need to look further for a better place to stay. We have already recommeneded the Eden House to everyone we know.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MamaBear4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenhouse, Owner at Eden House, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Howdy MamaBear4321,
I am so glad that you appreciate the little things that we do here at the Eden House. My staff and I thoroughly enjoy seeing you/our guests leave relaxed and rested. Those smiles and tan faces means that we have done our jobs. The Eden House should feel like you are at home except that we put out the trash. Recycled at that.
Don't forget happy hour is 4PM sharp! Don't be late.
See ya soon, Mike & the Eden House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here over the fourth of July weekend, and while Duval St. was wild and crazy, the hotel was just far enough away to allow for peace and quiet. Nice setting around the pool and hot tub. Internet was a bit sketchy at times, but we were only using it to check the weather!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a private patio with chairs/swing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagdragger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Place was great, CLEAN!!!! This is a make a break for us and we are happy to say it was a make. The staff was great, plenty of amenities, the free coffee in the morning was awesome. Nice big cups with NON-dairy creamer!!! Thank you so much, most places never have that!!! Cold a/c in the rooms and a beatufil place. Quiet, relaxing and friendly.
It is a little out of town which we liked, all quiet after 10 perfect for getting some sleep.
The only thing we didn't like was the smoking. Nice chairs and seating everywhere but with ashtrays everywhere also. Right outside our rooms was a nice table and chairs so we could relax but we were next to smokers and we must have been on the same schedule because they were always there. If your a non-smoker, walking to and from your room or to the lobby, pool and always walking THRU the smoke stinks!!!! A smoking area would be great, we can avoid that area. Overall, loved this place!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diner421141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,681 reviews
0.8 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden House

Property: Eden House
Address: 1015 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040-6962
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Key West
#2 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax In Old Town Key West! The Eden House's first priority has been to maintain a clean inn, offer a comfortable bed, reasonable rates and have a staff that cares. Next comes the heated pool and Jacuzzi, hammocks, porch swings, waterfalls, sundeck, free off-street parking, café and lush gardens.We will have a cold drink for you at check-in and our daily complimentary 'happy hour' is poolside. Then at 10 PM we will dim the lights and let you get a good nights rest. Our night staff will not put a mint on your pillow but they will walk the grounds to insure that you won't be disturbed. I have owned and managed the Eden House for 27 years. I like to think that my staff and me do the 'little' things that will make your stay in Key West a memorable one. Key West is notorious for it's nightlife. Whether it is a sunset sail, a snorkel or kayak trip or deep water and flats fishing, the waters of the Florida Keys are like no other. Just let us know when you want to go.Grab a good book and a drink and I'll see you in the hammock area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden House Hotel Key West
Eden Hotel Key West
Eden Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing