We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lousy bed”
Review of Old Town Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Manor
Ranked #15 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
287 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location, lousy bed”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Real estate- its all about Location, Location, Location. The Old Town Manor has the location, without a doubt, located right off of Duvall Street in the heart of the Key West madness. The exterior of the property is quite pleasant, as is the courtyard located in the back. The staff is pleasant and welcoming. The room we had (room 1) was located in the main building right off of the staircase and the lobby. I was worried that it would be loud, but really never heard a peep from any of the other guests- I was quite surprised. The room itself was nice; I really liked the way they kept the bathroom in the early 1900s style, and everything was clean, bright, and well appointed.

Then there was the bed. You literally could not move and inch without a cavalcade of creaks and cracks and groans and moans. It made for a long night, that's for sure. On top of the noise, the mattress itself was old and tired and uncomfortable, resulting in a lot of tossing and turning and resulting creaking. It was a vicious circle for my wife and I.

I'd rate the Old Town Manor higher were it not for the bed. It was that bad. But I'd probably think about staying again just because of where it is located.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACuriousTongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTownManor, Manager at Old Town Manor, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We thank this guest for posting this honest review about their recent stay in our Veranda room.

We are glad to read the guest enjoyed most everything -- our awesome location, beautiful grounds, quiet room, bright bathroom, and welcoming and pleasant staff. We regret to read about the issue with the bed in the room, and wish we would have heard of this complaint directly.

GREAT NEWS! New mattresses and box springs are being made for the Old Town Manor as we speak, and will be delivered within the next few weeks. We are so excited for this update to our rooms, and trust the improved sleep quality will make our guests even happier.

We invite this guest to contact us to redeem a free night stay once the new mattresses have arrived. Thanks again! Hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    98
    23
    13
    10
See reviews for
117
436
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I would absolutely stay here again. We were in Key West for a wedding and wanted to stay close to the reception venue. This place was perfect, practically on Duval St. yet still quite and relaxing. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location is great and the accommodations were beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stopped in this hotel on our stay in Key West. The atmosphere was calm and very relaxed, which we appreciated after our drive. The room was lovely (Lime Tree - since there was a Lime Tree in the bathroom!). The whole stay was very pleasant, the breakfast was tremendous and it was so lovely to sit in the courtyard. Peaceful and relaxed - a great place to base yourself to explore Key West.

Room Tip: Great breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We have made the old town manor the place we stay in Key West. From check in to check out everything was perfect. Staff is friendly and hard working. East going, lay back and relax atmosphere. We stay in a courtyard room, we also travel with our dog Hunter. (He loves the room too). The location of the old town manor is also perfect, easy walk to Malory square, Duval street, shopping. We bring our bikes and ride to all places on the island, or you can rent a golf cart and get picked up at the manor. If your looking for a beautiful place to stay in key west this is the place. I have already booked for 2015.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband,daughter and son in-law recently stayed here to attend a wedding. We were all so happy with the accomodations. Starting from our check-in to us leaving. Everyone was so very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a great way to start our day. I felt like we were family by the time we left. I would stay here again for sure!!! Thanks for a great few days in Key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tamarind room and I felt like we were in our private tree house. Loved it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhpamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Unfortunately we had not one, but two bad situations here. The good: Breakfast was very nice. Location is perfect. The bad and the ugly: When I made our reservations I was told, "You are in luck. We have had a cancellation and you will be in one of our best rooms..." I even have it in writing. When we checked in we were sent to a much smaller, upstairs room with a very loud air conditioner. Instead of a ground floor room with two queen beds, we were upstairs in a queen bed. The old 'bait and switcheroo'. When we complained we were told, basically, 'tough, but that is the only room we have'... In other words 'like it or lump it'. To add a little insult, the manager sent me a message saying she would adjust the bill... I was pleased until we checked out and the desk clerk (a very nice guy) said: Oh, sorry. The manager made a 'typo' and you are only getting a $45 reduction. No, we will never stay there again. Don't trust them.

Room Tip: Apparently, even if you have it in writing it doesn't mean a thing at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTownManor, Manager at Old Town Manor, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
It is with great disappointment that we read this unsettling review. As any TripAdvisor reader can see, most of our reviews are 5 Star, and it is unusual for our guests to leave our hotel disappointed. We are relieved to read that this guest, Al, and his wife appreciated our location and breakfast. We value all guest feedback – good and bad – and thank him for sharing his experience.

While it rarely happens, due to unforeseen circumstances, we were forced to move these guest's reservation to the Tamarind room from the Courtyard room. No direct email was sent informing Al of this change to his reservation. It was a complete oversight on our part, and we apologize.

There was no other room to move these guests when they arrived unpleasantly surprised. To show our apologies, we discounted the reservation (more than the $45 he states in the review).

When sending an email to the guest to follow up on our conversation, a typing mistake was made. They were paying the high season rate of $275 per night, and our email stated $175. Al requested we honor the rate in the email, and we declined this request.

We have learned valuable lessons from this instance. Thank you again to Al and his wife for their honesty and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Mi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We loved this place and will return again and again. Literally half a block from Duval, OTM has a welcoming informative and helpful staff (Haysham this means you!). Quiet even though it's near the action. I have to say the breakfast area was so beautiful, it was like eating in a tropical rainforest. House kitty and dogs made us feel like we were visiting good friends. Parking was a little inconvenient but that is to be expected in Old Town Key West, we were able to find free parking about three blocks away. We will certainly be booking our next room in Key West here! Thanks to all who run such a wonderful establishment and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corgichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Manor

Property: Old Town Manor
Address: 511 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Half a block from Duval Street and minutes from all your favorite Key West attractions, this hip bed and breakfast in Key West is the perfect accommodation for your Key West vacation. This top rated Key West B&B features modern amenities, daily continental breakfast, lush historic gardens and is pet friendly. Reserve your favorite room or book the entire inn for your Key West family reunion, destination wedding or group gathering. We look forward to welcoming you to Key West! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Manor Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing