We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Duval House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Duval House
Ranked #46 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

My husband and I chose Duval house after tirelessly searching all of the choices in Key West. I cannot say enough about the staff and experience we had there. We called to let them know that we were going to arrived late after a terrible day at the airport and they had everything there waiting for us when we arrived. The room was small, but very cute and was cleaned very well each time we left. The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful and helped us to rent a car to drive the Bahia Honda beach about 45 minutes away. I love this beach by the way and would recommend it highly. We stayed in an upper room facing the garden and barely heard any noise from the street. The location is close to everything you would want, but just far enough away from the really rowdy bars. I can't wait to go back and recommend Duval house highly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank spundar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    158
    42
    34
    30
See reviews for
31
295
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2007

During our first trip to the USA, a driving tour with our 43 year old son as our driver, my husband and myself ( both slightly disabled and is our late 60's) we drove from Orlando via Daytona and Miami to the Keys. Calling at Key West information desk we were recommended this hotel and booked two rooms sight unseen as it was the cheapest available in the centre of town.
On arrival we found it to be in the centre of Duval Street, a house we had previously driven past as we thought it would be well out of our price range. The welcome from the two ladies ( Joanne and Marie I believe they were called) was so welcoming, friendly and so laid back we felt we had known them all of our lives. They obviously love Duval House and delight in the effect it has on guests. The walk along the wooden passageway to view our rooms ended in a total WOW!!! You leave the passageway and enter a quiet, tropical garden paradise. A quiet courtyard garden surrounded by pale washed "gingerbread" villas and filled with lush plants and trees where lizards dart and butterflies look for nectar in the hibiscus blooms. Coming off busy Duval Street this comes as a complete but delightful surprise! Totally unexpected !! Our room, number 24, which was on the ground floor, had two windows on one wall and three sets of French doors on a second which led directly into this garden paradise. Across the garden was the pool and the breakfast room where champagne breakfast was served each morning along with coffee and tea and every sort of bread, pastry and cereal you could wish for, and to the side of us there was a gazebo, a fish pond complete with a trickling fountain and a hammock for two! I kept looking for Adam and Eve - they would have fitted right in!!!
The rooms themselves were airy, complete with air conditioning and ceiling fan, clean and well furnished with rattan seating both inside and on the porch. The whole feeling was of a tropical island hideaway!
We tried without success to extend our 3 night stay to a week but would return and would recomend it unconditionally without hesitation.

  • Liked — Everything and they banned mobile phones too!
  • Disliked — My bed squeaked - not good if I had been a honeymooner!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank June007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in mid-February 2007. The location is excellent. We were able to take pleasant walks to the beginning and the end of Duval Street and surrounding areas (including Hemmingway's house, a number of good restaurants, and quaint neighborhoods). Surprisingly, even though this property is located on a "busy" part of Duval Street, we were never bothered by noise (while that could have been a function of the room that we stayed in, which was on the southern side of the building, I don't know if that was a real factor).

Our second floor room was spectacular! While the shower was very small, it was adequately functional. Our large room was very nicely furnished and the vaulted ceiling gave a extra sense of spaciousness.

The extensive garden area in the back of the property was a wonderful oasis of tropical trees and plants. Morning coffee and light breakfast offerings were available in the building next to the garden area pool—and both were fine. I was also very pleased to make the acquaintance of "Turtle," who I understood to be the resident cat of the garden.

I was very impressed with the staff. For example, when my wife and I arrived by car and tried to find the parking area in the back of the property, we were having some difficulty. I called the hotel and the woman who answered the phone said to wait while she walked to the street in back of the Duval House to help us (which she promptly did). Later, when we asked for recommendations about restaurants, we were given excellent suggestions. Overall, the people at the Duval House were very friendly and exceptionally helpful.

We hope to return to Key West by the end of this year and we will definitely stay at the Duval House again!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Shawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

The best thing about this hotel is the lack of electronics. No phone, no computer, no noise. (My wife likes to work on vacation.) Just a great staff and fun guests. We made alot of new friends, and the next time we go to Key West were staying at the DUVAL HOUSE! Thanks a million.

Todd

  • Tips/Secrets — Michaels resturant/finigans wake pub
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Irishfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

I stayed at The Duval House (on Duval Street of course) and it was a great find. I stayed in a room facing Duval Street. Even at night time it was quiet-although that may be different at a busier time of the year. All rooms seem to be immaculate and tastefully decorated. The beauty of The Duval House is that you can leave the busyiness of Duval Street and walk to the rear of the Duval House to lovely gardens and a pool. It is very quiet and private. A great place to relax. The employees were also very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend it to singles, couples, or families.

Helpful?
6 Thank onthego333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

We have stayed at the Duval House three times now, twice during Thanksgiving and once in January. We always book one of the two rooms (I think they are 21 & 22) at the top of the stairs. They are roomy with nice bathrooms and a pleasant balcony. The pool is set in a nicely landscaped backyard. We have enjoyed the breakfasts, although if you want a full breakfast head to Ricky's Blue Heaven which is just a short walk away. The location is excellent - just a few blocks away from the center of nightlife and well within walking distance of several great restaurants. The pool is large enough to cool off in in the afternoon (after a bike ride around the island). I am sympathetic if people have not enjoyed their stay here because we have always enjoyed returning to to the Duval House. Living in Ft. Lauderdale, we have been to Key West many times and have stayed in many B & Bs, but have now chosen the Duval House as our residence of choice on Key West.

  • Liked — The room.
  • Disliked — Don't have any complaints.
  • Tips/Secrets — There are a variety of rooms, so know in advance what you have booked.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wtmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2006

I've stayed at the Duval several times and in many different rooms. Not sure if #17 was one of them or not. While there are
different degrees of rooms, let's get real. The person who complained about their $99 room at the Duval house in December... get real ! You couldn't get a tent site at Boyds Camground in December for $99.
This place is what Key West is all about, if you want Hilton type rooms, go to the Hilton. But giving this place a bad review isn't right.

  • Liked — Key West Feeling, the location, the pool.
  • Disliked — 10 buck to park
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank onehotgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#60 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Duval Inn
The Duval Inn
#51 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval House

Property: The Duval House
Address: 815 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7405
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duval House is the heart and soul of old Key West. Our bed and breakfast is the perfect destination for an idyllic getaway. The Duval House is a traditional, caribbean-style bed and breakfast centrally located at the midpoint of Duval Street in the heart of Old Town, Key West. We offer seven buildings overlooking our lush, tropical courtyard and sunny, newly-constructed pool. All of our rooms offer private bathrooms, overhead fans, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and complimentary, continental breakfast. Reserve your stay at paradise and let us make your getaway dreams a reality at The Duval House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Duval House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval House Hotel Key West
Duval Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing