We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”
Review of The Duval House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Duval House
Ranked #44 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockland, Maine
2 reviews
“great service”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

In all our travels we have never met up with a front desk person as cheerful and helpful as the Russian born Diane whose personality and accent personified the charm built into the Duval House experience. The room was tastefully decorated and the beds were comfortable especially for someone like me with back issues. The inner courtyard was bordered by a host of privately established room constellations which were strategically separated from the hustle and bustle of Duval street yet only a thirty yard walk to all the action and myriad shops and restaurants. Even better the inner oasis of calm was filled with lush vegetation within which were interspersed tables and chairs in several private nooks and crannies so you could be around people at the courtyard breakfast bar yet also have a special opportunity for private solace if desired. All in all this was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirstin H, Barry S., Guest Relations at The Duval House, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Alan! I look forward to passing along your compliments to the team, Diana included -- it's gratifying to know all our hard work is paying off. Thanks so much for the stars and come back soon!

Barry S.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    167
    46
    34
    31
See reviews for
34
313
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

No one touched the hotel probably for many, many years. Everything looks old and shabby. The air conditioning is very noisy. The staff at the front desk (Russian) is friendly but only committed to mediate a local attraction or restaurant. All together, definitively not worth to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirstin H, Barry S. Guest Relations at The Duval House, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
I'm sorry to learn about your disappointment with our B&B, Michael -- most guests love it's historic charm! In any case, we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. Please trust that we will respond quickly to every request, doing everything we can to meet your needs.

Best regards,

Barry S.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife has always wanted to see the sunset from Key West so at the end of March we stayed 3 nights at the Duval House. She rated the stay higher than I would because at $300 a night I felt the bed should have been more comfortable. The room was small, but very clean with minimal amenities. (TV did not work but we were not there for the TV). Located on Duval St. in the middle of lots of activity, this hotel,(more a B&B), is a short walk to everything a first time visitor might want to see. (Hemmingway House, 5 min walk, very worthwhile and interesting, Truman Little White House , less than 15 min and also very worthwhile. Mallory Square, for the sunset, is also about a 15 min walk.)) Despite location on Duval, room was very quiet, because our room was off the patio and gardens, in the back, probably the nicest aspect of the place. That is a very pleasant area to have breakfast with friends and to relax after walking around all day. (If you are so inclined you may also want to visit the beautiful Basilica of St. Mary Star of the Sea, a beautiful church with even more beautiful gardens and a grotto. There is also a noon Mass said during Lent just off the garden. Beautiful , peaceful place. )

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room in back. You do not want to be directly on Duval St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirstin H, Kirstin, Guest Relations at The Duval House, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
We're happy to hear you and your wife loved exploring the area! Thanks so much for taking a moment to share your wonderful experience with others. It means a lot to us and we hope we'll get the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Take care,

Kirstin, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Every time I go to Key West I am reminded of why Iove the Duval House, and it is my favorite place to stay. The nook and crannies of the property always charm me, and the courtyard is the perfect place to enjoy the morning breakfast an meet the other eclectic, interesting guests from around the world. The rooms are all very comfortable and the beds are particularly comfortable. I love sitting on the porch and people-watching, and often the office staff will join in the conversation, adding to the homey feel when you stay there. I have stayed in many places in Key West, and the Duval House is by far my favorite. Can't wait to plan my next trip back!!

Room Tip: If you like people-watching, rooms 3/4 have access to a great 2nd floor porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillyfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirstin H, Kirstin, Guest Relations at The Duval House, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
We can't wait for you to plan your next trip back, either! Thank you for continuing to support us with a fabulous five-star review -- you've hit on everything we aim for and more. It's gratifying to know that you're always charmed by the property, especially considering how much care we put into it. Until next time, take care.

Best regards,

Kirstin, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Duval is the main street in Key West, where everything is happening.. Situated right in the middle of Duval street, Duval House, is perfectly nestled amidst a lush beautiful garden typical of old Key West, picket fences and wooden houses.. And everything else is just a few steps away, restaurants, the beach, to the pier, clubs, etc.. Our home away from home.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the garden as it should be more quiet than the ones facing the street, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirstin H, Kirstin, Guest Relations at The Duval House, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
We're honored to be your "home away from home," Ronald. That's saying a lot, so thank you! Your compliments about our location are greatly appreciated, and we hope we'll get the chance to welcome you back soon.

Take care,

Kirstin, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Located in the heart of Old Town Key West, the Duval House gives a lovely glimpse into the past. The hardwood floors and high ceilings anchor tastefully decorated rooms, complete with modern amenities (mini-fridge and LCD television). We chose Duval House as our home-away-from-home to celebrate a 40th birthday weekend. Our gracious hosts helped complete the weekend with a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries in our room upon arrival. Their willingness to help make the weekend special truly made a difference!

Our stay coincided with Spring Break for some colleges, and our room was adjacent to Duval Street which can be very busy and loud late into the night. I would recommend requesting a room farther back on the property if you're a light-sleeper. Luckily, we travel with a "noise machine", which helped tremendously. Because Duval House is not a new structure, there is some evidence of age. The wood floors squeak and window A/C units cool the rooms since there is no central heating/air conditioning. This was a PLUS for us! We loved the historic feel! It's like taking a step back in time, almost expecting to turn a corner and run into faces from the past.

The lush green garden area is a lovely surprise, just steps from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. Although we didn't take advantage of the pool, it looked clean and well-maintained. The gazebo area got a fresh coat of paint while we were there, too. The owners and staff seem to really love the property, and treated the guests like family. This was not our first trip to KW--in the past we stayed in more traditional hotels. Not anymore. Whenever we return to Key West in the future, I hope to stay at Duval House again and again! Thank you for such a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Rooms farther back from Duval Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a premiere place to stay and we always try to reserve there. The accommodations are as advertised and they not only address any problems instantly they ask how can they improve. Members of the staff are constantly working to keep these historic buildings in excellent condition. During our stay I had a question and the manager very graciously stopped what she was doing to answer. Last fall the Duval house was booked when we wanted to visit so we reserved a place at Albury Court. A disastrous decision, the accommodations are not as claimed and Key West Historic Inns has no interest in correcting the multiple problems. In the future we will adjust our travel plans to stay at Duval House.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 77 in Key West
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#41 of 77 in Key West
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#11 of 77 in Key West
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#55 of 77 in Key West
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval House

Property: The Duval House
Address: 815 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7405
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duval House is the heart and soul of old Key West. Our bed and breakfast is the perfect destination for an idyllic getaway. The Duval House is a traditional, caribbean-style bed and breakfast centrally located at the midpoint of Duval Street in the heart of Old Town, Key West. We offer seven buildings overlooking our lush, tropical courtyard and sunny, newly-constructed pool. All of our rooms offer private bathrooms, overhead fans, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and complimentary, continental breakfast. Reserve your stay at paradise and let us make your getaway dreams a reality at The Duval House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Duval House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval House Hotel Key West
Duval Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing