We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duval House excellent”
Review of The Duval House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Duval House
Ranked #45 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Duval House excellent”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Duval House the first week of April 2013 and were very pleased with our stay. The rooms and facilities are clean and well maintained. Property is convenient to all attractions and places of interest in “old town”. We plan to stay at Duval House again.

Room Tip: We stayed in #8 with two queen beds and mini-fridge on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    170
    46
    35
    31
See reviews for
34
317
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a small, quaint B and B. Their gardens are very lush and surround a courtyard. There is pool, but it is small, as all Key West B and B pools are. Breakfast is just ok. There is no hot food unless you count frozen waffles in a toaster. But there is coffee, juice, cereal, hard boiled eggs. Not all the fruit is fresh. They don't have any happy hour or social hour, so there isn't a good way to connect with other people as I have found at other B and B's in Key West. It is a little less than a mile walk to Mallory Square; there are places closer, but then you will pay a little more. I have stayed here twice and would go back a third time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the courtyard area; it is prettier and is off the main road, Duval Street. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lehtorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the quieter location in the heart of Key West! The hotel is older, but very quiet & peaceful, but yet still in the middle of everything. The back courtyard is beautifully planted with lush flowers and native trees. Perfect place to meditate! or swim in the pool. Staff was friendly! Loved it!

Sherry, Florida

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A step into calm and tranquility from the chaos of Duval St. is what we found upon entering Duval House. The gardens are lovely; a tropical oasis with lounge chairs, tables, and even a hammock! for napping, reading, or just daydreaming. The pool area (we didn't use it) looked clean, with plenty of shade for those who had enough sun.
Our cabana breezway room was small, but clean and comfortable...what we expected at a B&B. The bathroom was large and totally adequate. Although we had to wait for the lone staff member to return to the front desk on several occasions (check-in), once there, we had her undivided attention. When we had a request, it was handled immediately and with a smile.
Breakfast was a "continental" breakfast...exactly what we expected. Grab a bite and get on with the day.
If you want to stay in a central location, at a place where you can "get-away", give the Duval House a try.

Room Tip: Duval street is noisy; ask for a room not fronting Duval. Bookong on line might get you a discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottaGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Right on Duval street, but very quiet location. You can't beat it. Very nice layout and pool was clean with plenty of seats for the guests. Our room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet at night. We slept well the whole time we were there.

Main issue was the breakfast. They offer a continental breakfast and I'm not even sure I would call it that. We were disappointed since we specifically sought out a bed and "breakfast" and had to pay for breakfast elsewhere since we were left hungry each day. I don't mind a cold breakfast, but they had very little to offer and the stuff was rude. It was a buffett with a small fruit basket consisting of apples, bananas and 2 rotten strawberries. I asked if they had anymore fruit and she pulled 6 grapes from a plastic bag that were mushy. The milk was left sitting out and it was warm (gross) they only had 2 yogurts left, they were out of waffle mix. We were left with a few hard boiled eggs some picked over mini muffins and bagels. None of which were very good. We also had to scrape our plate at the end and put out dishes in this nasty bucket like we were at camp. For the price we payed to stay here I expected much more.

The cleaning staff also seemed to hate their job and they only made the beds for our entire stay and wouldnt even look us in the eye. They never emptied the trash, cleaned the bathroom or wiped anything down. Luckily we were only there for a few nights.

It's a shame because this place has the potential to be so nice if they were just put a little effort in. They should hire the french place across the street to serve their breakfast, that was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiqt323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I think you will enjoy perfectly located, friendly staffed bed and breakfast. I found it clean, quiet and very comfortable!
The Duval House is located in the middle of Duval street, so your right in the thick of all the fun. Hope you enjoy your as much as we did :-)

Mark,
Michigan

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cybermax93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This small guest house is perfectly located right in the middle of the bustling Duval Street. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The place is quote old-fashioned, but that's part of its charm.
My only criticism was breakfast. Rather limited in choice and slightly cramped if the weather is inclement (most people would sit outside in the courtyard on a nice day).

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the street, which can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonP365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#53 of 77 in Key West
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#60 of 77 in Key West
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Duval Inn
The Duval Inn
#51 of 77 in Key West
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#55 of 77 in Key West
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duval House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval House

Property: The Duval House
Address: 815 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7405
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duval House is the heart and soul of old Key West. Our bed and breakfast is the perfect destination for an idyllic getaway. The Duval House is a traditional, caribbean-style bed and breakfast centrally located at the midpoint of Duval Street in the heart of Old Town, Key West. We offer seven buildings overlooking our lush, tropical courtyard and sunny, newly-constructed pool. All of our rooms offer private bathrooms, overhead fans, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and complimentary, continental breakfast. Reserve your stay at paradise and let us make your getaway dreams a reality at The Duval House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Duval House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval House Hotel Key West
Duval Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing