We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price ...”
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Motel
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice clean older motel close to the Southermost Point. Everything was good and very clean. They have a great pool in the middle of the property... The only exception would be the age of the mattresses. They are probably due for replacement and I would imagine that the owner (Best Western) will get that done .... Marcus and Natilie were super nice and very helpful .... Yes, we'll be back....

Room Tip: Check the mattress before you sign the line ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackSofCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We appreciate your time in writing this review. Thank you. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked our trip online and was very surprised how nice the room was when we arrived. Two queen beds, small frig. , coffee pot, and mircowave. Room looked like it had new carpet and paint. Pool was very nice, staff very helpful. We where in walking distance ot Duval Street and coast line. I highly recommend staying at the Blue Marlin, cost was not bad for what you got. Just note parking is very expensive, so we found that walking and bike riding was worth it, since we did not have to pay for parking at the hotel. Also they have these cute electric cars or mopads you can rent , but you still have to pay for parking (.25 cents meters for 10 minutes or parking lots $10 to $15 for short periods of time) But do highly recommand Key West if you have not every been... very laid back town.

Room Tip: Great place to stay in Key West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I would not even consider this a motel, it is a hotel. Great stay-- the rooms are nice and big and the bathroom is huge. The staff is very nice and friendly. I would stay here again with out a doubt. The prices are reasonable and the pool is a nice place to relax! Thumbs up! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed there in August. The hotel is situated in a very convenient spot, within a short distance of the 'Southernmost' marker and a pleasant walk up Duvall Street to Mallory Square. The staff were very friendly and approachable. Car parking is plentiful and the room was a good size, clean & comfortable. Breakfast is a bit of a hit and miss affair. Avoid prime times (8.30, 9.00 etc) which most people aim for and there will be no queue. Otherwise you will be in a line waiting for your toast to pop! I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed once at Blue Marlin Motel and really liked it.
Its a typical Motel with an inner court with parking place and pool in the middle.

Rooms very large and beds comfortable. Seems like the hotel has been recently refurbished with some new colours.

There is a small reception area with free coffee in the morning. Staff was always friendly and helpful.
It was a 15 minutes walk to the center of everything. So it's not in the Middle of Duval, but close enough to walk there and far away to have a good sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViennaMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Your positive comments keep us going! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We staying here always. Nice place and clean. Close to everything. Nice pool. Staff is very friendly. We deffenetly coming back. Front desk is open 24/7. ...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I attended the 551 Teen Club Reunion in KW and stayed 3 nights at the Blue Marlin and it was great!!! The staff and hospitality extended to me was superior!!! They have a nice continental breakfast in the mornings and a great pool! Just a nice relaxing atmosphere and convenient.
I will definite choose this motel when I return to Key West! Thank you. Frances Marquez Wester
KWHS 1966

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
0.0 mi away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#23 of 51 in Key West
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Speakeasy Inn
Speakeasy Inn
#8 of 77 in Key West
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexander Palms Court
Alexander Palms Court
#35 of 77 in Key West
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Southernmost Sanctuary
#15 of 22 in Key West
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Address: 1320 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3114
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $138 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing