We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not Bad, Not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Key West Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Miami
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not Bad, Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel has many things to recommend it - a nice pool area, a cool concierge, lovely water views, generally good prices. The room we stayed in was kept very clean and had a nice view of the water over the boardwalk. There are some downsides to the hotel:

1.) The rooms are noisy. We were in building C and we could hear our neighbors on both sides having very normal conversations. You can hear every conversation in the hallway. The refrigerator made a high pitched noise when the condenser came on. None of this is enough to stay don't stay here, but it is more of a high end motel experience than a Courtyard.

2.) The internet was painfully. I know, you're in paradise, why are you on the computer anyway? Well, I also need to make money and that's how I stay in touch with my business. The internet wired and wireless in Building C was too slow. It wasn't a deal killer - the free internet in the lobby was much more robust and worked on the porch overlooking the beach.

3.) The location. This was not an issue for us. We knew where it is and that was fine. It is about 1.5 to 2 miles from most of the Old Town attractions. And the road is under construction. Still and all, we brought our bikes and used them and it's great that the hotel has a bike rack and rental bikes can be arranged. The shuttle was fine, prompt, useful and friendly for the one night we used it. But if you want to be in the heart of things or in a charming area, well, you're not.

Overall, I would stay there again. I will bring earplugs and be prepared to work in the lobby, but the rest of the experience, the friendly and useful staff, the lovely pool and grounds, the housekeepers doing special ops on dirt, balance the negatives out. Also, the iguanas scare me and I like them at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your experience with us! We have reported the internet issues and hope to have them fixed soon.

We appreciate your business and review and hope to see you again soon! Glad you liked our property!

Marriott Courtyard Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    152
    88
    41
    31
See reviews for
157
183
15
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This Marriott is pretty average but was a value, at least by Key West standards. It did not start good. While checking in I started to ask for a room by the pool as I had read those rooms were nice. The woman checking us in cut me off without listening to my question to say that she did not have a room we booked overlooking the water which is not the question I asked. I repeated the question and she assured me that the our room was indeed poolside. I was disappointed when we got to our room and all it overlooked was some vending machines. Hey, but at least she was rude throughout the check in process. Swing and a miss. After that the stay got better. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and we were not there much anyway. The highlight was talking to the concierge. A more layed back guy you will not meet, we chatted for about 30 minutes and the eateries he directed us to were spot on!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave a review and share your experience with us. We apologize about the poolside room.. They may have all been reserved already. Happy you enjoyed your vacation and liked our concierge!! Thanks for the stay we hope to see you again soon!!

Marriott Courtyard Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel Monday thru Thursday in late June. Staff was great, we arrived early 11:30 am the Taxi dropped my wife and elderly mother off and I continued on to the airport to rent a car. By accident I had my wife's credit card with me. She could not check-in without a card. When I got back to the hotel with the car my wife was in the room !!! They let her check in with no
ID or credit card. Location is great, not walking distance to downtown but they have a shuttle that leaves every 30min which is great because parking is hard to find and the city lots cost $16.00. We stayed in the 2 room suite which was very large and had a balcony and view of the bay. They have a large pool with nice tropical plants and tiki bar.

Room Tip: Stay in the New Main Building, the rest of the rooms are remodeled from the old Howard Johnsons. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dond0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We appreciate your business and stay with us! Hope to see you again soon.

Marriott Courtyard Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I've stayed at many Marriotts throughout the world and am usually impressed. This Marriott was simply okay. Our room was fine and it was on the second floor so we had a vaulted ceiling. The air conditioning worked well and the ceiling fan helped. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. However, the first issue was the location. If you are looking to be in the heart of things, this ll that there are iguanas all over the pool area. We counted six at one time during our stay. They poop all over the pool area. I even saw something floating in the pool and later realized that it was poop. I got out of the pool quickly after that. Also, I'm pretty sure that people who don't stay at the hotel drive over to use the pool which crowds it fit the other guests. The hotel is on the water but really there is just a deck overlooking shallow water ( a marsh of some kind). Overall, it was fine in that it was clean and comfortable, but if I ever go back to the keys, I would stay somewhere closer to duval street.

Room Tip: Stay in a second floor room if you can but be warned that there were no elevators that I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarissaMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for your review, you're right we are a one-of-a-kind property right on the Bay with a Private Bay Beach, perfect for relaxation - not so much for swimming. Our location is on the north-end of the island - however our shuttle is a great transportation method for going downtown. Most of our guests don't want to be right in the heart of Key West. We appreciate your review and business!

Marriott Courtyard Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location was perfect. Near restaurants, shopping and a short drive from Duval st. The rooms were nice-- 2 sinks in the bath area made it family friendly. Internet was free but I kept loosing the signal & had to keep inputting the pass code and agreeing to terms (repeatedly). The pool area was very nice but getting pool towels was a pain. You had to go into the lobby & request towels at the front desk (so if other guests were checking in or out you had to stand in line). They gave you a postage stamp size "return ticket" which had to be turned in @ the pool bar b4 dumping your wet towels in the pool side hamper (again, if the bartender was busy, you had to wait). If you loose that tiny little return ticket, you will be charged for each pool towel you borrowed. Very cumbersome system for simple pool towels.

Room Tip: No elevators, so if you don't want to haul your luggage up the stairs, request the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyGirlWhoCruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you choosing our property as your hotel of choice. We've had an issue with people loving our pool towels so much they like to take them home, so as you can see we've tried to create a better system. We take your review to heart and will discuss potential other ways to track our pool towel use. Thanks again for your business and hope to see you again soon!

Marriott Courtyard Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Feb 2014--Room next to busy road -- did not like it but desk was little help in a change. Water view is terrible - Best is the coffee shop personel in the morning. Noise laden rooms with poor insulation between rooms.

Concrete steps to second floor no elevator-no help. Stay away from this overpriced mess.

Room Tip: If you are dumb enough to go ask for room in front facing water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalsPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We appreciate your review of our property, sorry you had such a miserable time. We've never heard that the water view was horrible, most of our customers love that view! Happy we were able to assist in getting you away from the noisy road though. Road construction will soon be over, we hope you will visit again once it is!

Marriott Courtyard Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stay at many Marriot brand hotels, including Courtyard but I have to say I was disappointed in this one. Check in was not swift, as the personnel checking us in was in training (which I understand) but someone really should have been assisting her. The shuttle was somewhat convenient depending on where you wanted to go and the drivers were pleasant. I was not impressed with the property at all and feel the price and points value are just way too high for the location and the size and quality of the rooms. The bathroom was extremely small with no counter space. The room was small as well. The parking lot would flood making it extremely difficult to walk to the lobby. The breakfast was just downright poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaLovesMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We're not sure exactly what you were expecting when coming here, however our prices are in line with other hotels in the area for this time of year. Perhaps you will visit us again during August or September - when rates are a little lower. The breakfast bistro is not a full kitchen - sandwiches and coffee, but hey better than continental right? :)

We hope you will give us another stay during our less busy months! Thanks again for staying with us!

Marriott Courtyard Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
1.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#36 of 48 in Key West
3.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Key West Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Key West Waterfront

Property: Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Address: 3031 N Roosevelt Blvd # 41, Key West, FL 33040-4015
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Key West Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Key West hotel located on the Gulf of Mexico in the "New Town" section of Key West. Located within a 10 minute drive of any attraction on the island. We feature spacious guest rooms, including suites with a variety of room configurations including in-room Jacuzzis. Every room has free hi-speed internet access, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, coffee maker, cable TV and refrigerators. A Tiki Bar is located adjacent to our large outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi or feel free to tan on our private sunbathing beach located behind our hotel. Join us in our Bistro featuring Starbucks and a wide range of breakfast items. Our Complimentary downtown shuttle service will drop you off and pick you up in the historic seaport; walking distance from Duval Street. Be sure to talk our our onsite concierge agent who can assist you with the many activities and history enriched attractions the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Key West Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Key West Waterfront Hotel Key West
Key West Marriott
Key West Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing