We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff are all so warm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The staff are all so warm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is just outside of the downtown, but has a free shuttle that takes you to the downtown every 30 mins. Everyone was warm and friendly. They gave great suggestions for food and attractions. Our large group of 12 felt entirely at home with the one room suites. You could sit on the deck and watch the horseshoe crabs swimming or lounge poolside.

The rooms smelled pretty humid and musty, and don't expect for the waterfront part to be beachfront, it's just a little sandy shore where you can't swim. Overall this hotel has a lot more pros than cons.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirenaenelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope you come back for a visit real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    167
    96
    47
    34
See reviews for
183
202
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went down with a few friends in early August and had a great time. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel has a shuttle that takes you down to the corner of Elizabeth and Green. The shuttle is free and runs every 30 minutes from each location. The driver is very friendly and was able to give some good recommendations and had a few coupons to hand out. The hotel room itself was nice and clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dabossball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in here on our way in key west thinking being a Marriot they would be descent ' well boy was i wrong ' the room was very very small ' there was blood stains on curtains and It smelt really bad ' i was scared to sit in chair in room because it was so dirty ' there was ants in stand up shower and don't be mislead by it saying waterfront ' thinking it will be nice and not to mention it was 220 a night to sleep in a dump room! I won't my money back for sure and Marriot should be ashamed to have there rooms be so dirty!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Chad,

Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. Did you notify anyone of the situation when you were here?

We are currently under renovations.. so the good news is all of the old furniture and curtains are being replaced! We would love to invite you back to our hotel after the renovations and will give you a 15% discount on your stay. If you are interested please email anne.perina@marriott.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fordpower2424
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

The thing that stuck out about this hotel above everything was the wonderfully helpful front desk staff, they went way out of there way and above and beyond to assist me on several different occasions. The rooms were extremely clean and well appointed. The pool area nice, and had a great little tiki bar. The shuttle service to Duval area was prompt and very handy. Great experience at a nice Key West hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fordpower2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed two nights/days. Great concierge for info and getting tours and boat trips arraigned. Super shuttle all day long and to 10 PM, returning from the downtown.

Front desk was responsive to any need. Good rooms, wifi.

sad there was not a free breakfast, though

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us! We are happy to hear you had a good time! We do offer Free Breakfast Sandwiches with a YELP Check-in and Free Breakfast with an upgrade. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to check in and the lady at the front desk was very rude from the start, my wife booked a tour the day before and provided them a credit card number. She asked the front desk assoc .Laura where to go for the tour and what time it starts, she said i have no idea what you are talking about. Then i repeated to her explaining about another front desk member the day before making this reservation for us and she responded , well i first need to check you in , in a very unfriendly tune , she kept telling my wife who is from Russian origin , i do not understand you!!! Yes my wife has an accent but she speaks English fluently?? Laura from New York , that was on her name tag, does not belong in customer service with Marriott , she basically told me if i do not shut up and let her finish checking me in then shell cancel my reservation, sure this got me upset and i told her she has no right whatsoever to talk to me or my wife in this manner , i asked for her manager or the hotel manger and she said there is no manager on duty, to make a long story short she did cancel the reservation, called security to escort us out of the property, i waited for 45 minutes in the car with my wife and 3 young daughters for security while i was on the phone with the Marriott Platinum desk , who booked me at the Marriott Beachside which was such a pleasant hotel a few blocks away where the front desk staff made us feel welcome and where so friendly, we truly enjoyed our stay there. I called Marriott and opened a complaint and was told i should hear from the manager of the property in the next few days. I will pursue this till i get a satisfactory resolution .
I rated the property 1 star , although we never had a chance to experience the hotel past Laura , but i think having no manager on duty is not the right thing to do for any hotel, plus the humiliation and frustration my family went through .
We had 8 stays at different Marriott s in Dallas , Miami ans Key West and we enjoyed our stay at all of them , this incident above was the first and hopefully last i experienced at a Marriott .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Courtyard1, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I would first want to apologize for the experience you received from the front desk. That is not a practice we want to hear about from our staff and my promise to you is that we will work hard to keep it an isolated incident going forward. I tried to reach out to you by leaving a voicemail message in your room at the Marriott Resort on the day of the occurrence. I would like to reiterate that your patronage of Marriott and our family of hotels is very important to us. Customer satisfaction is most important to us, and we sincerely regret your recent experience with our property. Our company has strict standards for top quality. It is through feedback, both positive and otherwise, from guests like you that we continue to improve our service and product. Thank you again for providing us with this information. I hope that in the future, as in the past you will choose us for your lodging needs, giving us the opportunity to reaffirm your opinion of our hotel. Please feel free to contact the Courtyard Marriott Management team if you would like to discuss this issue further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was the worst, not Marriott standards, not even close. When checking in the staff was rude, abrupt, and not the least bit friendly. This same staff person sold us coffee later on. I dont expect any employee of any establishment to call me "sistah" , "yo dog" me, or talk to me in ghetto'ese. You work in a professional environment, and should act like it while treating the customers with respect. I was appalled at the rude manner this employee was allowed to act with. We distinctly steered clear of her throughout our stay, as her unpleasant attitude was sincerely too much. The cafe staff in the morning was less that desirable. The whole attitude of this staff was "I don't want to be here".

As for the room, so very old and musty. Bugs galore. Understanding, as I was told "this is the tropics", there were cockroaches, ants, and termites. Unacceptable. Disgusting. Bathrooms are old. The entire room had the "don't touch anything" atmosphere. The room deoderizer was reminiscent of a brothel, cheap, heavy smell sprayed to cover over the musty, mold smell of the room. very toxic and over powering. Coffee maker was dirty, cups and glasses we wouldn't touch. If we had found other accomodations that night, we would not have stayed. but when you fly in from out of town, hotels are sold out, you don't have much choice. except for the car. That was considered. If not for the road construction, we would have.

This hotel has wonderful possibilities but a huge makeover is required. lovely beach and pool, complete with charming wildlife. New buildings and more importantly new staff, including the manager of the front desk. If you don't like your job, don't want to work, I would suggest leaving. The image portrayed to your guests is important. We are paying to stay with. Marriott should look into the unacceptable level of service and quality at this hotel.

We moved hotels, paying a little more, but it was worth it. Paying so much for the substandard rooms, and rude staff was an awful beginning to our stay.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jean n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardMgmtKW, Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. The good news is... Our hotel is about to go under major renovations which will replace most of the furniture and carpeting. We hope you will give us another stay in the future, so much so that we'd like to offer you a 15% discount on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#40 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Key West Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Key West Waterfront

Property: Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Address: 3031 N Roosevelt Blvd # 41, Key West, FL 33040-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Key West Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Key West hotel located on the Gulf of Mexico in the "New Town" section of Key West. Located within a 10 minute drive of any attraction on the island. We feature spacious guest rooms, including suites with a variety of room configurations including in-room Jacuzzis. Every room has free hi-speed internet access, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, coffee maker, cable TV and refrigerators. A Tiki Bar is located adjacent to our large outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi or feel free to tan on our private sunbathing beach located behind our hotel. Join us in our Bistro featuring Starbucks and a wide range of breakfast items. Our Complimentary downtown shuttle service will drop you off and pick you up in the historic seaport; walking distance from Duval Street. Be sure to talk our our onsite concierge agent who can assist you with the many activities and history enriched attractions the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Key West Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Key West Waterfront Hotel Key West
Key West Marriott
Key West Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing