We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Sometimes it's difficult to find something reasonable in Key West downtown, near Duval Street. A good option is this Marriott Courtyard, because they offer a free shuttle service to downtown every half hour, which is most convenient. The hotel itself is calm, with nice rooms, shady garden with pool and jaccuzzi, friendly staff, full breakfast and Starbucks coffee ;-)
You can choose between bigger rooms or smaller ones at the waterfront; both are nice. Get informed when you book!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orsocchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 595 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

My family and I did a weekend in Key West, we had stayed here once before and enjoyed our stay. The hotel has been redone and looks great, nothing like some of the pictures that you online. I was remembered as a past guest and a special thanks to Jane with the front desk. Even at check out the staff remembered my name. The room was nice with a fridge and microwave, view of the pool with a small patio. The shuttle driver even remembered us and was very nice as well. I will be staying here every-time I visit Key West. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluesTraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We ALWAYS stay at Marriott's as we are vacation club owners. This Marriott is very deceiving. The lobby was nicely remodeled and a Starbucks too; the room however, is a story within itself.
Let me start by saying the front desk was very helpful, we were given a complimentary upgrade and the room was much bigger then we expected.
The problem was the room had a very funny smell and was outdated, looked like an early 80's hotel. When we walked into our upgrade the first thing we notice is a jacuzzi tub, no curtain, no shutters, or no door, if you wanted to access the tub you would have to close off the other room.
We received a call regarding our room, at that time I asked for more towels, they were never brought up. After coming back from downtown I hoped that they would have been there, at that time I called the front desk and they immediately brought them up.
One more thing it's a low flow toilet shall I say more?
In short if you're looking for a Marriott property and have Marriott expectations this is not the place to stay.

Room Tip: Looks may be deceiving, read reviews! The pictures they are showing is not what you expect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dtella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is our second stay at the Courtyard in Key West, but our first time in a Family Suite. I had reserved a standard two queen room and called to request a Family suite, thank you Jane for making this happen. This particular hotel is a true Courtyard, with a pool, hot tub, and bar within its well landscaped and meticuliously groomed courtyard. Plenty of lounge chairs and a great way to finish off the day after returning from the beach. The pool area is like an oasis of calm and quiet, perfect for relaxation. The room itself featured a whirlpool tub and living room and another room with two queen beds and a bathroom. Both rooms had sliding doors and a balcony overlooking the pool, great for morning coffee. The housekeeping was spotless and we had no issues during our stay. We had a car, so we didn't use the free shuttle to the old town area, but this is a nice amenity in case you want to take advantage of some of the happy hours before the sun sets at Mallory Square. Overall, a great vacation and plenty of family memories helped along by our stay at the Courtyard.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms overlooking the pool were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at this property when it was newer.lobby area has been updated but rooms have not.good parking.Just be aware there is major road construction in front of the building. We had a car to get away and they have a shuttle to Duval area every 30 mins.Stayed at the Marriott Beachside for the first part of this trip but had to move because of no vacancy.Beachside is much nicer property but have to say the staff were well trained and curteous at both properties.Will probably not stay there again till updated.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Courtyard1, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize you had a negative experience at our hotel. I would like to assure you that we are taking major steps in improving our hotel and most importantly improving the overall experience for all our guests. We are making many significant changes during our upcoming room renovation, which includes new carpet in all our rooms. We hope that you will decide to give Courtyard Key West Waterfront another try and check out all the new changes next time you are in the Key West area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I just came back from one night in this hotel. Just for background, I am a Marriot Gold Elite (50 nights/yr) member so I know my Marriotts. We drove down to Key West while on vacation in Miami and I figured I could count on a Courtyard. I was wrong.

First the positives:

1. Jessica at the front desk was great!
2. Free shuttle to downtown every 30 min
3. Refurbished lobby area
4. I hear that the guest rooms are being renovated in the Fall

Now the negatives:

1. It appears to be hotel policy to use a very potent smelling room deodorizer every day. In fact, I saw one of the housekeepers spraying it on the carpet when I walked by an open door. This strong chemical "fragrance" has been mentioned on a number of these TA posts. If I would have read them before I would have never stayed here. Both my wife and I are sensitive to fragrances. The staff even offered to use an ozone generator while we were out visiting the town. It did NOTHING to diminsh the smell. After a restless night, we were both up at 4:30 AM so decided to just get out of there. I think I am going to start a grassroots campaign to get all hotels to use fragrance neutral cleaning products. I will call it STOP THE SPRAY! Fellow TA'ers, spread the word

2. The airconditioning is an old wall mounted type. It came on with a sound akin to a jet engine and blew directly on the bed. I had to use a pillow up against my head to block the noise and the cold airflow which was hitting right on me

I am sorry to write a negative about a member of my favorite hotel chain but this place needs a renovation badly. Maybe when they rip up the old sprayed carpets they will change their ways and stop the spraying

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhillyPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Courtyard1, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

We are happy that your overall experience was positive and encourage you to return for a chance to improve on your impression. When you make a reservation in one of our hotels, ask for a hyper allergic room; whether it is feather free or fragrance free we will be happy to prepare the room as per your request and needs. We are making many significant changes at our property during our upcoming room renovation and your feedback is appreciated and will be considered when making future improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the first time I went for a hotel that wasn't in the upper half of the tripadvisor ratings. My wife, two sons (not kids - 18 and 23) were looking for a place with a little more room that just two separate hotel rooms. We stayed in the two bedroom 'Penthouse Suite'. It certainly was very large - both rooms and the living room were more than we expected. The second bedroom even had two queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The balcony is much larger than described on the Courtyard site - I believe it said 10 sq feet, but it easily fit two chairs and small table - not huge, but bigger than expected. The main area on the lobby level are great. The rooms were definitely older and a bit worn and outdated. Not terrible, but certainly not brand new. I rarely heard anyone else which was nice. The room also had a kitchen - large mini fridge (oxmoron!) and a microwave. The countertops in the kitchen area were in most need of updating, but were clean and in good condition. A real positive were the ladies that served breakfast - ate there every day. They were genuinely friendly and really cared - made the simple act of getting breakfast fun! And the food was very, very good. Just a note- breakfast is NOT included in your room, but is very reasonable. The pool area is great - can't imagine there's much better in KW. "Noodles" who was working the "Tipsy Pelican" (Tiki Bar) was great too. Made it fun. There's been lots of talk on here about the shuttle bus - yep, easy to get on and good drop-off location. Coming back one night (maybe 8:00), the shuttle bus was loaded beyond capacity - a father and son sharing the front (single seat) of the van, and the daughter having to sit on her mother's lap- these weren't little kids - I'd guess early to mid-teens. It would have been much safer if they just waited until the next pick-up. My wife did bring this to the attention of the front desk - no clue if anything was done about it or not.
So, overall, with us wanting more room, it was a good place to stay. I would have probably gone with an 'above average' if not for the shuttle bus safety.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myred86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Courtyard1, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Key West Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. I assure you that the problem you mentioned with overloading the shuttle have been addressed accordingly. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue. The shuttle runs every half an hour allowing for a more frequent service than any other area hotel. I am so happy to read that the room was spacious and up to your expectations and that the staff treated you as a Marriott employee should in a fun yet proffesional environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Key West Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Key West Waterfront

Address: 3031 N Roosevelt Blvd # 41, Key West, FL 33040-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $230 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Key West Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Key West hotel located on the Gulf of Mexico in the "New Town" section of Key West. Located within a 10 minute drive of any attraction on the island. We feature spacious guest rooms, including suites with a variety of room configurations including in-room Jacuzzis. Every room has free hi-speed internet access, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, coffee maker, cable TV and refrigerators. A Tiki Bar is located adjacent to our large outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi or feel free to tan on our private sunbathing beach located behind our hotel. Join us in our Bistro featuring Starbucks and a wide range of breakfast items. Our Complimentary downtown shuttle service will drop you off and pick you up in the historic seaport; walking distance from Duval Street. Be sure to talk our our onsite concierge agent who can assist you with the many activities and history enriched attractions the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Key West Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Key West Waterfront Hotel Key West
Key West Marriott
Key West Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing