We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset, Stargazer, and Full Moon Cruises”

Western Union Schooner
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Schooner Western Union is the official flagship of Key West and the State of Florida. She's one of the oldest working wooden schooners in the United States and on the National Register of Historic Places.Aboard the Schooner Western Union Maritime Museum, you'll be transported to another era as you experience a one-of-a-kind journey through the glory days of this magnificent ship.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunset, Stargazer, and Full Moon Cruises”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Have been on all of these cruises...the only reason I went to KW last month was to be on the Full Moon sail. Highly recommend the night cruises. The breeze is wonderful, it is peaceful, and now my favorite thing to do when I visit. You cannot go wrong...book it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Agent348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    14
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunset cruise is a must do!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When visiting Key West a Sunset Cruise should be required! The Schooner Western Union was perfect for us......a picturesque boat with a unique history and a great crew, cold beer and free conch chowder. The captain does tell some great stories as well as some interesting stuff about Key West and the boat. The sunset was amazing and very peaceful with nothing but the sound of the wind and the waves! Make sure you help the crew hoist the sails!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ddrred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Times”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a great sunset cruise. The staff is very friendly and the Captain told some great stories. Once we were under sail, it was amazing how quiet it was since there were no engines running. The sunset was beautiful!! Good value and good times.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't go wrong.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This, along with our cruise on the Jolly Rover ll, were my two favorite things in Key West. You can't go wrong with a sunset cruise. This is not a party boat, thank goodness.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTraveler212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Captain Tim and his crew run a great and friendly sunset cruise. I took my wife on a post-deployment vacation and we took a ride on the Western Union for my second time in about 2-1/2 years. I absolutely recommend this sunset cruise. Many other attractions around Key West (i.e. Wave Runner tours...cough) are not this friendly and can leave you feeling like you are just another ticket for the day on your happy-go-lucky vacation. You are not stacked on the boat without any room to breathe like some of the other catamarans (at least that is what I perceived). As many drinks as you wish are included with your ticket. Wine, champagne, beer and conch chowder is included. A check in at 6:30PM, for a 7-9PM sail is what we did. I was also told that they offer night sails for star gazing two nights out of the week, but I forget the other night besides Saturday. I would like to do this next time. Check these guys out and you won't be disappointed. On a side note, they involve you in setting up the sail if you wish, and they are also very helpful if you are trying to snap some good photos.
THANK YOU TIM and CREW!

Respectfully,

Captain Hopkins USMC

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Union Schooner also viewed

 

Been to Western Union Schooner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing