We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge disappointment in manners”

The Studios of Key West
Ranked #76 of 168 things to do in Key West
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Studios of Key West is a non-profit center that offers concerts, exhibitions, free lectures and workshops.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment in manners”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

With all these wonderful reviews and being great supporters and participants in the arts, we were hugely disappointed in our interaction with an artist setting up a show in this venue. After a pleasant walk from our hotel to specifically see this highly rated KW attraction, we found the front door locked with a paper sign referring pick ups to the back door. Although we were not picking anything up but it being the middle of a Saturday, we thought we could get some information on visiting hours. We went to the back door and heard some voices setting up what seemed to be an art show. What ensued was a voice encounter that was one of the rudest we have had. "What do you want?" "Just wanted to find out your visiting hours?" Go to the front door!" There is no sign there and it is locked." "Then it's closed! Don't try sneaking your way in!"
What is difficult to understand is how an artist can expect to draw supporters/patrons/clients to see their work with such an uninviting, poor attitude . What has happened to simple manners, a willingness to help a stranger looking for directions to view yours and other artists' work, to potentially purchase your work, to spread the word of how wonderful your work is....it seems illogical to cut off these possibilities with a few poor manners. What a loss for us and for them! I hope you have better luck with your visit. Maybe look for the hours of operation before you go.

Visited January 2014
4 Thank Colette32863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keys123, Deputy Director at The Studios of Key West, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Visitor,

I want to offer a very sincere apology for the treatment you received when trying to visit us. To my knowledge, have never had an incident like this before.

The gallery was closed that day, due to the fact that a camera crew from PBS was filming an interview with an artist inside. That should have been more clearly posted, and in fact, the back door, which should have been locked, was mistakenly left unlocked.

The person who shouted out to you was an artist who is associated with The Studios, but who is not a staff member or volunteer of The Studios (and who does not represent TSKW).

Again, I do apologize. We love our visitors, and I hope if you ever are in Key West again, you'll give us another chance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting venue for local artists, beyond the palms and cottages”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stumbled on this venue. It is an older building with exhibition space, teaching space and studios. When we arrived there was a drawing class going on, but we were still encouraged to look at what was displayed in the same space. We quietly went around the perimeter of the class looking at sculpture, mixed media, abstract and realistic pieces. We were encouraged to go upstairs and look at a special exhibit about books. There were some collage book pages, several realistic, but amusing paintings of stacks of books and objects on a theme. Like, a stack of books including, A Taste of Honey, Winnie the Pooh, The Art of Beekeeping,with honey dripping down the side of some books, a bee and so much more. The paintings were far more subtle and entertaining than this explanation. Our favorite, however, was a floor sculpture, that would be lost in translation, just go up the stairs to see it.

We were lucky to happen upon a local weaver, Claire Perrault, who welcomed us into her shared studio space. She explained some of her tools to my spouse and gave me a few tips about future weaving projects.

What a warm and welcoming spot to see some local art and artists.

Visited January 2014
Thank mcubed48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gallery of surprises”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A gallery showing art and sculpture by local artists. Their studios are upstairs and you can nose round them if you like.

Visited January 2014
Thank redactora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Exhibits”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a great place to see the works of local artist! You can even visit the some of the artist studios upstairs. It is definitely worth your time to stop and take in local art. The artist are love to talk about their art.

Visited December 2013
Thank Michaelkasperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Walk on White”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Went to Walk on White last week. What a terrific studio for local artists. We spoke with several artists who worked out of the studio. All were great at explaining their process.
The main show downstairs was a show of roosters decorated by local talent that are up for auction. Can't wait to see what's next.

Visited November 2013
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Studios of Key West also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys

Been to The Studios of Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing