We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here for several nights and found everything to be great. The breakfast had lots of options to choose from (bagels, yogurt, pastries, fruit, etc) and was a great way to start the day. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the backyard was a quiet oasis. Thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skistevedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Guest Relations Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure getting you out of the Portland winter for a time!! Please come back and see us again when you are in Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 893 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

As part of our whistle-stop tour of Key West, our one night in the AHOF was excellent. We booked two rooms and both were good value for money - even though we spent more time on Duval Street then in the property!

Staff were friendly and welcoming, especially considering that a) we turned up later than expected and b) had gone to the Artist House on Eaton by mistake...

Property is about 10 minutes walk away from the bars etc of Duval, which is certainly not a problem if you are looking for some peace and quiet. Continental breakfast in the morning was great and could be taken by the pool if desired. Parking is OK, we were directed to a side street next to the B&B, but the majority of on-street spaces seemed to be resident-only.

It was my first visit to Key West and I loved it...the AHOF played a huge part in that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Guest Relations Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review, though you were here such a short time if we had blinked we'd have missed you. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back again when you can stay a little longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a lovely B&B away from the noise of Duval St. I stayed in the Truman room, which is on the 2nd floor facing the street. It was quiet, sunny, nicely decorated, and the bed was comfy (always nice after a long day of walking, cycling, etc).

Best part of my stay at Artist House was the staff. Cindy, Jo, and David were great and really helpful in making reservations, offering dining and activity suggestions, etc. I didn't take advantage of their happy hour since I was out every day of my stay, but enjoyed the breakfast and was happy with the bicycle rental.

All in all, I was very happy with my stay & will definitely return to the Artist House next time I'm in Key West. Thanks again!

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, the bathroom in Truman is a tight fit, but I assumed as much at the time I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethPHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Guest Relations Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. You were quite the busy girl when you here! Did you need a vacation after your vacation? :-) WE hope you can visit us again when you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We so enjoyed our 7days & nights in the lovely Artist House on Fleming. It was our first trip to The Keys & found your location perfect for all our sight seeing...we walked 10 to 15 miles a day. I'm sad to say we missed the happy hour as we were out everyday but enjoyed breakfasts. The very best about the house was the staff. Cindy, Jo, and David were friendly and helpful and I loved Sandra....Thanks for a wonderful week !

Room Tip: Stayed in Gato..could use a better shelf in bathroom..steep stairs..but room pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Guest Relations Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thanks for the lovely review. It was nice having you stay for such a good long visit. Many people can only stay for a night or two these days. I have passed your compliments on to Sandra. We hope to see you again when you are in Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I chose the Artist House on Fleming for our first trip to Key West and we were SO pleased. My husband and I spent 5 nights here and would highly recommend to others without hesitation!

The property itself is beautiful, newly renovated, modern fixtures and furnishings. As others have said, it has the B&B feel but with a boutique hotel look. The home has tons of character but updated so nicely that it feels fresh and new. It also feels the perfect size: not too large nor too small, very homey!

First, the breakfast selection was excellent. My husband is generally not a huge fan of a continental breakfast (not enough food to fill him up) but he loved the quiche and we both felt that there was MORE than enough. I loved the wide selection of fresh fruit. The coffee was fine, but with everything else being gourmet, were a little disappointed with Folgers Coffee-but, really, not a big deal. Our morning routine consisted of a jog in the lovely neighborhood first thing, a later breakfast, and then we often skipped lunch being still full from the great breakfast!

We took full advantage of the amenities-Jacuzzi dipping pool every afternoon and indulged in the free drinks graciously offered for Happy Hour. It was a nice way to wind down at the end of a day. They seemed to bring this out every day that we were by the pool, but it wasn't actually advertised anywhere...we expected to have to go to the other Artist House for happy hour (as advertised) and were surprised when we didn't, but much preferred being able to relax in our own space, so that was a nice surprise.

We actually loved the location. We enjoyed the walk to/from the busier area near Duval and felt like we were coming "home" to our quiet neighborhood at night, it was much more relaxing to be away from the hustle and bustle. Also nice being close to the Seaport, only a few blocks from Old Town Bakery, etc.

We stayed in the Simonton room, the front room on the first floor. It was definitely a bit loud when people came/went (an old home, what can you do) but we're deep sleepers and the A/C unit generally drowned out any noise. We liked our room location as we had easy access to the kitchen and front porch. Also a nice size and beautifully done.

We found street parking easily (about 2 blocks away) and didn't need the car all week.

There's really nothing else to add but to say, you will not be disappointed! I selected this property based on the excellent Tripadvisor reviews and hope that other travel researchers will do the same!

Room Tip: The Simonton and Flagler rooms are probably the noisiest (first floor, by front door) but we were st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lg9567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Guest Relations Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks for the lovely review of your stay. All your comments are so valuable in helping us improve our guest's stay. You really made the most of your time here. We hope you will visit us again when you are in Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a lovely B&B in a quiet part of Key West but only a five minute walk to Duval Street and the marina.

The bedrooms are beautifully furnished and very clean and modern.Fridge and coffee making facilities in all rooms.

Great beds with luxurious linens.

A nice buffet breakfast is served every morning and a free happy hour every afternoon at four o'clock.

Both breakfast and happy hour can be enjoyed in the small but delightful back garden with it's own plunge pool or on the front porch overlooking Fleming Street.

A big thank you to Jo,Cindy and David for making us so welcome and for their help with all things in Key West from shopping to eating.

Only downside is the air-con which is rather noisy.

Would stay there again and can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 78frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Guest Relations Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. All guest comments help us to improve the experience for everyone visiting us. We hope you will be back in Key West and stay with us at the Artist House on Fleming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Artist House On Fleming is a wonderful and convenient place to stay to explore all the delights of Key West. From the moment we arrived where we were greeted by Cindi, nothing was too much trouble. Cindi arranged last minute trips for us and advised us how best to get to see the places we wanted to visit. Our room was just beautiful. The breakfast choices were amazing and the complimentary happy hour was most welcome! We were on the first floor and were able to carry our luggage but if you couldn't manage this then it would be best to request a ground floor room as this is a B and B and there is no concierge! Would I stay here again? Most definitely!

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you have difficulty carrying your luggage upstairs by yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Guest Relations Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We enjoyed having you and will help you with your luggage anytime!! We hope to see you again when you are visiting Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $177 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing