We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay when headed Ft Jefferson or Key West Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went on line to a booking site for a KW place that was close enough to walk to the boat to Ft Jefferson and then the Key West Express back to Ft Myers. This place was perfect. 3 or 4 blocks and we were at the terminal. 11 minute walk. Then we walked to Duval, Mallory Square to watch the sunset, and the next day all the way to Ft Zachary Taylor....a bit too far but can be done even for retired folks.
The accommodation were outstanding. Everything was crisp and fresh from paint, to beds and bathrooms. We enjoyed the porches and the common area to socialize. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and baked goods. The location was perfect for those catching the boat trips. Everyone was helpful and friendly during our stay.
Katherine S

Room Tip: We, two couples, stayed in the two lower level rooms so were able to relax and visit together plus s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TA1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you thought we were a 'Great place to stay'. You are right, we are in a great location for the seaport area, just 3 blocks away. Very handy for all the great bars and restaurants located in that area.
The front porch is a lovely spot to hang out and watch the world go by. It sounds like you had a fun trip. See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 925 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was my 4th time to Key West and my second staying at a B&B. I picked this B&B based on the fact that there is plenty of free parking (this time of year) and the location being close to the wharf area and within walking distance to Duval. I was in the Truman room which was very nicely appointed. One area of concern was the tight squeeze in the restroom between the toilet, the sink, and the shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and provided for 2 great nights of sleep. The staff is very warm and willing to assist, but not overwhelm. The breakfast spread was perfect and the pastries were sinful. The small pool was a great spot to rest after lots of walking. I recommend a stay here and would gladly return.

Room Tip: If you are on the larger side ask for a full size restroom. It appeared some rooms have a full tub/s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad we were a 'Good Choice' for you. The bathroom in the Truman room is small but we have rooms with much larger bathrooms. If you want a queen bedroom with large bathroom including tub bath then I suggest the Simonton room for your next visit. It is another lovely room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The house was very nice and clean, our room was nice and what we were looking for our just for th weekend trip. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was very nice as well. We enjoyed staying here very much, we would stay there again! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks Phoebe! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A very nice small, charming and "Old Key West style" decorated hotel . Great atmosphere and with very nice, comfortable rooms. The room we stayed in was the Gato room and we loved it. Bed was great, fridge, airco and very nicely restored in a authentic style. Coffee and teamaker also. The hotel has also a porch where you can sit with your drink and enjoy the life. At the back of the hotel is a nice and cosy deck plus a dipping pool. Really wonderful. The big surprise was the extensive breakfast with a big choice and you can even enjoy a glass of champagne. The staff and owners were so friendly that we felt us from the first moment at home. We enjoyed our stay so much that definitely we will come back. The location is great and you can walk in only a few minutes to Duval street and to the Historic harbour. At the premises we rented bikes which is great to discover all kind of places and beaches.
They even offer a happy hour, free of charge, at their also very nice and charming sister property which is only a few minutes walking away. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends. Thank you very much!!
Engelina and Leo

Room Tip: All rooms are great and in a very authentic style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engelina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Enelina and Leo, Thank you so much for your detailed review! We are so glad that you found us, during Key West's quieter time, and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Artist House on Fleming is beautiful! The house is very clean and spacious. The porch is huge and welcoming. The dipping pool was great after a long day. Breakfast was great and the mimosas were a special treat. We went to the happy hour at the sister house and had a great time. Stay here..it's the best in Key West and reasonably priced..plus you don't have to pay for parking. Not too far from attractions..and only a $4 to $5 cab ride if you don't want to walk.

Room Tip: The Simonton is the first door on the left. We thought it would be noisy due to it's location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeacherSarahinFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Well, that's exactly what we work hard to hear! We're very pleased to hear that you will be back, and look forward to your return! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Artist House on Fleming is adorable and everything a B&B should be. Comfy rooms, old timey charm and a great community feeling with tasty food. They even throw in Mimosas for their breakfast- BIG POSITIVE. We stayed in the Hemingway Room. The bed was huge and really comfortable. The room was spacious. The pool is small but great and the dining/hang area around the pool is just lovely. The only negative really was parking, you have to find street, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The walk to Duval isn't short, but it isn't long. Our night here was the first night of our honeymoon and we're already planning a trip back to stay at the Artist House on Fleming.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are right off of the breakfast area or the front door and would likely be noisy. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you Tommy! We're happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and glad that the only negative you could find would be our lack of designated parking! We are always willing to help our guests find a legal spot if ever there is a problem.....and like you said, we are not far from anything and most of our guests say that once their car is parked, they never use it again until they leave the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I took my cousins from Sweden down to the Keys and we found this gem. It was priced right and it was walking distance to Duval. We had a great time here. They had a wonderful breakfast bar and the people working there were very nice. The place was very clean and cozy. Definitely staying here the next time I come down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks Stephanie! We're glad you chose the Artist House on Fleming as home base to show the cousins from Sweden Key West! We appreciate the recommendation, and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
960 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $201 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing