We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
Ranked #13 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Artist House on Fleming is beautiful! The house is very clean and spacious. The porch is huge and welcoming. The dipping pool was great after a long day. Breakfast was great and the mimosas were a special treat. We went to the happy hour at the sister house and had a great time. Stay here..it's the best in Key West and reasonably priced..plus you don't have to pay for parking. Not too far from attractions..and only a $4 to $5 cab ride if you don't want to walk.

Room Tip: The Simonton is the first door on the left. We thought it would be noisy due to it's location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeacherSarahinFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Well, that's exactly what we work hard to hear! We're very pleased to hear that you will be back, and look forward to your return! Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 914 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Artist House on Fleming is adorable and everything a B&B should be. Comfy rooms, old timey charm and a great community feeling with tasty food. They even throw in Mimosas for their breakfast- BIG POSITIVE. We stayed in the Hemingway Room. The bed was huge and really comfortable. The room was spacious. The pool is small but great and the dining/hang area around the pool is just lovely. The only negative really was parking, you have to find street, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The walk to Duval isn't short, but it isn't long. Our night here was the first night of our honeymoon and we're already planning a trip back to stay at the Artist House on Fleming.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are right off of the breakfast area or the front door and would likely be noisy. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you Tommy! We're happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and glad that the only negative you could find would be our lack of designated parking! We are always willing to help our guests find a legal spot if ever there is a problem.....and like you said, we are not far from anything and most of our guests say that once their car is parked, they never use it again until they leave the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I took my cousins from Sweden down to the Keys and we found this gem. It was priced right and it was walking distance to Duval. We had a great time here. They had a wonderful breakfast bar and the people working there were very nice. The place was very clean and cozy. Definitely staying here the next time I come down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thanks Stephanie! We're glad you chose the Artist House on Fleming as home base to show the cousins from Sweden Key West! We appreciate the recommendation, and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I were looking for places to stay on a "booking" website. We were feeling overwhelmed. We saw The Artist House and called the number directly to ask questions. Jo answered the phone and she was so pleasant. The nightly rate she quoted was actually less than the website! She was very personable and informative. We booked our room immediately. When we arrived, she gave us coupons for a lot of the restaurants and shops in the area. We used about 6 of them! I love saving money! We were celebrating our 9th wedding anniversary and I mentioned that while we were talking. She had a bottle of champagne on ice and 2 fluted glasses in the room for us. She told us that the house had recently been remodeled. The room was beautiful! There is a happy hour provided at their sister location on Eaton that was just as wonderful. The location is right around the corner from excellent restaurants - Cafe Sole and Michael's and within walking distance of everything else. The continental breakfast is extensive with a variety of pastries, fruit and more to choose from. Lastly, everyone on staff there is very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a place to rest and relax, look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

What a great review....thank you very much. I am so glad you enjoyed staying with us for your wedding anniversary. We have so many couples choose the house for their special celebration and we always try to make it a little more special.
Our extensive breakfast and Happy Hour are just a couple of the guests favorites and I am pleased that you enjoyed them. It is also great to know that my recommendations worked out for you.
Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I just returned from my stay at the Artist House on Fleming. It was my first time to Key West with my Maid of Honor as part of a quick pre-wedding relaxing vacation. We could not have been more pleasantly surprised when we arrived at The Artist House after a long day of traveling. The house is simply delightful, tastefully decorated, and the perfect place to unwind. Jo could not have been more accommodating. She was wonderful in helping us find our way around town, suggested great places for us to visit, and was courteous, friendly and lovely - our expectations were exceeded and then some. In fact, we left Key West for Miami after 2 nights, and wished that we had stayed there, that's how amazing of an experience we had! We woke up to a wonderful spread of breakfast each morning that was included in the rate. The outside deck was fabulous, and we were centrally located - everything was an easy walk away. I could not recommend it enough! Thank you to everyone at The Artist House! We'll definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We loved the Simonton Room! Easily located on the first floor, this one feels like home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tai16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly enjoyed sitting on the outside deck for your breakfast. It was lovely to meet you both and hope you get the chance to come back and visit us again soon.
Our best wishes for your wedding next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This small, cosy hotel was a very nice discovery, maybe above our average cost for accomodation (but it KW :)) but it worsed the price, nice house, nice people, nice customer service , very amazing breakfast (champagne and viennoiseries included), possibility all the day to take some coffee, fruit or water, nice tiny pool, very quiet... maybe a too small bathroom (but normal as you see the configuration)... I highly recommand this place...if we come back to KW, surely we will return at this hotel... thanks

Room Tip: Truman' room was nice and quiet, however the bathroom too little
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinciane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the service and breakfast, including champagne.
I do hope you will get the chance to come back and visit again soon. We love to see our guests returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed here for my 40th Birthday. It was perfect. The room was nice and clean, the breakfast was amazing, the customer service was incredible! There was even a chilled bottle of champagne in our room to help us celebrate. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aval3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks! We're so glad you chose to stay with us for your special birthday trip and very happy to hear you say you couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! We appreciate you saying so and look forward to seeing you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.8 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#34 of 77 in Key West
479 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#15 of 77 in Key West
1,530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $188 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing