We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
Ranked #10 of 78 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very clean, very nice accommodations with a super friendly, helpful staff. It is conveniently located near many Key West sights, but provides a quiet backyard oasis, excellent breakfast buffet and lovely rooms. I was concerned that our first floor front room would be noisy, but we never heard a sound. The back courtyard provided a lovely oasis away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, and included a huge spa/hot tub for relaxing. The rooms were immaculate, we loved the mini-refrigerator, private bath and there were plenty of clean linens. It is nestled in a quiet neighborhood, yet is only blocks away from all of the excitement that Key West can provide. I would highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: I think any room would be wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the recommendation! We really do try hard to be the cleanest and friendliest B&B on the island, and we're happy to hear that in your opinion, we have made the Artist House on Fleming a "wonderful place to stay"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    143
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
73
513
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place was so quaint and the perfect distance from Duval street. We stayed in the Geiger room and I absolutely loved it. The pool was small, but very cute and there were tons of places to lay out during the afternoon before hitting the bars. Also, each room had its own little porch which was very neat. This B&B had its own island-life, southern charm! If you love history with a chic twist this is the place for you! I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: The Geiger room is perfect for 4 people (girls weekend?!?!) and at $315 (including tax) divided by 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth43215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review.....Next time you will just have to stay longer! We're glad that you loved the Geiger Suite and it's 3rd floor porch overlooking the garden. We do want to note though that while all of our rooms have their own unique qualities, not every room has it's own porch. : ) We hope to see you again whenever it is that you decide to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Would definitely stay with Artist House on Fleming again! The location worked out great for us - quiet neighborhood but close enough to Duval and the harbor front/docks to easily take in Key West! We stayed in the Flagler Room, and I worried it would be loud being on 1st floor right inside the front door. But we had a great experience! Trevor and the rest of the staff were all great. There was a nice selection of pastries, fruit, hot/cold cereal, juice/coffee/tea every morning, and you could enjoy your breakfast on the comfortable front wraparound porch, or in the peaceful courtyard in the back. Although we did splurge for breakfast one morning and had the Classic Eggs Benedict and Key Lime Pie Stuffed French Toast at Azur restaurant across the street from the B&B! Yum!!

We love to travel and I use Trip Advisor frequently to research hotels/B&Bs, etc. I very much value the comments that I read from other travelers and usually base my decisions on what I read. So I hope that I am able to help another traveler who may be wondering about this B&B when I say that it will be the first place I check for availability the next time we are able to visit Key West!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks, Amy! That's the comment we Love to hear the most. It's a huge compliment to us when we hear our guests tell us that they would definitely return. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This B&B is in a really beautiful neighborhood and is a very short walk into town. We were only there for a few nights until we could check into our rental house, but it made a good base for our first few days on the island.

The breakfast is fantastic. Such a wide variety of things to eat, so something for everyone. Jo was amazing in terms of giving us lots of ideas of things to do and see as well as recommending places to eat and drink.

We also took advantage of the complimentary happy hour at the sister property which was nice as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather_Budd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience here. We love the tranquility of our Fleming Street neighborhood too, and glad to hear that you found it to be a comfortable home base before moving to your rental home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Artist House on Fleming. Great breakfast and great location. Walked everywhere. We went the second week in February, the weather was wonderful.
Staff was helpful. The Florida Keys eco discovery center was a nice place to visit. It is free.
We visited the state park which was $2.50 per person and enjoyed our day there. We stayed and watched the sunset at the park. Beautiful!! We enjoyed eating at Caroline's and Charlie Mac's BBQ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks, Linda! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Artist House on Fleming for 5 nights during Feb vacation and loved every minute of it. It was our first trip ever to KeyWest and we had a great time , incredible weather ( Every Day in the 80's & Sunny), and it was tough to leave and come back home in MA. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. We arrived at 10:30am and were able to leave our luggage here until our room was ready. Trevor took my cell phone number and called us as soon as the room was ready ( around 1pm) so we were able to check in a couple of hours early which was appreciated since we were up at 3am that morning to catch our flight. Later during our stay one of the staff ( can't remember her name) was helping us decide on which beach to visit and suggested we rent bikes to explore the island. I absolutely recommend renting bikes to anyone staying at KeyWest and you can rent them right at Artist House. We rode everywhere on our bikes and it was so much fun, got to see the whole island , and get some exercise in as well. She also recommended the restaurant on Higgs Beach ( Salute ) which we stopped for lunch on our bikes of course which was also a good call by her.
Now to the room and Inn itself. Our room was on the 3rd floor and it had a 2nd bedroom which was convenient because we invited my wife's parents for 2 nights. Our room had a huge very comfortable king sized bed and the 2nd bedroom had a queen. Each room also had a large flat screen on the wall which to be honest we never turned on. There was also a mini fridge for beverages and the Inn provided wine glass for us. After all when you go on vacation to KeyWest all you really do in your room is sleep so I believe a comfortable bed is key and it was. The 3rd Floor Suite shares a patio with one other suite with some nice deck furniture and we had some nice conversations with the party in the adjacent suite. You do have to go up 3 flights of stairs to get there but no problems there. The entrance is low so being 6 ft tall I did hit my head a few times entering the room but most of time I had enough alcohol in me I didn't feel it. The one big negative think about the room was the bathroom. Very small , very small shower , I could not really turn around inside of it without hitting the walls or door. Also , the knob needed an adjustment because it would not stay in the middle. So the water was either too hot or cold and if you were lucky to get it right where you wanted it the water would all of the sudden get cold. Also, very little water pressure. I never complained because overall it was not a big deal. Also, one other nuisance was an outside light by entrance door that kept going off and on all night. I think it was on a sensor but something may have been setting it off. Again , not enough to warrant a complaint to the staff although my wife probably disagrees with me there.
Breakfast was excellent , they had a very nice spread from local bakery's. There was plenty to choose from also , coffee, Juice , water. There was plenty of patio tables , chairs to enjoy your morning breakfast and coffee outside near the pool area , well actually the it is a hot tub not a pool. Since we had low to mid 80's all week a pool to cool off would have been nice vs a hot top. The locations was excellent. Very quite street but you are only about 6-7 blocks from Duvall St (10-15mins walk). The walk back always seemed longer than the walk to Duval Street but if you get tired of walking back you can easily find a taxi and it will only cost you a few bucks.
So overall , the place was very good, room was clean , very comfortable bed , also had love seat couch. Again the negative was the bathroom size and shower situation. Great location , Great breakfast and all staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We were happy to read that you loved every minute of it despite the couple of minor things that you mentioned were a nuisance. We're glad that you mentioned them though. Since we don't sleep or shower here, sometimes the only way we would know about annoying porch lights or loose shower knobs is through our guest's comments.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Key West and we did the drive from Miami.. unfortunately the weather didn't really cooperate with us for our drive or stay, but we made the most of it. Our stay at the Artist House on Fleming was a HUGE part of that. We had a late arrival and had no issues finding the property and room key and information was left for us without incident... Rooms are quaint, nicely updated, clean and comfortable. Would stay here over a hotel any day. We stayed in one room the first night and then was moved to the Cornish suite (2 bedroom) suite on the third floor for the next 3 nights.. was just the two of us, but the room was very nice.. lots of steps to tackle after a night out (lol), but plenty of privacy. Great continental breakfast, served on beautiful patio weather permitting.. nice seating areas on covered front proches.. bikes for rent... heated spa/pool.. just really an amazing place quiet place off the main drag but close to everything.. the hosts were very helpful and full of suggestions for first timers like us that just were winging it as we went with no set agenda in mind. Highly recommend this place.. they have a sister property as well which looked beatiful as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbomb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We're happy to hear we played a part in making your first visit a good one even with the unusually less than pleasant weather we were experiencing during your stay. Come back and see us again....Odds are the weather will be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#9 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Property: Artist House on Fleming
Address: 1016 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing