We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A true gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
Ranked #11 of 86 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A true gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Artist House on Fleming recently for a quick mid-week Key West trip and it was outstanding. The home is beautifully decorated and exudes warmth once you enter. Trevor was extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. For the price and location what you get is unparalleled. Our room was beautiful and cozy, the breakfast was delicious, the atmosphere is incredibly relaxing - we regretted not staying longer. Having visited Key West several times and stayed at other establishments, I can say that the service and ambiance at the Artist House on Fleming is what we look for in accommodations and we will be staying here anytime we visit in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherchezlafille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! And thank you for adding a couple of nice photos here! We try hard to exceed our guest's expectations, and we're glad our service and ambiance were just what you were looking for.....Hopefully next time you will get to stay a little longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    139
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
495
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Although, a room was quite little, everything is clean and nicely decorated. Staff is very friendly and the breakfast beside the pool a really great start in the morning. It is a little bit farer away from the centre, but this also makes it quite and cosy and one can rent bike directly in the house! Overall, we would be happy to come again.

Room Tip: The rooms out on the back are surely quiter and being there, we realised that there is a big differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you, Andrea! We appreciate the recommendation, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed so many things about the Artist House on Fleming. And we are especially pleased to hear that you would come back if your travels should bring you to Key West again in the future.
Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LU
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed it. This place is lovely - quite area, clean, great atmosphere, beds were comfortable, good breakfast... We would love to stay longer... The parking situation is a little bit challenging. As soon you find a parking space, stay there - you anyway don´t need a car on Key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Flagler Room. It is directly at the entrance, so it is a little bit "loud"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed so many things about the house despite our street parking : )
There are four or five parking spaces very close to the house that generally are available for our guests, but, like you, most people leave their car once they find a spot. We try hard to help our driving guests find a suitable spot, but in the rare case that parking should become more than a bit of a challenge, the city parking garage is less than two blocks away. And offers very reasonable overnight rates.
Thanks again for taking the time to review, and we hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed there Feb. 8 thru 10. Clean, large and tastefully decorated rooms along with a very friendly and helpful staff make this a 5 star selection. The cost of the stay was quite reasonable too. The happy hour at their sister property was a very nice touch and provided a nice break in the day.

There might be B&Bs a bit closer to Duval St. but this one is worth a few extra steps!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjweenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was impressed that I was contacted about a week before my trip with information about restaurants, excursions and an offer to make reservations. As a single traveler I especially appreciated the assistance which I made use of extensively.

The room was excellent: roomy, wi-fi, TV and a roomy bathroom. The breakfast was extensive, the public rooms comfortable.

The location was a bit off the main business area; so it was quiet and a very pleasant walk.

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here.

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattletraveler691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We work hard to help all of our guests get the most out of their Key West experience, and we're glad you took advantage of our local knowledge. Thank you for your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

After a recent stay at the Artist house, I can't imagine staying anywhere else on our next trip to Key West. Trevor was very welcoming and happy to help us arrange our scooter rental as soon as we arrived. I highly recommend renting a scooter while you stay to get around town. The breakfast is delicious and there are a lot of choices...even mimosas! We loved getting in the shared spa pool each day and were the only ones in it each time. We stayed in the Hemingway room and it could not have been better with its own private entrance. It was spacious, clean, and cozy. Very comfortable king size bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Wow! Thanks Suzanne......We're happy we made it on your "Best of Key West" list! We work hard to be the cleanest and friendliest bed and breakfast on the island and we're glad it shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We only had two nights at the Artist House on Fleming, but our short time there was enjoyable! The staff was friendly; check-in was a breeze and was followed up with a quick tour of the House. We only had breakfast one morning, and it was delicious! We liked the location because, being a few blocks from Duval St., it allowed us to explore a great deal of Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks, Matt! Next time you'll have to stay a little longer! We're happy to hear that you liked our location and look forward to seeing you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#3 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Property: Artist House on Fleming
Address: 1016 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing