We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
Ranked #10 of 85 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solomons, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed 4 days in the Mallory Room. Well appointed with nice king sized bed, opens out onto the patio with private seating area. The house has a warm homey atmosphere and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more accommodating. Breakfast was delicious, bikes were great. Definitely the nicest place we've stayed in Key West. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks Frank! We appreciate your review and are glad to hear you had a great stay! It means a lot to us to hear you say we are the nicest place you've stayed in Key West, because we know you've stayed at some nice ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    142
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
73
512
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Three of us stayed here, initially sharing the Cornish Suite on the third floor, being two bedrooms and a bathroom. Unfortunately, we didn't realise the bathroom was only accessible via one of the bedrooms and after one night the management very kindly moved us into 2 separate rooms on the first floor, each with their own bathroom, for no extra cost, The Cornish Suite would have been absolutely fine for families but wasn't ideal for we three adults. The new rooms were superb and tastefully renovated and decorated without losing the old world charm. The Artist House is very well located and only a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street and the Marina and has a lovely, well furnished front porch/verandah featuring a swing chair. Breakfast was superb and eating in the rear courtyard with the sound of the spa waterfall was very relaxing. The spa in the courtyard is enormous and the water very warm. The owners have an afternoon happy hour at their nearby sister property on Eaton Street where free drinks and light snacks are available, which we thought was very generous of them. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. There are no staff physically present after 5.00 pm which we found enhanced the experience and made the place feel like more of a home from home. Our only gripe is that the pillows could have been a little more plush or maybe we are spoiled by having top of the range ones at home. We would definitely return and highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barleydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived as walk-ins at the Artist House on Eaton and were redirected to Fleming Street, where we were fortunate to stay in the Mallory room for three nights. Situated adjacent to the kitchen, we felt like the kitchen was our own because of the homey welcoming feeling there. The choices of food for breakfast were outstanding. We were well taken care of by the staff in reception and Jen did a great job of refreshing our room daily. We parked our car on our arrival and used it only to drive away at the end of our stay. We would certainly recommend this B&B to our friends and family!
The Smiths
Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: We loved the Mallory on the ground floor which opens to the kitchen and also to the terrace along th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneS46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you found us and appreciate you recommending us to the Vancouver community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Best room in the house.
Top five reasons:
5. Great King size bed
4. Water Cooler right outside the door
3. AC Works very well
2. Back doors open right onto the patio and pool deck
1. Pool's water fall runs throughout the night creating that lovely, sleepy sound of falling water!
Outstanding few days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks, David! We think ALL of our rooms have their own unique "top fives", but we're glad you found the Mallory magnificent! Thnak you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Nice small bed and breakfast in Key West
Good location à little outside the busy downtown
Room nicely decorated but the bathroom is very small
Vert kind and helpfull personnel at thé réception but nobody as of 5 PM

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you, Louis. We're happy you chose us, and appreciate your review. Like many B&B's in Key West, we are not staffed 24 hours, but we always have someone "on duty" by way of our emergency contact number, and we are all just moments away in the event that our guests need us after hours. Thanks again.....We're happy you chose the Artist House on Fleming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This property is everything it says it is: charming, clean, friendly, lovely outdoor sitting areas, nice back garden pool (spa) area, wonderful breakfast and much more. Parking on the street was no problem at all. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tab W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks! We're happy to hear we met your expectaions, and appreciate your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I spent Thanksgiving in Key West and luckily chose the Artist House on Fleming for our three day stay. We chose it based on the photos of the house and the overwhelming number of good reviews and we were not disappointed.

Everything was just as we expected it to be; the room looked just like the photos on the website; no surprises there! The room was clean and we were glad to discover that the comforter cover had been cleaned prior to our arrival... no need to be concerned about who or what may have been on it previously! The bed was unbelievably soft and comfortable.

The staff was helpful and friendly but not intrusive. Jo gave me some good suggestions for activities suitable for my husband (he had never been to Key West) and Jessica went out of her way to get my husband booked on an off-shore fishing trip.

Breakfast each morning was very enjoyable. It was a very European continental breakfast with cheese and coldcuts, a variety of breads, bagels, English muffins, mini quiche and delicious pastries. There was a variety of fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juice and champagne as well as cereal, yogurt, oatmeal and milk. Really, this was a very substantial breakfast.

The breakfast could be enjoyed in your room, on the patio or for the upstairs rooms with exterior doors, on the well equipped and comfortable seating areas outside of the rooms. But the nicest place to eat was the patio which was equipped with a variety of chairs and tables and where you are constantly serenaded with the sound of the waterfall that is part of the heated dipping pool.

The location is another plus here. I like quiet and that is hard to come by in a place like Key West where houses are so close together. If you have been to Key West, you know that Duval St. is a happening place with tons of bars. There are also bars in many other areas and many, many of those bars feature music in the evening. Loud music. The Artist House on Fleming is far enough away from all of that so that you are not disturbed. In addition, the waterfall out back and the ceiling fans create enough white noise to cover any unwanted noises. Yet from this location on Fleming St. it is a quick walk to the main shopping/dining areas, the waterfront, Mallory Square and most any other place you would want to go.

To summarize; good location, good breakfast, helpful staff and beautiful environment; what more can you want from a trip to Key West?

Room Tip: If you have trouble with steps choose a first floor room as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CampingCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're happy you found us.....and happy to hear that we lived up to your expectations. Thanks again for adding yet another positive review. We hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 49 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#8 of 85 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Property: Artist House on Fleming
Address: 1016 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing