We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Key West Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been traveling to the Keys for 20+ years and this is the best place I have stayed, by far. Clean, comfortable, inviting and just plain charming. Great breakfast spread with plenty of food and champange. Our room was spacious with a large flat screen TV (never used it). The day we arrived our bikes were ready to go, check in took 5 minutes. Love the choice of toiletries, we actually went to Key West Aloe shop and purchased some small bottles for the flight home. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful, we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaizenkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for your review! Clean, comfortable and inviting are exactly the things we strive to be. (We're sorry it took you 20 + years to find that out : (
We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 924 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed this summer 2012 in both Artist House (Fleming and Eaton), and both are beautiful historical houses, well situated, great atmosphere, nice decoration, friendly welcome and astonishing breakfast.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank reen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for your review! We're glad you got to experience both locations and happy to hear that you considered both stays "great"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed Sept 24 to Sept 27, my brother and I were there for his daughter's wedding on the beach, a short car ride away. The rooms are a good size and clean and fresh, with a TV in each bedroom. Good working air conditioners needed with the humidity. We got there late the first night and were given a lock box code at the front door and picked up our key and checked in the morning with a pleasant gentleman who was informative of the area. We were invited to help our selves to the lovely spread of food. Fresh fruit, melons and grapes as well as apples and oranges, bananas as well as fresh bread and rolls and sticky buns, cereals. Cheeses and cold cuts and fresh brewed coffee, teas and juices. Jess works downstairs with the food prep and also does a wonderful job of cleaning the 9 rooms in the house. British flavor throughout the home from the owners who are from Britain. The staff is very familiar with the area around their B&B. Ask the staff to set up the many day trips, they offer for the area. Don't forget to take a stroll down Duvall Street and check out the many art galleries from area artists presenting their art. All the shops and restaurants are all within walking distance from Artist House on Fleming

Room Tip: Ask for a room in line with the size of your party. All the rooms are clean and beautiful. You won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you for your review! We are always happy to help our guests make the most out of their visit and it sounds like you did just that! Thank you for your recommendation, and for sharing your experience here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

There was nothing I would wish to change about our excellent stay at the Artist House. The breakfast choice was wide, the room was spacious and quirky...in a positive way and all of the staff we met went out of their way to make our holiday at Key West "special".
There was a "happy hour", when drinks and nibbles are served at the sister property, a couple of blocks away on Eaton Street, which was a great way of consolidating ideas for trips and places to eat. Particular thanks to Jo, who booked up our anniversary meal at a restaurant where we could watch the sun go down over the water and a fabulous day trip with snorkelling and kayaking. This local knowledge enabled us to take work out what to do to make best use of our time. Only regret.....our three day stay could not be extended...because we had to fly home.

Room Tip: The Hemingham Room was lovely...we liked the fact that it had its own private entrance from a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you! We love being relaxingly attentive! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and honored that you chose the Artist House on Fleming for your anniversary getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just left the Artist House on Fleming yesterday after 4 nights there. This was our first visit to Key West and didn't know anything about any accommodations in KW. I relied a lot on Trip Advisor and this place received high marks just as it should. I had called a couple of times asking questions and Trevor was always very helpful and made me feel like he was happy to help. Our room (the Mallory) was very nice and clean. Has a small patio off of it which was nice and right beside the kitchen area but noise was never a problem in the morning. Loved sitting outside during breakfast visiting with the other guests. Jen who seems to do more than a normal housekeeping person was so nice and very knowledgeable about things in the area. Good luck to her and her baby she will be having in a few months. Thanks Trevor and staff for a wonderful stay. Only negative may be that it would be nice if there was a happy hour there rather than having to go to the other house. But that isn't a real big deal. We would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend bringing bikes or renting them to get around town.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue pick one of the rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeE1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that your research paid off! It was a pleasure having you as our guests. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Florida and look forward to seeing you again, the next time you visit Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Artist House on Fleming was a very nice cozy place. The staff members were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very clean and always supplied with fresh towels.
The Artist House is in a great location close enough to walk to Duval street.
When we go back to Key West we will definitely stay at the Artist House.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagnuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks! We're glad you found us and look forward to helping you have another great time in Key West the next time you visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My fiance and I decided to take a trip down to the Keys, and after EXTENSIVE (meaning lots of hours) research we booked a long weekend at The Artist House On Flemming. We honestly couldn't have been happier with every aspect of our stay. Both of us are extremely particular when it comes to cleanliness in a hotel/B&B, and the Artist House exceeded our expectations.

Friendly & attentive staff & hosts, great location, comfortable beds, hot showers, fresh linens daily, daily breakfast...everything you could ask for. If your looking for the "right" place to stay, take the advice of someone who read 100's of reviews & book your stay w/ the Artist House!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaCouple82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience! We definitely want to be the "right" place for all of our guests and we're glad to hear that your hours of research paid off! Thank you again for your review.....We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
960 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 77 in Key West
1,113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $201 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing