We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom issue”
Review of Rick's Bar

Rick's Bar
Ranked #142 of 448 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: 8 Famous Bars = 1 Awesome Night
Key West, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bathroom issue”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Security don't let U use the bathroom starting from 3:40 am although the place is open till 4:00 am.. Kind of uncomfortable after spending money $$$ upstairs they announce the last song & rush ppl outside, where the bouncers say the bathrooms r closed, it was a white guy & an asian looking guy that gave me their attitude, after mentioning they r "not nice", I got a cab for my gf & left... Owners should respect money we r paying & keep bathrooms open till at least 4:00am ....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter34345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    100
    48
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“British performer is AWESOME”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

OMG went here twice during our stay and The British comedian musican guy was OUTSTANDING... we went back both nights he performed, and each night it was GREAT.
total must do !!
and the drinks are cheap and good too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go when Adrian is there!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stumbled into this bar because it was pooring down rain on us and much to our suprise was this performer on stage that had us in stiches so much we kept coming back every night for more. The beer was always cold and just a peice of advice order the refill Ricks cups to save a dollar a beer. The outside area was fun to sit at because you could still be at the bar but be able to people watch all the crazys on the street. Shot girl was super fun with her jello shots and Kelly was our bartender most nights and she took such good care of us. Loved this bar and if ever back in key west this would be my choice for a hang out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Punk doorman scam”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Its been a long time since i've been to a place like this. Although the bar is fine i watched the doormen (boys) scam and rip off two young girls in row. They target young girls just at or above the legal drinking age.
How the scam works: as required each person is asked for their identification a few obvious questions are asked until the weakest target is identified. Once the target is identified the girl is asked more and more questions. Regardless of her responses, her I.D. is confiscated and they threaten to take her to jail. After a few more minutes of bullying they offer to sale back the I.D. It was evident that not all the doorman behaved in this fashion and that this shake down tactic was limited to only one or two individuals. Im sure the managment of this establishment has no idea this is going on but i strongly encourage them to look into it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RivenRiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fun time!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went to Ricks as part of a pub crawl. A nice low key bar with a funny guy playing the guitar. Everyone sang along and had a good time. We got the Caribbean Breeze which was recommended to us and we both liked it. There was only one bartender on which delayed our drinks but I guess you can't help it when the other bartender 'calls in drunk!'

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaMotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Bar also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Rick's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing