We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed June 11, 2010

For our honeymoon we came to Key West, and booked The Reach Resort. I utilized my Hilton Points, but the pricing for the, hotel was still very reasonable. Service from the minute we pulled up in the taxi, was excellent. They immediately took our bags, opened the doors, took them to the counter. We were 4 hours early for check in, so our room was not quite ready. They took our number, and called us as soon as it was ready, they held our bags for us, and brought them to the room once we checked in. The amenities for the beach were excellent, DJ and Ricardo were great to deal with, and would setup our seats and get us towels immediately.

The hotel even recognized our Honeymoon by sending us room service with a 24 layer chocolate cake!!! Very good!! Took 2 days for us to eat it, but very tasty.

Remember when reading these reviews, the staff at the resort work for tips. Your experience with the staff is greatly enhanced if you show them kind gestures. There are fantastic people working for the resort, and from our stay, they deal with a multitude of different people, which some are very ignorant.

This was by far one of the better resorts I have stayed at compared to the HYATT, Westin and others.

And don't forget Louie's Backyard is very close, with excellent food. And you have full access to the Casa Resort which is a block away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewEnglandTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,030 - 3,036 of 3,872 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed at the The Reach Resort, Fl The Waldorf Astoria Collection, Florida Memorial Weekend and can't rave enough about the Hotel. This Hotel was an in a perfect location right on the southern most point of Key West. The beach, pool and room were excellent and the food at the restaurant on site was great. The customer service was top notch. You can tell that the staff takes alot of pride in their work and all work as a team in providing their guests with excellent service. From check in to check out, all our needs were handled quickly and in a professional manner.
The resort is an easy one block walk to Duval Street. Old Town Trolly stop and scooter rentals directly is a easy walk right down the street.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CodeRN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon after a cruise with Celebrity Cruises (whom I would highly recommend) From check in to check out our customer service experience was really poor. On this surface this is a lovely resort which you would expect for the price, but the front desk seriously need some customer service training as they come across as unfriendly and disinterested. This was the only hotel out of 4 not to acknowledge our honeymoon in any way for starters. Our 'island view' room turned out to have no view at all. it's disgraceful they are even selling these rooms as having a 'view'. Our safety deposit box didn't work for the 4 days and despite 3 separate requests was never fixed or even explained why it didn't work. $15 + tax for parking is a rip-off. We had already paid our $25 per day resort charge with the travel agent, which on-line bookers should factor in. Check in at 4 and check out at 11 is again a little on the cheeky side. We ordered drinks at the pool once and the barman disappeared off the face of the earth! We actually found the funny side of all this in the end! It’s like Faulty Towers in the Caribbean sun! Never tried the restaurant, but the $40 for a steak + tax and 22.5% service charge seemed a little excessive. Also the air conditioning in the room was noisy and dirty, and whilst the beds were very comfortable, the noise of the air conditioning did affect my sleep.
On the upside it is a lovely resort despite the lack of service, and rooms are of good 4 star quality, but the location is too far from the main end of Duval Street. I would think it you’re going to pay this sort of money and value location and good customer service there a better options such as the Westin and the Ocean Key Resort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

The Reach was fabulous!

Since Key West has a very limited expanse of sand beaches, this hotel is a gem. Do your research, Key West hotels simply don't have endless, white sand beaches, so you can't go to the Reach or Casa Marina and then complain that the beaches are small. These are literally the only hotels on the island that allow you to enjoy at least some private beach area. Truly a find.

The Reach is at a great location, not just because of the lovely beach front, but it's also within walking distance to Duval St. We found the property to be very quiet, clean and modern. Some folks complained about the price, but our rate was only $149 per night which we found to be a tremendous value for what the property offered. The pool staff was wonderful and attentive and the concierge was extremely helpful.

The sister property to The Reach, Casa Marina Hotel, is a short walk away and staying at The Reach allows you to use all the amenities there as well. It's like a 2 for 1. Loved this option and got to enjoy two very different beaches.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaNative35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My husband and I wouldn't normally spend this much on a hotel, but we decided to splurge. I have to say I was disappointed.
The parking attendant that greeted us was very friendly and helpful, even when we decided to pay the $15 parking fee instead of $20 for valet parking.
The front desk staff was just average, I feel at what is supposed to be a luxury top-of-the line hotel they should have been better.
The room was smallish, no bathtub, just a shower that took forever to heat up. Beautiful view of the ocean and pool. The room wasn't particularly clean, bits of paper and dust around. Again, not a big deal, but I expected better from a luxury hotel.
We went to the restaurant, but there was a long wait, even though we didn't see anyone there. We were happy to leave though, since I am not particularly fond of looking at vintage pictures of naked people while I eat anyway. Room service food was very good and delivered hot. Within walking distance of anywhere you would want to go, but honestly on Key West, what isn't?
Overall, nice enough, but considering the expectations from name and price point a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaRBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

A+ all the way!!

Beautiful suite-style room, gorgeous grounds, pool and beach. The staff bent over backward to make our
stay perfect. Great laid back location with easy access to all the Duval Street action.

We'll definitely be back!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdvirtual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This is the best kept secret on the Island. The beach was incredible. Sand bar all the way out. Pool and beach covered by cabana boys. Staff went way beyond to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachingbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,423 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $338 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing