We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
new jersey
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed October 5, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon at the The Reach Resort in Key West. The weather was so nice. Sun every day and the ocean and pool water was as warm as the the air temp all week.. We couldn't have asked for anything better for our honeymoon. Joseph, the first to greet us when when arrived at the hotel was the best.. He upgraded our room to a sweet for our honeymoon. My brother had called in earlier before we arrived and wanted to know if he could do anything for our trip to make it even more perfect and what Joseph could recomened. When we got up to our rooms there were Chocolate cover strawberrys and Champain. BEAUTIFUL!!!!

About 4 hours into our stay i had noticed that I had forgetten my Cell phone in the Taxi that had brought us to the hotel.. I spoke with Joseph and His assistant that afternoon. They called the taxi service and spoke to them.. At that time my cell seemed to be lost for good. the next morning I was told that they had located it. The hotel had kept calling the taxi service until it was found, And then to make it more perfect; Joseph had offered to go and pick it up on a different island. I couldn't believe it!!!
If anyone that reads this and decides to stay there i recommend speaking with Richardo, the pool manager. He was extreamly funny, and helpful.. We had told him that we had never been to the Island before and he then began to give us all kinds of recomendations and ideas. Every day we wen to the pool he made it a point to greet us by our names. Always on the move, he was bringing towels and cold towels, water and anything else our hearts desired in his reach.
Each person that i have mentioned in the little review has found a place in our hearts so profound. each and every time we vist that little island at mile 0, we will be staying there, and we recomend the same to you all.

So to Joseph and his assistant (I am sorry i didn't get your name) and to Richardo; thankyou for a beautiful stay

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The noisy A/C
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mgruen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,348
    963
    550
    362
    226
See reviews for
737
1,844
51
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed for our Honeymoon in March of 2008. The staff was excellent and very helpful. We had an excellent room and a decent view of the courtyard/pool/gulf (kind of). Our only real complaint is that they neglected to tell us that parts of the hotel were still under construction, thus there was the racket of that going on during the days. Other than that, we had no real complaints, other than having to go back to boring old Illinois.

  • Liked — The friendly, helpful attitude of the staff.
  • Disliked — The lack of disclosure concerning the construction
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chester1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Very nice property but started of rocky. First, when checking in, the Front desk attendant with a British accent was a bit uptight when we asked if there were any rooms with an ocean view as we had reserved a boutique suite. The hotel was practically empty but he refused to upgrade us, no big deal except we heard the other attendant upgrading the couple next to us. Second, once we arrived in the room the room had a peculiar odor and the bed was full of ants and so were the walls. We immediately called the front desk and were told that engineering and housekeeping would be up. After 15 minutes i tried contacting the Manager but was transfered numerous times and had to leave a message. We never did get a call from him or anyone else. Thirty minutes later a lady showed up and sprayed something very strong. In the meantime the ants kept multiplying and there was no way i was sleeping there. I called them back and advised them that if engineering was to come and spray something that would not work as i was allergic to chemicals, they said " we will see what we can come up with and call you back, at which point my husband took the phone and asked them to please change our room as we were very uncomfortable as we just wanted to relax and enjoy our vacation. Ten minutes later the bellman came to change us to a new room. We were given a room with NO ANTS and NO PECULIAR ODOR. In addition it had a nicer view and it was larger. We appreciated it although we would have been happy with the same room but we figured that it was their way of making up for the inconvenience. A few days later i called the front desk to make sure that their records indicated our correct checkout date and wanted to make sure there would be no problem as they had given us an upgrade. At which point we were told that our room was more expensive and that there would be an additional daily charge for the room to which i explained what had happened and he advised there would be no charges. When checking out the additional fees were included on our bill and once again we had to explain everything once again. The fees were removed!!

On a more positive note, the boys at the beach were great! So was the pool attendant who brought us cold towels, water and popsicles. The Ricardo guy mentioned on other posts never did this, instead he just talked a lot and it was a little annoying.

We had a nightly walk to Duval street as it was a block away but about a 20 mins walk to the happening part of Duval, but we didn't mind the walk.

The food at the strip house was pricey but good. Yummy paninis and burgers, delish fries!!!! Overall we had a very relaxing time and would probably go back, just hope they fumigate their property on a regular basis.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bellebelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2008

This hotel is top of the line. From the newly renovated rooms to the beautiful views. The pools were fabulous and the beach was spectacular!!! We were greeted each and every day by two of the most friendly people ( Chris & Darrell Henshaw) and they always made sure we were taken care of. They provided us with cool towels beach side, great tropical drinks and plenty of laughter. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to enjoy a truly fabulous vacation. It is my intention to return myself next year.
Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KeyWestBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami,Fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We took our 25 yr old daughter and 3 friends for a birthday weekend, stayed in two rooms. They were clean, well decorated, good AC, weak water pressure. Rooms were far apart, even though we booked adjoining/close rooms several weeks prior.

We happenned to be there for the Poker Run/Motorcycle weekend. It was extremely loud with motorcycles coming and going all day and night. Best to avoid this weekend (September), unless you are a biker.

RICARDO at the pool makes the resort! He is all about fun, he is articulate and discerning. He offers free towels, chairs, cool hand towels. He brings out watermelon and water to everyone! He is an excellent conversationalist, and quite a key west character.

On Sunday, the hotel would not let us check out later than noon, without paying $50.00/hr. They have no changing rooms for those guests that remain to enjoy the pool/beach.

Would stay again. It is on the quiet side of Duval street (apart from motorcycles), easy to walk or short taxi ride to all sites.

  • Liked — ricardo...best pool man ever
  • Disliked — rigid check out times, lack of changing room/shower room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoyagingGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2008

The strip house was a great restauraunt in the hotel, and There was such great service by Ricardo at the pool serving popscicles and watermelon!!!!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank girlychc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2008

The Reach has changed from my last visit. The "tropical" atmosphere has been replaced by a "modern" feel. While I missed the old Reach, I was much more impressed with this stay.

The rooms are nicely furnished, the beds are ultra comfortable, and the property was nicely kept.

One thing that has not changed since my last visit was the pool attendant, Ricardo. The Reach would not be the same without him - always a smile and most times a joke, even when it's a million degrees outside.

The only complaint I have is the noise level outside the room doors. The doors are clearly not insulated and you can hear everything that goes on outside the rooms. I was awakened in the early morning each day of my stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lj8460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#19 of 51 in Key West
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing