We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed February 19, 2014

In town on business, with a little bit of family fun on the side...and having never been to Key West before, we chose this hotel because of the prestige that comes with the Waldorf name and the bonus that it claims to have the only beach. We were generally dissatisfied with our hotel room and "view" especially for the price we paid, and as far as the beach is concerned there is a public beach right up the street. The staff were helpful and of course the benefit of having drinks and food served to you on the private beach were a definite plus, but worth the money? I don't think so. We probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank karengrovespsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results. I assure you that we are using your feedback constructively with our management team. We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences. Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager
Cindy.acevedo@waldorfastoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,851 - 1,857 of 3,825 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great location and property, however service and cleanliness fall far short for the reputation and price at an Astoria Hotel. We experienced several problems that were addressed by the staff but it took a long time and many requests.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. The comfort of our guests is our first priority, and I appreciate your sharing your concerns regarding the service of your room. I am actively working with our housekeeping staff to ensure that cleanliness issues or lack of service never interfere with the singular Waldorf luxury experiences we promise our guests, and I will keep your review in mind as we look toward refresh options. Thank you again for your feedback, and I invite you to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area. Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager
Cindy.acevedo@waldorfastoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island. Very nice rooms, clean, quiet, relaxing. The hotel is on its own little quiet block on the ocean, and within walking distance to Duval. Everything was perfect.
Looking forward to our next trip!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank OOelizabethOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Reach Resort sometime in the very near future. Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hotel is pricey, but you get what you pay for: Location, Location, Location. Only hotel with natural beach in all of Key West. Rooms are nice. Service was excellent. Fantastic location. Far enough away from all the noise, yet close enough to walk to all the best restaurants and hot spots of Key West. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Fermin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Thank you to the friendly and competent staff of the Reach. Jay on the concierge staff was top notch as was Cindy Acevedo. Also the bell men and doormen were helpful and kind to two senior citizens.
The hotel is very nice and well run. I do think the rooms need to be redecorated and freshened in appearance to make the surroundings more luxurious as befitting a Waldorf property. Lobby furniture and patio were not comfortable and could use replacing, as well as the canopy outside the restaurant.
This is all constructive criticism, not a complaint. Our stay was extremely pleasant and we will return. Thanks to all. P. S we had a room with a great view.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank photokap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant surroundings. Not too big, not too small. Friendly staff, esp the concierge. Ok, the room I was in could use a little freshening up for the luxury price, esp the carpeting and the upholstery on the furniture and the marshmallow-soft bed. Kind of hard to get in and out of the shower too so get a room with a tub if you can. The b & b package was ok but probably better to mix it up and try local places for breakfast instead. Would I come back? Maybe, although other places at this quieter end of Duval might offer more amenities and more nicely appointed rooms. This was my first trip to Key West and it was definitely pleasant. Was it a home run? Not exactly. But not a strike out either.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank jjohnzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The staff was very welcoming, starting with the doormen. Our room had nice views of the pool area and a glimpse of the Gulf. Except for one day, the room was serviced in a timely manner, and there was turn-down service. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, particularly sitting on the patio overlooking the Gulf. Restaurant service was adequate but the bar was inside the hotel. The concierge service was very attentive with good recommendations. The hotel experience was very good but short of a 5 star hotel that the price suggested.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your recent stay at the The Reach Resort.
We are pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the The Reach Resort sometime in the very near future.

Cindy Acevedo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,401 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $343 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing