We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Nice hotel!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I had such a nice time here. I went down to the beach yesterday before my flight and the service was great. Kris was so friendly and personable. Wish he was there the other days we were by the beach. Overall we had a nice experience at this hotel and would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleymartin3478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for the personal comments about some of our extraordinary team members.We are so glad you were able to enjoy our resort, its service, amenities and wonderful activities. We will certainly recognize the staff members that you've mentioned. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit! Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    1,014
    594
    391
    248
See reviews for
800
1,966
54
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I just spent one week at The Reach with my husband on his 50th birthday. There were many issues but I must say the staff sorted them out in a professional way and in the end we had a great stay.

For example they were doing some construction work when we arrived. The noise in our room was so loud we couldn't even speak to each other and everything was vibrating. But they told us they would stop at 5 pm and not work the next day. So everything was good until we found out the work would continue the whole next week, every day 9 am to 5 pm for our entire holiday. We had been travelling from half across the globe to have this dream holiday and we got a room we couldn't even use. They tried to change the room for us but said they were fully booked, but two days later they got us a room on the other side of the hotel where we heard nothing of the construction work. Bravo!

We were also charged for overnight parking + tax for every night of our stay, even though we didn't even bring a car. But the hotel corrected this upon our request without any arguments.

The location of the hotel is fantastic though, very calm area with a sushi restaurant next door that we returned to several times. The beach is beautiful and well taken care of and we had some really good meals at the Strip Club. The staff were all very nice, front desk, waiters as well as the cleaning lady (who came with a lovely piece of chocolate every night). We did have cockroaches in our room the last day but I think that's unavoidable in any tropical climate. Besides, the room didn't get cleaned the day before, the cleaning lady came so late - when we were showering and getting ready for dinner - so we told her to leave it.

Over all we had a nice stay, and since all our problems were sorted out, I would not hesitate to come back here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Southernmost Hotel, then you get away from the garage and you have bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your observations regarding your recent stay at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced and any inconvenience they caused. May I assure you we are using your feedback constructively with our management team to rectify the short comings you noticed. Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff are so kind, and treat you so kindly whether your laying by the pool or in the beach Area! They offer you ice pops, and frozen towels!!! The drinks are exceptional!! Favorite place to enjoy a coconut mojito! The view is breathtaking! We also did the jet ski tour which was amazing!!!!! the food is great too!! Best grilled cheese sandwich!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank carrlygiirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed our beautiful setting and friendly service. We have shared your feedback regarding your experience with our management team. We will continually strive to enhance the experience of you and other guests for future stays. Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We have stayed many times on Key West and decided to splurge on a true oceanfront resort. The Reach came up as a great option, not quite as expensive as some of the other options, away from the craziness of Mallory, but closer to Old Town than some of the resorts right when you arrive.

Check in worried me at first, there were several people at the desk, doing their own thing, and then vanished. The person who helped me was being held hostage on the phone by someone complaining about their room (even though they hadn't checked in?!?!). She breathed a sigh of relief when she saw my room assignment (as did I) and assured us it would be perfect....and it was. The staff were always pleasant and friendly throughout our stay. I can only imagine what they put up with when their customers meet the dissonance between their notion of a Waldorf and what they experience.

Regardless, the Oceanfront Vista Suite (543) was a perfect ocean front reprieve from the cold north. The view of the beach from the balcony off of the living room was spectacular. We walked in and they had champagne, balloons, and chocolate for our special occasion; such a wonderful touch. However, the room was showing some signs of wear and tear: the couch could use some new fluffed up back pillows. The shower stall had a strong smell, which we were later told was recent caulking, and sure enough the smell went away by the time we returned from dinner (must have been done that afternoon before our arrival). The Salvatore Ferragamo products were the most high-end name I've seen on a set of hotel bathroom products, but there was a stain on the robes. The ice machine on our floor was out of service for the full weekend. At some point our "do not disturb" door hanger went missing and was never replaced.

Many have complained about the construction noises. They did start in the morning, but we were out and about, with no noise when we returned around 3pm. This is obviously an older building in need of refurbishment. The front desk notes it at check in with a notice, but didn't go out of their way to tell me, and I had booked so far in advance that I don't believe I was told of it, but it didn't affect me. I guess if you're holed up in your room, hung over, then perhaps it would be a problem.

I didn't eat at the Strip House, but had been told by others that the food was good. Louie's Backward is steps away and always a phenomenal place for lunch or dinner with amazing food and locale.

The pool is on the small side, but the private beach makes up for it completely. We did not make the trek over to the Casa Marina, although it was nice to see a special sunset cruise set up from there, which we probably should have taken since it was an ordeal to get a taxi to take us over to the Marina (they were real busy, we were told after waiting almost 20 minutes).

This is a Waldorf property in name only, because of it's physical proximity to Casa Marina and the owner's desire (and legal ability) to share that branding, but other than champagne at the front desk, if branded by itself this would likely be a Hilton or Doubletree.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bongo_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Congratulations on your recent celebration! We are extremely sorry the resort did not meet your expectations. It is the feedback of guests such as yourself that assists us in the training of associates as well as continued maintenance of our facilities. If you would like to discuss your stay or if you should be in Key West again please contact me at cindy.acevedo@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service. Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

(Late january, Early February 2014) Very good location, friendly staff doing their best in an aging hulk of a building with rooms overdue for a refresh. We just insisted on transfer to Casa Marina to get away from the daily hammer-drilling on the exterior facade of structure. It began every day including Saturday at about 9:00am. Staff says its been going on for weeks and are unsure when it will end. Advice: avoid the Reach and book at the Casa Marina. Reach needs much work and is probably scheduled for next phase soon, that's how these things go. Casa is a definite improvement.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHDSailTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We are extremely sorry the resort did not meet your expectations. It is the feedback of guests such as yourself that assists us in the training of associates as well as continued maintenance of our facilities. Thanl You again for your feedback. Cindy Acevedo Front Ofice Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a difficult review. The location of this hotel cannot be faulted, amazing location, beach and views but we ended up with a long list of problems/complaints. In fairness to the Waldorf Astoria staff, a manager took the time to listen to my list and made a generous adjustment to our bill. The main problem is that not all facilities fall under the ownership of the WA group - the beach facilities are run by someone else and the restaurants is even owned by someone else, as a result they do not all run to the standard you would be expected of a WA group resort. I would suggest eating out, huge choice in Key West (for low key with the kids, really recommend Southernmost Beach Cafe, delicious and good value).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyLondonW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay at The Reach Resort. I am sorry to hear that all of the aspects of your stay did not meet expectation but relieved to hear that one of our managers were able to resolve the matters for you to your satisfaction.

We hope that you will consider a return visit. If you do plan to stay with us again, please be in touch with me so that I can assist with your travel arrangements.

Paul Bartush
Manager
The Reach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

November 2013 stay, on Hhonors points with my wife. This hotel is in a great location, very walkable to town and ALL the attractions on the southwest side of Key West. Not sure how this hotel compares to Casa Marina since other reviewers have raved about CM, but we enjoyed our stay here. One thing is this hotel is closer to downtown then CM. The room was great, especially with a Nespresso coffee maker which we loved and bought one on our return home. We had our dog with us and the hotel provided an nice doggie bed for him as well. Staff was very nice, but seemed to be "in training" on a lot of issues. Regardless our stay was good. This hotel has no lounge or breakfast for Diamond members. Actually they don't seem to do breakfast, but there are many options a few blocks walk from the hotel. The pool area is very nice, but a bit small for a "resort" quality hotel IMO. They also have a beach which is nice, but typical of the Keys the sand is a bit muddy a few feet in the water, lots of washed up seaweed and jelly fish during our stay. There is a nice pier to walk out on, and even get a massage. We got access to Casa Marina facilites as well, but got kicked out because of some Parrot Head convention and we had no creds. Overall I recommend this hotel, very friendly staff, pool+beach, and close (walkable) to downtown via Duval Street. But..no breakfast or lounge, for breakfast go to Anna's across the street.

Room Tip: Get a room looking out on the resort or beach, avoid street facing rooms. Our room was 2229 and loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flash75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great service along with a relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. We do work hard to establish high standards of quality and guest service. We have shared your feedback with our operating teams, helping them identify specific service breakdowns. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved. We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences. Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing