We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
South Sioux City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The best thing about the hotel is the location. We were in walking distance of all the tourist sights. Duval street was on a block away. The pool and beach attendance were great, they were very helpful with beach chairs and providing towels when needed. Its a nice place but the overall price was a bit high and then they tacked on a parking fee. Overall I would give the Reach an 8 rating over all. We would probably stay again if we go back...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    964
    554
    362
    228
See reviews for
740
1,848
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We needed to get away for a long weekend and chose to go somewhere where we knew it would be relaxing and warm. We were extremely pleased with The Reach Resort. The staff was more than accomodating. We used the concierge to book bikes and restaurants and the guys at the pool/beach were right there when you needed a chair, towel, umbrella etc. The watersports booth was located on the grounds and the 1 hr and 45 minute sea-doo ride was excellent. Nice to see the island from a different view. You must experience the Zombie ride which takes place in October and the Fantasy week that follows. Just like Mardi Gras!! Overall Great Short Stay. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Bertram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

For a 4 star hotel and for the cost, was below expectations. Long meandering walk outside from elevator to room. Outside walkways to rooms look like a $50 a night Motel 6. Between "Facility charges" which is a requirement (pool, gym and use of the beach) and parking was charged an additional $50+taxes per night. You would think $325 a night would cover use of these amenities. They do at a $150 a night Holiday Inn. I would never spend this kind of money to stay at this particular hotel again. If you are seeking a true 4 star hotel stay at the pricier Casa Marina. MUCH nicer facilities, much nicer beach..but expect the same ridiculous extra charges

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are extremely sorry the resort did not meet your expectations. It is the feedback of guests such as yourself that assists us in the training of associates as well as continued maintenance of our facilities. If you would like to discuss your stay or if you should be in Key West again please contact me at cindy.acevedo@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service. Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I am staying at The Reach, Waldorf Astoria during Fantasy Fest during October 2013. This hotel is very nice, the front desk staff are very friendly and the concierge staff are very helpful. Being a Hilton Diamond member, I was treated to a room upgrade and the room I was provided has an ocean view and a balcony (it appears most rooms have a balcony). The bed is very comfortable. The beach is small for the size of the resort, however if you are staying at the Reach, you have access to the Casa Marina property as well, and that beach is very nice with many walk-out piers. It's about a 3-5 min walk to the Casa Marina from The Reach. One thing that would make this better, is if they offered breakfast (or breakfast coupons) for their HHonors elite guests.

Room Tip: Request a room with a full ocean view. Probably hard to get during peak season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Reach for a private event that filled this resort. The staff at the pool and beach was super. Attentive, ready in an instant and always cheerful. Richardo and his team, Mathew, Kris and Kris met you with towels, arranged the beach chairs and umbrellas. Sometimes they would bring cold towels or popsicles. They kept their cool with a resort full of demanding guests.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor was excellent with views of the beach and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The front desk staff and concierge were helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was very spacious and quiet, which was great because I'm very sensitive to noise. The shower water pressure was low, but it was still enough to take a decent shower. The toilet paper roll holder was located on the same wall as the toilet instead of on the wall perpendicular to the toilet, so reaching behind to grab toilet paper was bit of a stretch - literally! Maid service was very good and they even come in the evenings to replenish towels or anything else if you want. The bed and linens were very comfortable.

The gym is excellent with lots of different equipment to choose from, and it was never crowded. Water bottles and towels are provided in the gym. The wifi signal in our room wasn't very strong, but it was good enough to check email and browse the web. We could not pick up the wifi signal at all from the gym where I tried to connect my iPad to the wifi, but there are televisions in the gym and each treadmill/elliptical has a tv monitor. There is a business center with a computer and printer so you can print out your boarding pass. Parking is available for a fee, though we didn't need a car at all during our stay since we walked everywhere. Everyday in the lobby they put out really delicious apples which were refreshing and great to take along as a snack.

There is a daily resort fee of $25, but well worth it because the private beach is clean, not crowded, and the imported sand is very soft. They will set up an umbrella and beach chairs for guests. You can rent jet skis, paddle boards, and kayaks from Barefoot Billy's which is located on-site. The water is very calm so this is a great place to try a water sport for the first time.

The restaurant offers outdoor seating with a terrific view of the beach in a classy setting. The breakfast buffet is expensive, $28.87 for adults - that's with the tax and tip which was automatically calculated in. They did make us omelets to order, which was nice, but for that price we expected a larger, fancier buffet with more options. However, the beach setting is lovely, so if you are looking for a place to get your breakfast immediately and eat in a relaxed environment and if you don't mind paying the price, it is a good choice. It would be nice if they offered a la carte choices in addition to the buffet - if they had offered a la carte options we certainly would have eaten there every day.

We received the New York Times at the door every morning, and the Wall Street Journal was available in the lobby every day. These are nice touches which we really appreciated.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room when we made our reservation, and we indeed received a quiet room. From wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

An expensive, but beautiful hotel.
Our room had a closet that wasn't deep enough for a hanger to hang in and literally NO drawers to put our clothes in. I was charged for a courtyard view, but our balcony was so far in the corner, that my only view was of the other balconies that did have the view I paid for. The hallways echo and we were never able to sleep in do to the noise of people and the elevators. Parking was outrageously priced.
The property & beach are beautiful though!!!

Room Tip: If you don't get a courtyard or beach view room, you may have quite a long walk to the beach, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NN95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#16 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#17 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing