We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
St Louis
1 review
“First time to Key West”
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We are glad we stayed at this end of the island. Much quieter. College party days are over. The resort was very clean and nice for the special price we got but I heard in the winter it could be 400.00 then it is not worth it. Pool area could be a little bigger and the reviews are right about a lot of kids. But Ricardo saved the day. He was great!! Fun to talk to. Love to you also Lexy. Thanks so much!! The only thing I wished for was a soft sandy beach even in the water with no rocks or seaweed but I knew it wasn't going to be like that. Yes I would stay here again!!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Superrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    988
    575
    375
    236
See reviews for
765
1,908
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

LOCATION/PARKING:
The Reach Resort is located at the bottom of Simonton Street, one block from Duval, and right on the ocean. If that doesn't tell you enough about the location, just know that it is excellent. It is within walking distance of the Southernmost Point, many restaurants, a small grocery, and the hopping part of Duval (though a bit of a hike, it's easily doable). However, it is the quieter end of the island, which makes it great for those who don't want to be in the tourist trap area their entire vacation.

I cannot comment on parking because we did not have a car for our trip, but as I recall it was fairly expensive. If you really want to enjoy yourself in Key West, rent scooters or an electric car from one of the nearby providers (there are at least two within two blocks of the hotel), because you will pay for parking everywhere you go, and it is always extremely limited.

DINING:
The Reach Resort has its own restaurant on site called The Strip House. It is intended to be moderately upscale. They do have outdoor patio seating near the pool with a views of the ocean as well as an upper balcony, though I cannot comment on the inside as we did not dine there. However, there was a wedding reception held there during our stay, so I am assuming it's a nice venue.

There are many restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel, and we took advantage of that frequently. I highly recommend the Banana Cafe for breakfast/lunch (on Duval just over a block from the hotel), and Ambrosia right next door if you enjoy sushi.

ATMOSPHERE:
Clean. Modern. Open. All words to describe The Reach. The lobby is decorated pretty minimally with neutrals mixing together with bold colors. It's fresh and has a young feel. The outside corridors leading to the rooms criss-cross in many directions, and getting to your room can be somewhat of a maze. But the hotel itself has a very updated feel, as would be expected with its recent renovation.

The pool has been called "small" by some, and I would agree. The pool was always busy during our stay. But the chairs are comfortable, and we did meet the infamous Ricardo, who was every bit what everyone makes him out to be! There is also a beautiful pier area beyond the pool along with the jetski rentals and open beach area, which was somewhat small but the softest beach we found in Key West.

THE ROOMS:
We stayed in an "Island View" room at $165 a night through Hotwire.com. When we walked in, we were immediately happy with the room. The entry, a short hallway and closet area, led to the bathroom on the right and opened up past the bathroom into the main room area. The balcony was at the other end of the room.

The bathroom has a modern island personality with a freestanding sink and counter area made of open dark wood cubby holes, which were stocked with hand and body towels, washcloths, and hairdryer. The counter space was adequate for three people who don't travel too heavy. Vanity items included a nice-smelling shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hand soap, shower gel, cotton swabs, cotton balls, and even a pair of earplugs (though they weren't needed). The bathroom itself wasn't very large, but large enough to maneuver without shutting the door on yourself. The shower curtain you had to be very careful closing and sealing the area near the head because water tends to get out due to its shape. My boyfriend took a shower immediately after arriving and we had a pool of water on the floor when he was finished.

The room itself is clean, fresh and airy with high ceilings, modern furnishings. Just inside the small hallway to the left was an open sink area with Nespresso coffee maker and a box full of teas, creamer, sweeteners, and stir sticks. Just past the sink on the left was a desk and chair area with internet hookup. Beyond that, an alcove with LCD television and a mini fridge housed in the cabinet. On the right were the two amazingly comfortable beds, and in the far right corner sat a chaise lounge with reading lamp. There was also a ceiling fan in the room, adjustable from a switch on the wall with four different settings. It really was a nice touch, and every time we entered the room we always commented how refreshing it felt. The balcony was equipped with two chairs and a side table overlooking a quiet residential street.

The beds get their own portion of the review because they truly were amazing. They were a plush pillowtop mattress with pIenty of pillows (feather and synthetic). The sheets were crisp and beautifully white, excellent quality and smooth to the touch. A lightweight feather duvet with damask striping topped it off. I even asked the hotel staff if they knew the brand of mattress in the rooms, but no one could answer.

SERVICE:
I had written a note to the hotel via their Web site asking for two beds weeks before our arrival. When we went to check in, the clerk confirmed me for a king bed room. I declined and she said she wasn't sure if she could handle my request, to which I told her I had sent the request weeks ago and management confirmed it. She checked again and suddenly had a room, but it wasn't ready. She offered to store our luggage and call us when it became available, which was a nice gesture. As promised, she did call less than an hour later. When we checked in the second time, they offered to bring our luggage up to our room. The bellhop was friendly and offered excellent dining and activities suggestions when he arrived. We received the same excellent treatment at checkout since we could not take our luggage with us (we were waiting for a boat to arrive).

Also, it should be noted that the maid service was on top of things. We had the "do not disturb" sign up most of our stay, and they respected the request unlike many hotels we've been to. An added nice touch was that they called each evening the sign was up to find out if you wanted your room cleaned or needed fresh towels or bath supplies.

OVERALL:
We were very impressed with The Reach and enjoyed our stay. There was very little noise we noticed, though it may be louder if you have an ocean view room, as most overlook the pool area. Also note that some rooms may face the construction going on directly across the street from the resort. Luckily, ours didn't. I was a little disappointed with the price because I'm used to paying no more than $80 for 3-star and better accommodations in other cities and vacation destinations, but the value compared to other Key West resorts was right on par. I was disappointed that they charged a $20 a day resort fee (plus tax), which seems excessive when all they offer is a pool and fitness center on property. Still, don't let it detract from the big picture: The Reach is a clean, modern, customer service-oriented facility convenient to the best of Key West. Enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — Clean, modern, convenient
  • Disliked — Resort fee excessive
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smootchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disputanta, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Guests from Disputanta, Virginia:
This recently renovated resort was a pleasant surprise. We made reservations on the way down to Key West and the rooms were very tastely decorated - modern decor. I would like to see the carpet replaced. When we checked in, the gentlemen at the front desk made sure our room had a better view than the one previously selected. Our poolman - Ricardo was fabulous! He made sure you had everything you needed plus he made sure the pool was clean and safe! It is a great place to stay on the other end away from all the activity at Mallory street and the walk is not bad, you can always get a scooter or cab for the ride back! There was construction going on next door but you would have never known it. Thanks for a wonderful time, all of the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Beautiful view - nice room - slept great!
  • Disliked — Long walk from Mallory Square
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonfly1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Pros: Bed was very comfortable and clean. Flat screen TV and iPod docking station were awesome. Balcony was nice and you can tell the building has been newly renovated. Staff very friendly and helpful!

Mediums: Construction is going on next door and can get loud, but not too terribly bad on our side of the building. Not in the most central part of town but everything is a short walk or bike ride away anyway. There was a jet ski rental booth right on the beach.

Cons: Pool was small with lots of kids. "Beachfront" was an absolute joke!!! It was filled with smelly, rancid seaweed that permeated the entire property and made the water unswimmable!!! There are some beaches in the vicinity but you still have to hoof it off hotel property.

No shower curtains or doors; they put half of a glass pane next to the shower head but that was it. Did they not realized splashing makes the floor wet?

The room next door ordered room service for breakfast on a Tuesday. Wednesday afternoon the tray and the food was still out collecting flies.

Seriously, I'm glad I didn't pay for it because I'd feel really ripped off. It's not worth the high price at all. For the fee, I'd expect to feel luxurious and all I got was a comfy bed that would have served me better further down the street closer to Duvall.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds, room amenities were great
  • Disliked — Overpriced, smelly
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Angelica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

After reading the reviews I was a tad worried about staying here but we got such a great rate and the location worked for us so we figured we'd give it a shot. It turned out to be a great experience.

First, the service was exemplary. We never encountered a sour face on the property. Everyone from the bellmen to the front desk were always greeting us with a smile.

Second, the room were very nicely appointed with a nice little bar area and a nice sized room. We stayed in the jr. suite.

Thirdly, location for us was great. The hotel is a short walk from Duval Street -- the quiet side of Duval which suited us fine. It's about 1.5 mile walk to the other side of Duval which we did several times but we preferred staying away from the hoopla on the other side. This side of Duval also has plenty of restaurants, shops and other stuff to occupy us when we weren't in the middle of being in the hoopla.

The only thing that was a tad disappointing was the pool area. It is rather small and there were lots of kids. The beach was nicer (albeit small) and we rented jet skis from there which was really convenient. We actually walked over to the Casa Marina (sister hotel) for pool services and were VERY happy with their pool. They had two large pools with full pool service. The pools were fabulous there and the vibe was much more adult oriented. Also, because it is the sister hotel we had full charging privileges to our room which was a nice added benefit. Tip: There is a short cut from the Reach's beach to the Casa Marina that makes the walk there very short.

Overall, I was very happy with the hotel and would definitely stay here again! :-)

  • Liked — Location and convenience to water sports
  • Disliked — pool area was small and not very inviting
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allieoooop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We picked this hotel for our Key West trip mainly because the reviews here were so great. The hotel told us that we'd have an ocean view and that all renovation was done and there was no construction being done at the hotel.
WELL...when we arrived--there was heavy construction going on at a complex DIRECTLY next door, and the hotel attempted to give us a partial ocean view right next to it!! We said 'no way', and they gave us a better room with an ocean view--blocked by trees, but a view still.

For the good, big pool, giftshop, poolbar, luch place, and major hotel resort amenities, we werre advised to go over to the Casa Marina, which was a block away. THAT was nice & like a Caribbean beach resort without a beach. There is one, but it's un-swimmable and full of seaweed and dangerous rocks. It's a contrast to the island's southern state charm and decor, but it was still nice.

Good things--the location of the hotel is very nice--it's one block from "The Most Southernpoint" point, as well as the start of Duval St.. Most thing are walking distance, and it's quieter, more adult part of town--which if you're not a drinking spring breaker, is a good thing . Near very good restaurants (Louie's Backyard particularly), and the rooms were a good size and very comfortable. And the staff friendly.

Bad things--the pool was smaller and loaded with kids, which was odd since Frommer's noted it was more for adults. And if you're not careful to ask for otherwise, your room can be very loud because of the heavy construction going on. Plus the beach was a disappointment. As well as the 'Resort Fees'. Still we had a great time. Terriffic island, very relaxed with great places to eat and visit.

  • Liked — location, rooms
  • Disliked — not as good as it's been advertised to be. Few amenities. Construction next door.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Stayed at the Reach for one night 7/19/08. Reserved a boutique suite which has a separate bedroom. There was a small fridge and “nespresso’ maker. Balcony was large and very nice. We were lucky and had a nice view of pool but some rooms could have a bad view of construction or roads. The pool was very small for the size of the resort with lots of kids. The beach was good enough. Small fitness center. The bathroom had a pedestal sink which left no room for toiletries and getting ready which was inconvenient. The toilet leaked all over the bathroom floor after the first flush. Maintenance came to fix the leak but failed to provide clear throw rugs. The toilet still was not fixed and was in continuous run. The worst part of the room was the A/C situation. When it turned on it made such tremendous noise it awakened everyone while sleeping. There was a closet right in the living room with the a/c unit so maybe that was why it was so incredibly loud. Hallway noise was loud also. The linens were nice with comfy robes, soft towels and shampoo. The location is at the far end of Duval St near the southernmost point. It is a very long walk to get to the “action” part of Duval and Mallory Square area. They charged $12 to park the car which should be free as they already tack on a $22 resort fee-I have no idea what that it for as there were no bonus surprises. To sum it up, there are seedy hotels in Key West so you have to be careful what you pick but there are not many inexpensive places to stay. So, the Reach would be worth maybe $150/night. It was not luxurious enough and the service was not great either. The pool was way too crowded during the day. I would walk to the store on the corner and get breakfast at the Cuban window. Breakfast was $17 and not worth it. I would probably stay again if I could not find a better deal but would definitely shop around.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Bellestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing