We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a little expensive but good...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Key West
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a little expensive but good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The reach, Key west

Key west is a mesmerizing place in itself. We drove from Miami to key west. The road is beautiful with scenic splendors all through the drive. It takes about 3-4 hours to reach Key west ( Depending on ur halting time enroute).
Pros :
• Huge property
• Neat and clean( even with the enclosed sandy beach)
• Private beach
• Beautiful décor
• Rooms are large….very spacious
• Large bathrooms, extremely spacious and roomy
• Balcony with all rooms
• Lot of eating joints within walk able distance
• Southernmost point of US is at walkable distance ( although I felt even this hotel was at the extreme southern point and I could have swam to Cuba :))

Cons:
Just spent 2 nights here, out of which we were out most of the time so didn’t find anything which made our experience bad.parking is a lilltle messy... needs cleaning and supervision.... no cupboards in rooms to keep ur stuff...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kappuccino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    881
    469
    314
    175
See reviews for
632
1,601
43
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lacombe, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

From front desk personnel to valet to bellhop, we were treated like VIPs. The rooms while small,were I immaculate. aWonderful view of lawn, pool and ocean.
The restaurant at Casa marina was wonderful while dining in strong wind. They kept it going with no problem. Food superb. Next door was Louie's back yard, fantastic restaurant. city view Trolley made it easy to see all of old town while hearing some local history. Enjoyed the Butterfly conservatory , now to get all the trinkets home....loved the whole experience.

Room Tip: All were good but second floor front was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Service overall was just amazing , especially with the beach staff , Kris and Ricardo were a standout amongst all of them. Beach area is a bit small which is good for us it's more private .. Restaurant service is great too , a little bit pricey for breakfast buffet though . Overall , we really had fun at the resort and would definitely go back !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BomgatS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was very nice, the staff was very helpful and the food at the restaurant was very good but there wasn't a large variety to choose from at lunch time. Everyone was very helpful and always accommodating in all we asked of them. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Leona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Now, understand that although the Waldorf Astoria name is attached to this property, it is on the beach, so you are not going to have marble columns and oriental rugs everywhere. However, for a beachfront property in Key West, this place rocks. It is one of the few that has its own beach, and the beach attendants (especially Ricardo) are there to help you with anything - chairs, umbrellas, towels, drinks, anything. Just a block off the end of Duval Street near the Southernmost Point, it is at the quiet end of Duval Street, yet within walking distance to everything (although bikes and taxis are available if you prefer). The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. I read reviews commenting on the maze-like set up, and it can be confusing initially, but once you know where your room is, it is all good. The pool was nice. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially when making dinner reservations. Water coolers are set out throughout the property (even on the beach) and wet cloths are brought to you to cool you off as you sit on the beach. This is a great place to relax and unwind, and escape from the craziness of Duval Street. This place is definitely in my "I'll stay there again" column.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Property is over-priced and over-rated. Location is terrible. Many of advertised amentities were not available. Moved to older hotel in downtown for much less money, more convience, and better service.

Room Tip: Hotel is Over-priced and Over-rated; staff WAS NOT helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irene912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The rooms are small and out dated. The ocean view is only viewable from the lanai/patio. The rooms are dark and there were no drawers for clothing or toiletries, so the room became very cluttered. The beds were comfortable.

The maids were pleasant. We had one experience with an indifferent male employee who basically brushed us off. Don't let The Waldorf name fool you.

Room Tip: If you don't care about the beach, choose somewhere else. I would recommend the Truman Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunsell2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing