We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the Reach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We loved The Reach Resort in Key West. My mother and I stayed at this lovely hotel during the middle of June (I recommend not coming in the summer unless you love extreme humidity), and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. They offered water sport activities, daily bicycle rentals, access to their sister hotel Casa Marina, and a free exercise facility. The one thing we loved about the resort was the pool and the excellent staff. Ricardo, the pool manager, was a HUGE help! He did everything imaginable to ensure the guests had a fabulous time during their stay. One day, he even brought out ice cold hand towels to help the guests cool down during the hot, Florida afternoon. Also, the private like beach was lovely and is the only natural, swimmable beach on the island. The front desk was also a lot of help. The only thing we didn't particularly like was the constant elevator chimes throughout the night, so ask the front desk for a room not too close to the elevator. Other than that little setback, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank twizzler373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,197 - 3,203 of 3,774 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2008

There are lots of nice things about the Reach - the rooms and landscaping are both clean and beautiful; the pool is nice; the service good. Unlike other reviewers, we had a good experience with the front desk staff - Jocely (sp) was helpful, friendly and efficient.
However, there was plenty not to love as well. Rooms are expensive and our "oceanview" room only had a slim view of the ocean, and only when you stood up on the balcony. Sitting down, it was a "palm tree top view". There was a "resort fee" added every day, but we were hardpressed to find any resort amenities - there was a charge for virtually everything - to park at the property, Internet, bikes. There was no drink service at the pool, only a jug of water & lemons & limes - none of the goodies promised in the little resort newsletter in the room - drink samples, popsicles, fruit. Ricardo, the pool guy was very helpful, as well as entertaining; however, after he packed it in for the day, you couldn't even get a pool towel.
The sister property down the road was the real resort, this was more of a nice hotel.
The Banana Cafe - just a bit up Duval had awesome breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EAinKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We stayed at the Reach Resort for 7 nights as our annual vacation. The new changes for the most part were very nice. When we first arrived, Lincoln was most helpful with our bags and for suggesting dining and island activities. We had a Boutique Suite for my wife and family friend. The room was nice and comfortable. Bed was awesome, just like home. The couch bed was comfy too. Only have two complaints about the room: there is no door on the shower and the water ends up everywhere, we constantly had towels on the floor to absorb the water. And there needs to be a mirror somewhere out in the room, not just the one over the sink. The oversized balcony was awesome too, over looking the courtyard, pool and partial ocean view.

Our favorite part of the Reach is the natual beach. We spent 5-6 hours a day out there. Billy and his beach boys are awesome and we always looked forward to our time out there. The water is great for swimming!

We did get lunch and snack foods from the Strip House but never had dinner. The food was average. We sure missed the tiki bar that was there in the past. Also missed the regular wait staff that would serve drinks and food while you were lounging on the beach.

We highly suggest staying at the Reach Resort!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParrotStruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

I and traveling companion occupied an ocean-view suite on the 5th floor of The Reach Resort late June-08 (off-season). The entire package of 5 nights and 6-days, including airfare was about $1500 per person.

Alone, the Reach would have been a "good" experience, but with full access to the amenities of the sister property Casa Maria — e.g., two pools, hammocks on the beach, pool-side dining, and larger gym facility — the experience is upgraded to above average.

Plusses:
-- 450 foot of real beach with soft sand.
-- ceiling fan in room.
-- medium firm mattress, king-sized bed, and 4 large European sized pillows.
-- 5 minute walk from the main strip, Duval Street, and note the part of Duval Street, closer to the "Southernmost Point" that is less busy (a good thing if you want to avoid the college kids).
-- Balcony with two chairs and side-table. Unfortunately for us unusable during the visit because of the 90-degree+ temperature.
-- Nespresso machine in the room with (3) caf and (3) decaf capsules, which sat next to second sink.
-- i-Home clock radio.
-- welcoming staff.

Minuses:
-- Food at the Strip House Restaurant, the only restaurant at the Reach, is a mixed bag and very expensive. The Decor akin to a dark, was to my mind incongruous with a warm-weather, on-the-beach resort.
-- Housekeeping: failed to change the flat and fitted sheets even after three requests (after which we surrendered); constantly ignored requests for additional Nespresso capsules.

Although we did not partake of many available activities, I recommend the Sebago Sunset Sail (on a catamaran) and visiting Fort Zachary Taylor. Had there been more time, parasailing would have been our next activity choice.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fellow-in-chelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

this is a great place to stay for the price. They have a very nice pool & beach area. Ricardo makes it even better. The room was awesome & had the most comfortable bed we had ever slept in. You can walk next door to the sister location (Casa Marina) that is a must see hotel. We were able to walk to everything that we wanted to do. The food at the Strip (the hotel restaurant) was good but way expensive. Save some cash & eat out.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank illilni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Great location right on the water with water sports available right there. Pool located right on the beach. Ricardo from the pool staff had the best service, including handing out ice cold washcloths to cool you down. Lobby staff helpful, if they would ever answer the phones when calling for room service or the concierge.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Excellent all around, GREAT service! (Thanks Ricardo!) My girlfriend and I are planing to go back...a great VALUE! I highly recommend it for a romantic gate away!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Damianbedoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $321 - $766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing