We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay --” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to stay --”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary by staying for a couple of nights at The Reach. The staff was fantastic from the moment we checked in. When we arrived there were balloons, chocolates and champagne in our room - very nice touch. Our room wasn't ready when we got there so we had lunch at the Strip House which was delicious (pulled pork and Cuban sandwiches). If you have a car you should be aware that self parking is $20.00 and valet is $25.00 (we thought that was a little expensive given what you are paying for the rooms). The pool is beautiful and the staff there is also fantastic (especially Patrick Ritter) - they will set up your chairs, they serve fruit in the morning and popsicles in the afternoon (another nice touch). There are a lot of families staying here so if you are looking for peace and quiet by the pool, this is not the place to stay. This hotel has a beach which is very rare for Key West hotels and it is just a beautiful setting. We loved every minute of our stay and thanks to the staff for making it such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Happy 20th Anniversary and thank you for sharing an overview of your recent stay at The Reach Resort! We are thrilled that we hit the mark with the surprises and service! We look forward to a return visit from you but please don't wait another 20 years! Warm regards, Paul Bartush, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    952
    534
    354
    216
See reviews for
714
1,815
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My fiancé and stayed July 4th-July 9th. We truly loved the grounds, atmosphere and the location. Rooms were tidy, but there were blood stains on the chair in the room, so I just utilized the ottoman when needed. Personally, I think that this should be an adult only resort (like they have in the Caribbean) considering this is a high end resort in Key West, there were a lot of couples and most of us were annoyed with the kids in the beach and pool areas. As being a high end resort, there should be a complementary shuttle to and from the airport. I did not enjoy the cab rides at all.
Beware; the minimart at the hotel is rather expensive!
The only other complaint that we have is that in the late afternoon we would go back to our room to take a nap then get ready for dinner and the maids would knock and knock continuously for the turn down service which we did not want. We ended up going to the front desk to take us off the list, but the maids relentlessly knocked every afternoon. We just locked the inside lock, so they would get the clue when they opened the door lol. On the other hand, we always had enough towels!
We did not dine at the hotel or use our free drink vouchers as there are many good places to try, so we enjoyed Blue Heaven, Bananas Cafe, Old Towne Mexican Cafe, Willie T's (they serve food late night!) and for drinking we liked Rick's, Hogs Breath and The Bull.
Because of the spotless grounds and convenient location we will definitely be back to The Reach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mason0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carencro, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I came here for our anniversary... we were not disappointed! The staff was excellent, the room was modern with a great view. Big balcony (where we made a little bird friend who visited every day!) where we could sit and look over the water. Loved having the beach there with huge hammocks set up for us to relax in. Service on the beach included complementary popsicles which were a welcome relief. Private beach, access to the sister hotel's amenities. Great place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

There is nothing wrong with the Reach Resort. The rooms are a decent size, the view from our room was acceptable, the location is good (although not in the heart of old town) the pool is nice and the beach is great. All of this said, the dining experience, Strip House, is overpriced and not a fit for the hotel or the market, the "Waldorf" is a converted motel with exterior corridors and overall the hotel is pricey for what you get. Having been to Key West before, there are other options I would rather stay at before staying at the Reach, including the sister property, the Casa Marina and the neighboring property, the Southernmost Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach gdn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at the Reach. Was a nice place for a couple, walking distance to Duval street and lots of good places to eat. The hotel is nice and very casual. The strip steakhouse is fun with great food. Nice for a little getaway but not as luxurious as we had hoped for. This is one of the few hotels that have a beach which is a nice bonus as well. This place is a fun environment but not the greatest for a romantic getaway. However it is much more intimate then the casa marina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Chase S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Reach did not seem as though it was Waldorf Astoria quality. Beach is pretty small rocky with lots of seaweed. The beach concierge was very nice and helpful with chairs and towels. Room was ok but they forgot room cleaning and we had to request it; although they did credit 1 day of resort fee's. This hotel is quite a walk from the busy Duval St... especially in the July heat. For the price... ummm not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannong562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am sorry that you experience with our property differed so greatly from the majority of our guests. Aside from the other matters that you mentioned, our guests routinely comment at our convenient location -- just one block from Duval Street. I am pleased to see that in the few areas where we did not meet your expectations, we were able to eventually reach that goal. If there is anything that you wish to share further with our management team, we welcome your input. Paul Bartush, Manager. 305.296.5000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent location, on the beach with a great pool too. Service on beach and by pool. Very close walking to Duval St where all the shops, bars, cafes are. All your needs can be met there. They have a shop with coffee and breakfast items, gifts and essentials. They also have a lovely steak restaurant. Employees are smiling and helpful.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee2518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#15 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing