We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reach A Waldorf Astoria Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Livingston, United States
1 review
“The Reach A Waldorf Astoria Property”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good place to stay with a family. Friendly staff willing to help . Good location with a nice pool and beach area for kids or couples to play. All the water sports available through the hotel and make it easy to have fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    1,006
    586
    384
    242
See reviews for
781
1,946
54
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for two nights during road trip around Florida. Persuaded another couple from the UK to stay with us even though cost was slightly over our budget we decided to raise the bar a little. What a disappointment we both had.

One of the rooms was dirty and had hairs on the surfaces in the bathroom and worse still in the bed. This room was changed after complaining but in the second room (upgrade) the shower would only produce a trickle of water. Also beware that the room cleaning is not Managed well. For example one of the rooms was not serviced until 4.45pm after we had returned from the beach looking to freshen up. This is just not acceptable. Next day the cleaners where knocking on the door at 8.45am!! (Mentioned in a few other reviews). We suspect this is to do with wanting your room for the arriving guests and the existing guests rooms are pushed to the last in the schedule.

Also the Pool waiter service was none existent during our stay and when we complained the resort fee was dropped without question.

The location of this Hotel is special and the Beach staff (separate franchise) tried really hard but the lack of visible Management lets this Hotel down badly. For example in the Gym both Cross Trainers were out of service and according to one long stay guest had been for a few weeks. I do not understand how and why the Manager would not beg steal or borrow a replacement for a Hotel of this quality??

Just be aware it would not carry the name in the UK and is really a $100 Hotel not $300. If you can get a deal then Ok for the location.

Just in contrast we stayed with the Hilton Group during our stay and at 3 Embassy Suite locations. In these the Manager was walking the areas of the Hotel giving out his card and conversing with the guests and dealing head on with any issues. What a difference and at a fraction of the cost. Maybe the Hilton Group should send one of these Managers to this Hotel in Key West.

Room Tip: Just ask for your room to be serviced before 5pm!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigAl5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My Wife and I came down for our two year anniversary and it was amazing! The room was great and the cleaning maids were right on it when ever you needed them. If you need anything, the community of workers would go above and beyond. There was a outside worker by the name of Chris who usually works at the Casa Marina but was helping there sister hotel The Reach. This man made our vacation feel pampered. You could tell he worked to give everyone an amazing experience and not just for tips. We LOVED our stay and would recommend anyone to come and stay at such an amazing resort. We also think all the jet ski guys did great. Tom, Tom, Nick Nick, Niko. All the people I can remember. Thank you too all of the Resort crew. sincerely, Nashville couple.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Casa Marina for three nights then Reach for four on our honeymoon. As upper middle class Midwesterners, we enjoyed the Reach much more than Casa Marina. Casa is great place but Reach was more like the people we are. More friendly and down to earth. Plus, Kris and all the pool concierges there were wonderful. Always there to help and make you feel special. Pool is smaller but it's the only knock we could find vs Casa Marina. In fact, room called "resort view" but actually ovens and pool views were clear! Great rate and had beautiful room, big area, bar area. Very impressed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbonatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so pleased that you had an opportunity to stay at both of our properties during your time in Key West and that you found "the right fit" with The Reach Resort. I agree 100% with you! The hotels are different, giving guests options to fit their personalities. As you know, while you stay at one, you have access to both properties! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We hope that you will come back to us again! Paul Bartush, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a terrific four night stay at the Reach hotel. Wonderful grounds with close access to pool and a private beach. Excellent location with proximity to Duval Street and Key West sights. We got a great deal for an extended stay (at least four nights) and enjoyed our junior suite. Would definitely return and have already referred others!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel on a whole is very nice. Beach is sandy. Everything so far is good, but one thing. The carpet in this room is the dirtyess carpet I have ever see. If I wasn't so tiered from traveling I would leave. I will just keep my shoes on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MemaCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

One word, Amazing! The staff really make this a great place. We went on our 15th anniversary and actually had reservations at a different location. We stayed there one night and moved over to The Reach (Was looking for someplace nicer) My husband mentioned that it was our anniversary in passing and they upgraded us to ocean view! Then we left for dinner and came back to a bottle of bubbly, balloons, chocolates and a very nice card. What a great place. We are thinking of going down every year now! We really had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at The Reach Resort. It is very nice to read that the service you received left you with the desire to return! Please let us know if we can be of any assistance to you with regards to future bookings. Paul Bartush, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,558 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Key Cottages
Sunset Key Cottages
#21 of 51 in Key West
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing