We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #45 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Would nt stay anywhere else. The staff was friendly. The location is perfect and their beach?!?!? BEAUTIFUL. Extremely helpful in helping us plan our stay. Friendly, clean and relaxing. My vacation was PERFECT thanks to them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank 123melissac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,712)
There are newer reviews for The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,001 - 2,007 of 3,712 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

We loved our stay at The Reach. I didn't like the 4PM check in and paying a resort fee for the first day when there were no services available. The resort fee is for someone to hand you a towel at the pool it's $25 per day. Parking is $20 per day. If you can avoid the parking then you just have the resort fee. Other than that, its an ordinary nice hotel. The best part is the private beach and pier. It may be the nicest beach in Key West and not a lot of riff raff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank moverAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff here act like you are doing them a favor by staying at this hotel. The front desk staff is very cold and don't even smile. The resort fees are high which is fine but, they are suppose to include all the tipping at the resort. We stayed at the Boulders Waldorf in Scottsdale, AZ and we were treated like a king and queen. This Waldorf needs to be reported to the corporation. It does not treat you like a real Waldorf Astoria hotel should. We stayed here for 4 nights and everyday we had housekeepers POUNDING on our door to either clean or at night for a turn down service we NEVER asked for. They just come in your room without asking to turn down your room. I am not sure what they did other than put 2 mints on the bed. Our bed wasn't even turned down!! The housekeepers kept all of the dirty linen and garbage in the hallways as you walk to your room everyday, all day long. The 2 men at the beach who "set up your loungers" were very rude and would stand there waiting for a tip. I LOVE tipping good service but, I will never tip to someone who is rude. Each time we went down to the beach the attitudes from these men got worse. The type of people that stayed here was very strange as well. I will not go into what when on in the pool on several occasions - disgusting!! The self parking fee of $20/day is a joke. They have a huge garage and its never a problem to park. The resort fee is $25/day. For what? Internet? You even have to pay to rent a bicycle for a couple of hours. Other hotels we've stayed at provided free, time regulated bicycle rentals. We went to other neighboring properties and said we wished we would of stayed elsewhere. Very,very disappointing and our bill was $1200. We will never stay at this Waldorf again.

Room Tip: This hotel has bad rooms that face right into the Santa Maria hotel. Stay away from the rooms in the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hidden fee nightmare! Not even a continental breakfast. Only dining option was the on site restraunt and after we served ourselves buffet style breakfast of low quality food, we were presented with a bill for over $50. Our room had plumbing problems, and the furniture was falling apart. The hotel sales itself in the pictures but is a lobby queen, the rest of the hotel cannot compare to a best western. The pool is small, the beach practically gets shutdown at 6, and the location is not great for attractions or much of anything on key west.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel has a nice beach (true!) but rooms are old fashioned, shower is crappy, you have to bend over the balcony to see the ocean in an "ocean view room", the late check out is 50$/extra hour, the air conditioning is not very good (luckily they added fan but at 500$/night that's not what can be expected), we asked for a room for 3 persons and they prepared it for 2 (we had to wait 40 minutes before they brought extra sheet), the concierge is not answering emails.

It would be ok if the rooms were cheap, but for the cost it's not worth it. You're paying for the beach access, that IT.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ana1983_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Perfection at every detail. As you walk into this elegant lobby, your greeted by a well trained, professional, friendly staff. Check in takes no time and before long your in a clean modern, chick well maintained suite. On what seems to be the family side of Key West your still within walking distance to the side of Key West we read about. The Hemingway house, the street side restaurants and the beaches. If all you want to do is the resort thing, The Reach will meet your expectations. Great Pool area, beach front property and a beautiful roof top deck to watch the famous Key West sunsets here you go. They are some of the most beautiful I've ever seen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
2  Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The grounds and location of this hotel are wonderful. Our room was large and comfortable. The management of the facility was not very responsive to concerns though.

I would not recommend the breakfast buffet at $23 per person. Having gotten used to Hilton hotel breakfasts in European hotels, this hotel's breakfast was disappointing.

We did not eat at on site restaurants after the breakfast the first morning. I was not willing to take a chance.

The beach was very nice with excellent service by a contract company. Bar service at the beach was lacking as there was none.

Our first morning, housekeeping came calling at 0900. A little early for my tastes. That is to early for me to put the do not disturb sign out.

Just a disappointing stay at The Reach Key West, a Waldorf Astoria Resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaPorteWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,607 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040-3116
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#18 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $274 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing